We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holbox Island

Hotel El Pueblito

Calle Tiburon Ballena, Holbox Island 77310 Mexico
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (233)
Room & Suite (35)
Videos (1)


Travelers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
El Pueblito is a delightful space located in Holbox´s heart, to relax, forget the stress of everyday life, sharing with the family and living the love in harmony with the nature and the community.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Public wifi
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
199Reviews17Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 139
  • 42
  • 9
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hotel is conveniently located in centre of town (also means you get the noise that comes with that). The rooms are nice but much glass on doors and flimsy curtains means very bright at night/morning. Beds are comfortable, pillows less so. The staff at the breakfast restaurant are super nice and friendly, as are the cleaning staff at the hotel. Unfortunately, the rest of hotel staff and manager weren't. Due to an error my 5 year old son wasn't included in the booking and they became quite unfriendly straight away insisting on a USD $40 a night extra charge even though he would sleep in an existing bed. We never experienced this in any other hotel before or after, we travel a lot with him in Mexico and other countries. Sometimes there is an extra charge of around $10 if you need another bed. I would therefore not recommend it for families as no other hotel we stayed at in Mexico charged us this much for our child.
Read more
Response from elpueblitoholbox, Director General at Hotel El Pueblito
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest: I would like to thank you for the time it took to share your experience, thank you very much for your contribution, I am very sorry to read that you consider this hotel is not for you, please accept my most sincere apology. On the other hand, and taking advantage of this opportunity, I would like to remind you that In the confirmation sheet, absolutely all the information of the reservation is attached, you could verify and even modify the reservation from before your arrival. Unfortunately, each hotel around the world has its own policies and each hotel has specific rates for any extra service or additional person. It is a shame and we offer an apology for not being the hotel you expected. Regards, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
The hotel was great, right in the center of Holbox. Keep in mind, this means you are surrounded by all the noice that comes with being in the center! Sleeping before midnight might be difficult for some. Especially when the whole island is celebrating Independence Day ;-) the room was more than large enough. WiFi is available and stable but not super fast. There is no fridge in the room, but there are 3 bars downstairs and a shop right across the entrance where you can purchase cold drinks. Reception personnel was always able to help us. Would recommend this hotel!
Read more
Response from elpueblitoholbox, Director General at Hotel El Pueblito
Responded Sep 26, 2019
Dear timourm2016: My warmest thanks for your kind comment, we are very grateful to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us. We'll be waiting for you for your next trip, it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again. Regards, General Manager
Read more
We visited for Christmas 2019. We loved our stay at Hotel El Pueblito. It is right in town so we never had to walk far to shops or the beach. It was very clean. The staff was very helpful. And we felt safe with our 11 year old running around. We will definitely stay here when we come to visit Holbox.
Read more
Response from elpueblitoholbox, Director General at Hotel El Pueblito
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear jakecolacchio: It is very pleasant to know when our guests return home with completely satisfactory experiences, I thank you for expressing your appreciation to the quality of our staff, without a doubt, Hotel El Pueblito has a team of hardworking and respectful people, people who love their work, and we are very proud to see how you are recognized in opinions like the one you just gave us. Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we hope you can repeat the occasion. Kind Regards & Happy New Year!!!! General Manager
Read more
Child unfriendly and rude staff. We're already paying US$800 for 4 nights but they still charged us full adult price on top of that for our 5 year old! We're okay with paying for our child but full adult price for a 5 year old?! Manager refused to discuss it and stonewalled us with "sorry it's the policy". Stayed in hotels all over the world but never saw such a "policy". Also they are rude, insisted on payment immediately upon arrival from our long journey, even though we were tired and had already paid 50% deposit. Pity because Mexico is an amazing place with lovely people. Except this hotel & manager who seem to care only about money. They have some good reviews but I'm now wondering how "real" those are.
Read more
Response from elpueblitoholbox, Gerente at Hotel El Pueblito
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear avssrs: We would like to send you our warmest appreciation for taking the time to write a comment about your recent stay at Hotel El Pueblito. I must say that it is not pleasant to read comments in which we can see the dissatisfaction of our guests. I am very sorry to read that you consider this hotel is not for you, please accept my most sincere apology. On the other hand, and taking advantage of this opportunity, I would like to make the observation and remind you that in the confirmation sheet that is sent from each reservation, the information about each cost is detailed. So that just as you covered the cost of the child for the plane and ferry tickets, in the same way, it generates a cost for the hotel. Each Hotel has different policies throughout the world; an apology for not having met your expectations, however we welcome your comments. Rest assured that we will constantly continue working to improve our services and we hope that you will allow us another opportunity to recover all your trust in Hotel El Pueblito. Regards, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
We stumble down at this hotel by mistake by its looks we like it was great right in town relaxing and cool place service was kinda ok rooms wore nice good for a relaxing nite quiet expensive but was ok for the nite
Read more
Response from elpueblitoholbox, Director General at Hotel El Pueblito
Responded Oct 20, 2019
Dear Adrian_Sosa_2730: ¡Muchas gracias! What a joy to know that you has returned home with an unforgettable experience. We thank you have mentioned the highlights of your stay, no doubt, I will share your opinion with the departments that made your stay successful in all aspects. We are waiting for you with open arms next year. Best regards, General Manager
Read more
$130 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooHolbox Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel El Pueblito
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel El Pueblito?
Nearby attractions include Refugio Holbox (0.2 miles), Papa Rana Holbox Logo Shop (0.08 miles), and Lolita Boutique Holbox (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel El Pueblito?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free internet access, and a concierge.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel El Pueblito?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Pinsa, Casa De Asadores Martin & Santos, and Casa Nostra Roof Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel El Pueblito?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hotel El Pueblito located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Holbox Island.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel El Pueblito?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.