We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Adventure Lodge & Motel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Adventure Lodge & Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 366: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here with the intention of going up to the ski field each day unfortunately the weather didn't agree. We spent most of our time at the lodge where the staff gave us great ideas fr alternatives. The management has very recently been taken over - the service was lovely they were so welcoming knew us by name and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travellah94
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

thanks so much really appreciate your feedback and YES we have great plans for this place and will develope our new ideas to bring the standard up even higher! More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room was great and the staff was incredibly friendly (the manager has been here as of two weeks from this posting). But while the accommodations were great, our neighbor in the other room was up late chatting and watching TV and we could hear them quite loudly in our room. Also, the heater is not that powerful.

Helpful?
1 Thank DigantK
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice Place to stay, very clean friendly staff lots of parking and close to the shops and bars, there is a great place to eat called the station cafe, the hot tub is nice and clean, the rooms are warm with everything you need, with good tea and coffee.

Helpful?
2 Thank josephssnz
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Hi there thanks so much for your great review we are happy you are happy! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights with the intention to do the alpine crossing, unfortunately there was a storm and we had to change plans. But the lady at the front desk was more than helpful, giving valuable advise of other sites we could visit and keeping us posted about the weather. The room was clean, well sized... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa T
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou Melissa, so pleased you were comfortable and had a great stay! More 

Level Contributor
386 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

We had a good stay here, despite the awful weather that weekend. The owners were very helpful in suggesting the best areas to walk to avoid the worst of the weather. The room was very cold, even with the small radiator on all day, but we managed to acquire some extra blankets. And the main lounge was very warm and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J L
AdventureLodge, Manager at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, the weather can cool down quite quickly in mountains, this is why we have extra feather duvets in the cupboard - you can just help your self but with the heat pump on and the open fire it makes the lodge cosy any time we get a south wind. We look forward to seeing you... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

We were in the hostel part of the lodge for 2 nights. Clean with decent-sized rooms and bathrooms. However, each evening the fire alarm went off and didn't stop until we contacted the front desk and asked someone to come and take care of it. We were also threatened with being turned into the police and border security when we... More 

Helpful?
Thank 331mafa
AdventureLodge, Owner at Adventure Lodge & Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we had our new fire alarm installed when you stayed and they tested the alarm at a different time each day to ensure this was working correctly. To confirm a booking at Adventure Lodge we require a valid credit card on file, when you checked in your credit card was declined, in good faith we... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

Ron and Lorraine got it all figured out! We booked the Freedom package and great value: very well organized and the lunches, breakfast and dinner while not fancy, was excellent. Lorraine suggested we visit Ski Biz just across the street to purchase sundries, socks and rent hiking poles which worked out great. Spacious, clean rooms with all needed amenities: and... More 

Helpful?
Thank jimharris100
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

We booked the Freedom Package to hike the Tongariro Crossing which includes 2 x nights, 2 x breakfasts, 1 x dinner, 2 x packed lunch and water, shuttle to and from tongariro and spa bath access. Everything was taken care of and we even got a t-shirt and certificate from host Lorraine post hike! Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Mbarts13
New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

We stayed one night in a motel unit and did the Tongariro crossing next day. Our room was lovely. Very clean and comfortable. Ron was very friendly and had lots of info for us about the crossing. We took along our own breakfast as the units have a small kitchenette. They have their own shuttle vans to transport you to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robinson72
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

We stayed at the adventure lodge, taking advantage of their Tongariro crossing deal. Due to really bad weather we had to delay the crossing by a day, but communication was excellent and we crossed with no problems the following day. In the interim other activities were recommended (walking to a cool waterfall, going up the ski area). The owners are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongariro National Park
7.8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
7.9 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
15.9 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pipers Ski Lodge
Pipers Ski Lodge
#2 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Crossing Backpackers
The Crossing Backpackers
#1 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hi and Welcome to Adventure National Park. Gillian and John welcome you to their lodge and motel in National Park Village. We cater for families, groups, and the independent traveler. Your choice of deluxe one bedroom units with King size beds, standard studio motel units with Queen Size Beds and private facilities. Our budget lodge rooms with double beds or Twin share, shared bathrooms, lounge and kitchen. Bed and Breakfast options available. Comfortable warm beds, electric blankets, Sky TV in lodge and all units, drying room, Internet and wireless access available, large open fire, Dinner, Breakfast and a packed lunch available. Department of Conservation authorized shuttle to and from the Tongariro Crossing departing daily weather dependent, let us take care of you with our Tongariro Freedom Package. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adventure Lodge & Motel

Address: 21 Carroll Street, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Price Range: $74 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adventure Lodge & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Adventure Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure Hotel Tongariro National Park
Adventure Lodge And Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay