We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

The Keefer Mansion Events Estate Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thorold
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Keefer Mansion Events Estate Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Showing 77: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here a few weeks back and the rooms were dirty and cold with the heat not working. And the owners...who apparently live upstairs were loud and we couldn't get any sleep and when we tried calling couldn't get ahold of anybody. We saw one walking around in his plaid pjs drinking a beer. How embarrassing it that? Would never... More 

14 Thank rachaelmontgomery75
Phil R, Owner at The Keefer Mansion Events Estate Inn, responded to this review

This is the same poster as the April 14 review. More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2015

Having admired this glorious building for close to three decades, I finally got the chance to spend an overnight in this stately home.,..and what a let down it was...how unfortunate..They are changing their set up.. To an events venue, weddings and such. Therefore there is no resteraunt on site. So we had to dine elsewhere. No biggie. Kind enough to... More 

7 Thank billykatOntario
Phil R, Owner at The Keefer Mansion Events Estate Inn, responded to this review

We tried very hard to accommodate this guest. Regarding the noise from an adjacent room if the guest had pressed zero as instructed on their room telephone it would have been resolved. Yes to the measuring tape being left on the bad following the installation of new artwork..the black mens boxers from a previous guest slipped behind one of our... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2015

I cant express how horrible disappointed and borderline grossed out with my experience at this place. Unfortunately I spent my valentines day dinner here. First of all, when i booked my reservation NOONE informed me that it was going to be a set menu with a set price. my guest and i both looked over the menu online so get... More 

9 Thank lovestoeatt
Phil R, Owner at The Keefer Mansion Events Estate Inn, responded to this review

This one is a bit over the top...and unfortunately social media gives this rant an audience. We did not want to take the reservation because we were fully booked, the guest knew this and insisted. We apologized for a couple of unfortunate shortcomings and offered to refund the guest 50% of their evening bill..this was declined. Not sure what else... More 

St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2015

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful night at the Keefer Mansion Inn. The staff that we dealt with during our stay were very helpful and very accommodating, especially when helping me out as this was a surprise visit for my girlfriend. The room was great and comfortable! This was personally my second time staying overnight at the Inn (and... More 

Thank Mike L
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

A little off the beaten track and well worth finding this gem. It offers a lot of atmosphere and history to take in. Wonderful people to help make your stay the best possible. One point, some rooms are smaller.

Thank Rbion
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

Well, don't know where to start. Ambience top notch: quiet, secluded, turn of last century decor, wonderful piano/vocal background music. New Year's Eve fixed price menu. Price: reasonable. Selection : on paper/online...excellent. Execution, service, ability to repair mistakes, food quality, presentation, all substandard. Reservation for 7:30, arrived 7:25, seated promptly, nice window table for two. Drinks ordered: waitress did not... More 

Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2014

My manager arranged our Christmas party here. We had dinner reservations at the restaurant and she booked a room for my boyfriend and myself for the night as a Christmas gift.The dinner was excellent, however portion size was pretty small. Got the shrimp as an appetizer... $18 but only came with 3 shrimp, thought it was a bit outrageous. Had... More 

2 Thank 3kcxo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2014

We reserved an early dinner as our group of Four were going on to the theater after. When we arrived we were seated immediately and our server said she understood our arrangements.Accordingly our order was taken as soon as we were ready to order. The service was excellent and as a result we had time to explore this lovely old... More 

Thank Barbara B
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2014

We arrived about 4:00 PM and checked into our room. It was about 18 C. We contacted the receptionist who told us that the boiler had just been turned on and we should be warm within the hour. We went for dinner at 7:00 PM and advised that it was still under 20 C.The receptionist apologized and said the owners... More 

2 Thank JimDeeks
Phil R, Owner at The Keefer Mansion Events Estate Inn, responded to this review

Yes we had a furnace failure in that part of the building for several hours, The unit has been repaired. We would have happily delivered in room heaters if we had known our guests were uncomfortable. More 

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2014

This a review of the restaurant only. We have never stayed overnight so cannot comment on the B&B aspect of the facility. The décor is very good. This might tempt you to think the restaurant experience will be just as good. My wife and I are members of an adult "out-to-dinner" who get together about 8 times per year to... More 

8 Thank DAVE_NIAGARA2013
Phil R, Owner at The Keefer Mansion Events Estate Inn, responded to this review

Unfortunately there was an apparent miscommunication between the organizer of the group and the patrons relating to the group service charge of 18%. This is standard for private groups....most folks by far would readily understand this. We are very careful communicating this policy. Regarding menu upgrades..yes the scallops appetizer is more than the soup. In some ways i think the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (2)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (5)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (2)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorold
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#10 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
York - Haig
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built 120 years ago, the Keefer mansion is a Niagara Region landmark. The Keefer's went on to become Canada's most important engineering dynasty.Sized at 9,000 sq ft the mansion has been restored to reflect the "privileged life" of its prosperous builders.The mansion is available for rental, allowing a variety of uses. Guests may bring in their own catering as needed. The mansion hosts four beautiful guest suites. Located minutes from Niagara Falls in the heart of Niagara. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Keefer Mansion Events Estate Inn

Address: 14 St. David's St W | Niagara, Thorold, Ontario L2V 2K9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thorold
Price Range: $139 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Keefer Mansion Hotel Thorold
The Keefer Mansion Events Estate Inn Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing