We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villas HM Palapas del Mar

Save
Share
Kuka Mza. 133 Av. Paseo, Holbox Island 77310 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
eDreams
Agoda.com
travelup.com
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
lovevacations
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (775)
Pool & Beach (156)
Room & Suite (105)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#15 of 32 hotels in Holbox Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

Welcome to Villas HM Palapas del Mar, your Holbox Island “home away from home.” Villas HM Palapas del Mar aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to a 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and sun umbrellas while staying at Villas HM Palapas del Mar. In addition, Villas HM Palapas del Mar offers a pool and free breakfast, which will help make your Holbox Island trip additionally gratifying.

If you like Italian restaurants, Villas HM Palapas del Mar is conveniently located near Parador 33, Casa Nostra Roof Restaurant, and ROOTS Pizza a Leña.

Villas HM Palapas del Mar puts the best of Holbox Island at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Couples massage
Baggage storage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Diving
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
632Reviews78Q+A47Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 435
  • 96
  • 44
  • 28
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lacey D wrote a review Oct 24
82 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
We loved this little piece of paradise once we got settled. The room is decorated beautifully and comfortable. We loved the private pool. The buffets and a la carte food were great and reasonably priced for more of a luxurious hotel. The staff in the restaurant and pool bar was top notch. They work very hard!! I honestly wasn’t too impressed by the sushi restaurant or the staff the night we had it :( The beach is private and lovely. The water is so calm and you can walk way out. I would definitely recommend this hotel and come back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Atención al cliente/recepción at Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Lacey D, We greatly appreciate your comment and we are very pleased to know that your stay was so pleasant,it is a pleasure for us to have contributed to make your vacation so special and that it remains in your memory as an unforgettable experience. We hope that on your next visit we can surprise you by improving those little spots that you did not like about our Tamashi restaurant, our goal is to provide a quality, friendly service that makes our guests feel like what they are; very important to us. We hope that you will visit us again soon and enjoy this beautiful paradise that is Holbox. Sincerely, Tatiana Castellar Guest Service Manager Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Read more
Tracey W wrote a review Sep 2020
Delray Beach, Florida42 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
This was by far the best bang for your buck hotel we have ever stayed. It honestly seemed like a $300/night property to us. The rooms were sparkling clean, air conditioned, hot water, simply decorated with great porches with ocean view. The breakfast in the morning was phenomenal and the wait staff exceptional. They were all so friendly and attentive to our every need! The rooftop pool is amazing with an awesome sushi restaurant up there as well. The beach in Holbox is the most tranquil, relaxing places we have been in the world. The only downside to Holbox (which could also be a plus depending on the kind of vacation you are having and how much you like to disconnect!) is that the WiFi is awful. So if you work and travel like we do, it is extremely hard to do. We will definitely stay here again for our next two week stint and looove Holbox so much! It’s the perfect paradise!!! From the town to the beach, the Sandbar’s, shoppes, fabulous restaurants and amazing peoooe! We love it!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Atención al cliente/recepción at Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Responded 2 weeks ago
¡Hi traceywinnwellness! We appreciate very much how wonderful and pleasant your review is, it is a pleasure for us to have contributed to make your vacation so special and that it remains in your memory as an unforgettable experience. Our desire is to be able to offer you a quality service that makes you feel special and important, this is the reason why we constantly work and adapt to provide you with what you and all our guests deserve, the best. We hope that you will visit us again soon and enjoy this beautiful paradise that is Holbox. Regards! Tatiana Castellar Guest Service Manager Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Read more
Naelin wrote a review Aug 2020
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico2 contributions
2nd time staying in holbox and it is a quiet place for a romantic stay. This hotel we didn't know it and it was new to for us but looked nice but we found the music from the restaurant crazy and loud and we asked 3 times and always they said yes but after 1 hour they forget and puts music loud again.if your room is near the pool and restaurant you will here music all day loud. Hotel is beutifull but bed was very hard and the bathroom looked paint falling on the floor. We like to go back but before arriving we will ask for a room with better bathroom and very far from restaurant so we can sleep more hours if we want to.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Naevalla, First of all, let me thank you for having decided to spend your holidays with us at Villas HM Palapas del Mar. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay; I will communicate to my colleagues at A&B the issue so that an adequate volume is handled that does not bother our dear guests, it would be a pleasure for us to receive them and provide them with the excellent service they deserve. We hope that you will visit us again soon and enjoy this beautiful paradise that is Holbox. Sicerely, Tatiana Castellar Guest Service Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Read more
woods e vivi wrote a review Aug 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom2 contributions
Maybe our expectations were too high after reading the reviews but we were not so impressed here. Had to wait 90 minutes to check in and the room was just ok. Found sand behind the door and under the bed and the shower didn’t drain well so ended up always standing in dirty water. Also one day there was a really bad drain type smell. Food was alright. Nothing amazing but fresh and varied. Staff nice but very slow service at the restaurant. WiFi abysmal. Also, we always had to wait ages for a taxi cart to arrive to take us to town and it took a good 20 minutes to walk to town on uneven ground full of pot holes. Loved the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear woodsevivi, First of all, we thank you for your comment, as they help us improve our service every day. We are very sorry that your experience was not so rewarding that you had to wait so long to find something new in your room; We want you to know that every day we seek to improve our service and provide our guests with the best service. We look forward to the opportunity to show you how pleasant it can be to stay with us. Sicerely, Tatiana Castellar Guest Service Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Read more
Alisa C wrote a review Aug 2020
Rio Vista, Texas179 contributions73 helpful votes
We arrived on Holbox Island and began the search for a hotel, this one popped up after some searching. We thought let's try it because it has a n all-inclusive option. We booked online and chose the room, but did not book the online all-inclusive. When we arrived to check-in at the hotel we asked the concierge about the all-inclusive options. We discussed 2 options premium all-inclusive ($79.99usd pp) which " includes everything" the hotel rep stated, or the other all-inclusive ($69.99usd pp) option. We asked for the premium because my husband enjoys beer with his lunch/dinner and then cocktails after lunch/dinner. We finished checking in, and because it had been to early to continue on to our room we thought we would go to the restaurant area to eat a late lunch. When we arrived at the restraurant the waiter immediately approached the table. The waiter handed us a menu that has the included items for the premium all-inclusive options. We quickly browsed the menu and made some selections. We ordered our drinks, 1 water, 1 coke and 1 domestic (mexican) beer, the waiter stated beer and bottled water is not included in the premium all-inclusive. Only tap water and Modelo beer. We asked exacty what domestic beer where included in this all-inclusive price ? The waiter stated all domestic beer, OK well what beer do you have? only Modelo. What beer does the bar have? Modelo and a Yucatan beer. Ok He wanted the beer from Yucatan because that is a domestic beer. The waiter said no that beer is not included. OH MY GOODNESS!! We are in Mexico and in the state of Yucatan, but that beer is not included!! Ok What may I order that is included ? Only Modelo. The food was the same way options that were not included and some that were included, to say the least frustration took over. We ended up canceling our order and paying for the soda. We returned to the concierge and immediately canceled our premium all-inclusive option. The room was clean and had plenty of amenities. The bed was average firmness. There was not an issue of noise. The hotel, because of COVID-19, was still not accepting full capacity. The staff had been friendly but we felt as though the all-inclusive plan was a waste of money and a misrepresentation of the offered items.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 4alisac, First of all, let me thank you for having decided to spend your holidays with us at Villas HM Palapas del Mar. On the other hand, I am very sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your vacation at our facilities. On behalf of my entire team, I would like to offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced. We seek every day to improve our service and therefore we will inform the management about your disagreement with the all-inclusive plan for their review. We hope you return and have the pleasure of serving you. Sicerely, Tatiana Castellar Guest Service Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooHolbox Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Villas HM Palapas del Mar
Which popular attractions are close to Villas HM Palapas del Mar?
Nearby attractions include Refugio Holbox (0.7 miles), Papa Rana Holbox Logo Shop (0.4 miles), and Lolita Boutique Holbox (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villas HM Palapas del Mar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Villas HM Palapas del Mar?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Villas HM Palapas del Mar?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Villas HM Palapas del Mar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arte Sano, Parador 33, and Casa De Asadores Martin & Santos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villas HM Palapas del Mar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Villas HM Palapas del Mar have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Villas HM Palapas del Mar offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Villas HM Palapas del Mar located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Holbox Island.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villas HM Palapas del Mar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Villas HM Palapas del Mar have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.