We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Game Lodge

Save
Share
Driekuilshoogte Pad, Montagu 6720 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (268)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (4)

About

#5 of 38 Specialty lodging in Montagu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Nestling in a vast valley amidst the spectacular highland mountainous scenery of the Little Karoo, lies African Game Lodge, a private nature reserve where wild animal have a future. Whether you are looking for a relaxing nature break, need to recharge your batteries or you are looking for an active holiday where you can hike & bike in natural surrounds, African Game Lodge is ideally situated, being only 2 ½ hours from Cape Town and just 30 minutes from the magical town of Montagu. Well-appointed thatch cottages, built in traditional Karoo architecture, provide a comfortable retreat where you can relax and look out over the valley, open spaces and surrounding mountains. Each Cottage is equipped with a fireplace for those chilly winter evenings, and the thatched roofs ensures an inviting coolness during the heat of summer. Awake from a good night sleep, and venture out into the healthy mountain air to choose from a variety of activities such as day hikes, short walks, self-drives, Eco & Game Viewing Drives, bird watching, nature exploring, or just sit and absorb the absolute silence and sounds of nature.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Billiards
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Parking
Internet
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Seating area
Sofa
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
Contact
Driekuilshoogte Pad, Montagu 6720 South Africa
Getting there
Cape Town Intl Airport102 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
289Reviews3Q+A39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 185
  • 89
  • 12
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lester H Schoonraad wrote a review Nov 11
2 contributions
The accommodation was much more than we expected. The cottage was clean, neat and very modern. The staff was so friendly it felt like we were visiting life long old friends. The facilities are five star if not better.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Melanie G wrote a review Nov 1
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Our family of 4 enjoyed our stay so much. From the very entertaining host, Monwa, to the pure beauty of the farm....we loved every moment. We hiked, cycled, swam, did a game drive and ate way too much. Very comfortable cottages, but be mindful it's off grid so the gas showers run hot and cold and the lights at night are very dim. But that all added to our experience! We will be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Tim and Angie wrote a review Oct 2020
Riebeek-West10 contributions1 helpful vote
In early October, my husband and I enjoyed 2 wonderful nights at AFRICNA GAME LODGE. Why we only stayed 2 nights I cannot imaging. Had we known, it would have been a week ! The staff were amazing - Garth, Lize-Mari, Monwa, Nono and Ndalo and the owner hosts Ryan and Thea were beyond caring, welcoming and dedicated to the Lodge and their cause of conservation. We arrived as strangers and left as friends with heavy hearts. Thank you one and all for a wonderful stay. How lucky we felt and were !!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Liesl wrote a review Sep 2020
Stellenbosch, South Africa10 contributions1 helpful vote
This lodge has beautiful scenery and great cycling and walking trails. Unfortunately, we were disappointed by the unit. There was a hole in the throw over the couch, the carpet had a dirty stain which could not be missed once you entered the unit and the veranda area was not clean. There was a slight gap in the door which made the unit extremely cold despite us using the fireplace. Small details in the restaurant could make a huge difference - my recommendations: serve proper juice, not blends that are mixed; have filter coffee ready (we were not offered coffee or tea at breakfast on our first morning); light a fire in the fireplace when it is so cold - it wasn't used during breakfast nor dinner - would not only provide warmth, but also give ambience. Whilst the price seemed reasonable, we have since concluded that it is a bit expensive compared to other similar places that we have stayed at and given the fact that maintenance is required. Nonetheless, I believe that the lodge has potential if managed in the correct manner.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Thea Stopforth, Owner at African Game Lodge
Responded Oct 11, 2020
Dear Liesl, thank you for all the recommendation, we appreciate your feedback
Read more
ruksyunus01 wrote a review Sep 2020
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution
Firstly we were not informed that there is no phone signal and no plug points work. We are business owners and need to be in contact with our staff all the time. The shower was either hot or cold we spoke to receptionist to cancel our stay for thr next night. They refused to refund. We left the next morning before 8am event hough we were not refunded for the night. Our business was more important then the refund. We could not be without communication
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Thea Stopforth, Owner at African Game Lodge
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Dear Ruksana, we understand that you are unhappy. We do offer free WiFi to our guests, should they wish to conduct business via email or whatsapp, and if absolutely necessary, there is cell phone reception at one of our view points, although, guests chose to stay at our property because of the remote location and because we are off the grid. Running a lodge off-grid poses a lot of challenges as well, especially when making us of gas-geysers, which makes it difficult to regulate the water temperature (many factors are at play here... the taps, water pressure, etc). Concerning the refund policy, I believe we are not the only property with a refund policy. Making a booking and cancelling at extremely short notice means we had to turn away other guests who would have much rather stayed with us. We were really looking forward to your stay with us and went the extra mile to arrange Halaal catering for you. It's a pity you weren't able to enjoy your time here with us. We hope that you will return one day, only to relax.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$56 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeMontagu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about African Game Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at African Game Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at African Game Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at African Game Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at African Game Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at African Game Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does African Game Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.