We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crossing Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Crossing Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

A really great place to stay at such a nice hostel with lots of character. Owners are angels even helped us when we were stuck in the national park and had lost our car keys.. And they can give you good advice about the tongariro crossing walk. Rooms are clean and cozy. Check the secret TV room :) take some... More 

Helpful?
Thank David P
New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016

We were so disappointed as the reviews that we had read on trip advisor about The Crossing Backpackers were fantastic. We thought this would be a great place to stay. Instead our room was incredibly worn and tired. The owner was very rude and and we didn't feel at all welcome. While there we also heard him being really rude... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank kowhai2016
bryan38, Owner at The Crossing Backpackers, responded to this review

Wow, please let me explain, we had no idea that we had employed the incredible hulk, when he came to us he was down and out wearing nothing else but a tiny pair of paints, he was huge, green and grunted a lot, I should have put 2 and 2 together but maths is not my strong point and, well,... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016

Bryan and Miriam the hostel owners are very nice! This hostel has a lovely spa pool, free tea and hot chocolate, and lots comfy places to chill (ask about the Narnia room). I stayed with a friend as we were doing the Crossing. They have a convenient pick up/drop off shuttle service which is great. Its helpful to have a... More 

Helpful?
Thank emma2walter
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016

These guys are the real deal. This place is huge and comes with great kiwi service from Brian and Miriam, a free spa pool, secret movie room, separate lounge with television, pool table and a well stocked kitchen. As a skier, I'm a regular visitor here, I enjoy staying here and I keep coming back. The atmosphere is pretty good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt L
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2016

A group of friends and I spent a night at the crossing backpackers before walking the crossing in the morning. The place has a great easy going vibe with everything you need and a few great quirks including the giants table and bench outside and the friendly and inviting manager, Brian. Great place, good price!

Helpful?
Thank Samdavetom
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2016

Stayed here while doing the Tongariro Crossing with some friends, and the place was definitely unique - but in the best way! The beds were comfy, the room was clean, showers great - plus there is a spa pool. The kitchen and lounge area are well kept (and also the best pace for phone service). Brian was super friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hmol446
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016

I booked a package at the Crossing Backpacker for the Waitangui weekend to do the Tongariro crossing and I'm really happy I did so. Brian the host was very helpfull and nice, he gives a little tour of the place to all new comers (which is really handy given the maze like feeling of the place) and introduce them to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nanakyo
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2016

My friends and I spent two nights at The Crossing Backpackers, and we really enjoyed our stay. The owner is great, allowing us to add an extra night and include an extra person with less than a days notice, as well as arranging for a late night key pickup, giving us free towels to use, and giving good advice on... More 

Helpful?
Thank BenGlatt
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2016

Whether you are doing the Tongariro alpine crossing, the Northern circuit, skiing, or otherwise, the crossing backpackers is the place to go. Bryan and Miriam will make sure you have everything you need to enjoy the bucolic beauty of the local area. You will meet other travellers who will give you good company and great advice on where or how... More 

Helpful?
Thank reestucker
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2016

Brian is an amazing person. He really helped me, gave me advices for the crossing... This place is really friendly, with a big kitchen, lots of showers, and you will easily meet good people. Thank you again Brian & Miriam for your help guys, I will always remember it. Thank you for your kindness.. Margaux

Helpful?
Thank margauxb34
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongariro National Park
7.8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
8.0 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
3.8 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Pipers Ski Lodge
Pipers Ski Lodge
#2 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
3.8 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ski Haus
Ski Haus
#7 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free pick up from bus or train Free shop/bottle store trips Free tea/coffee and milk Espresso machines to make your own Latte, to use bring your own “espresso grind” coffee and ask one of our caffeine addicted crew to show you how to use it Great old lodge with secret rooms The Crossing transport all arranged with best prices available Farm animals to feed Quality pool table $2 Free spa area great for star watching Big sound system and as long as no one objects it can be played inside or out as loud as you want, if someone objects it must go off or down immediately. PS staff won’t object  Big Lodge with quiet areas to relax from everyone and walks Recycling areas (we care) and pig scrap bucket (Daisy the pig cares) she’s so cute ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crossing Backpackers

Address: Erua Road East, Tongariro National Park 3948, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tongariro National Park
Price Range: $39 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crossing Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crossing Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay