We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

La Heliconia

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Heliconia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We showed up early and had to wait for the room but the staff was very friendly. The room was large, almost a suite and there was a full kitchen. We couldn’t find any market nearby but only stayed one night. The room was very clean and the air conditioning was quiet and worked well. It is very close to... More 

Helpful?
Thank rosieox
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

This visit was last minute but surpringly very pleasant. Bishop and his wife were very gracious hosts. Transportation was provided to Grand anse beach and later that evening to get dinner. They also provided airport transfers for free during decent hours. The big surprise is that they are within walking distance of the airport! I plan to go back in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rednbald1
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind response. We do try our best to make our guest stay enjoyable. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Debbie More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

The apartment we stayed in was very comfortable and included a full kitchen, airconditioning and television. A small balcony as well. It's a 15 min walk from the airport and buses(number 1) to St.George run frequently($2.5,- local currency p.p.) Personnel was lovely and really friendly and super helpful in booking a Seafari trip for us. Great recommendation.

Helpful?
1 Thank Martinios S
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind response. we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Looking forward to seeing you soon again. Regards Debbie More 

Winston-Salem
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Whether you are just passing through, need a convenient airport accommodation, or a home base while in Grenada this is a wonderful place. It is not on the beach but the location serves one well for many reasons. You can walk to the airport when you have an early flight so stressing about transport arrangements is not a worry. Busses... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank UltraStar175
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. Yes you are right, we are placed very conveniently to airport, beaches and local buses. This makes getting around very easy and quick. Looking forward to seeing you again real soon. Regards Debbie More 

Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Located near the airport. What a surprise when booked just a room, I received a spacious one bedroom apartment with furniture, kitchen(fridge, microwave, gas stove, cutlery, pots and pans), and a little balcony. In the morning there is a choice of continental (10$) or full (15$)breakfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank KiMAGIC
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. Yes, all our apartments are very spacious with all that you will need for a self catering holiday. Glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Kind Regards Debbie More 

St. George's, Grenada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Large gaps under door and neighbor. You can hear detailed conversations of your neighbor. The owners husband wouldn't fix a banging screen upstairs in the night but told us to. He was drunk. The bed was horrible! All other staff was very nice. We left our stay early because of the bed, the noise, and the owner's husband. There are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi S
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Sorry you had a bed experience here with us. We have sorted out the problems you had that day. Regards Debbie More 

Brentwood
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

This place is awesome if you are going to Sandals. We came in from the West coast so it is a long trip to get to Granada. We arrived around 8:00 pm so I did not want to stay at Sandals and have to pay for a full days stay only to go to bed. The accommodations were very nice... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank ToddMe
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Yes, it makes a lot of sense to book cheep the night before going to Sandals. Regards Debbie More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
342 reviews
221 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2016

Stayed here on a Friday night after arriving late from Trinidad. My prearranged ride was not waiting at the Airport, but came within 10 minutes after I called. Hotel is on main road about 2-3 minutes from Terminal. Was greeted by Debbie the owner, she cheerfully thanked me for my business and I was in my apartment very quickly. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank William J
LaHeliconia, Owner at La Heliconia, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry about the water shortage! water is sometimes limited, in the dry season. Glad that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Debbie More 

Poland , NY USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2016

The main thing La Heliconia has going for it is the location. Very close to airport when coming or going from Grenada. As happens sometimes, the photos on the website are a bit out of date and things are a bit shabbier than represented. When I took my shower, the hot water ran out after about 30 seconds. My wife... More 

Helpful?
Thank EricC56
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016

I was picked up by one of the owner who was very friendly, arrived at the hotel in five minutes very close to the Airport. I was wellcome by staff and owners I was shown my room, much more than I was expected, very roomy, clean and every thing you need. Very much recommended Ann from London Leytonstone.

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint George Parish hotels
1.1 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.9 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Flamboyant Hotel & Villas
1.7 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Kalinago Beach Resort
Kalinago Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run Holiday apartments, at competitive prices,with spa, bar and restaurant ,free high speed wifi connection,located on the beautiful island of Grenada in the West Indies.Situated close to the airport and walking distance to fine golden sand beaches, we are ideally placed for self-catering holidays,over nights or visiting your friends and relations in Grenada and at St. George’s University.La Heliconia is on the local bus route, which takes you into the town of St. George. We provide a free pick up service from the airport between the hours of 9am to 5pm. We also provide an early check inn service from 7am, and late check out service to 4pm.There is also an in house taxi service, which we provide for our guest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Heliconia

Address: Point Salines, Maurice Bishop Highway, 1115, Grenada
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish
Price Range: $78 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Heliconia 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your La Heliconia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Heliconia Grenada/Saint George Parish
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay