We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Kensington Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kensington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

OK for budget place, but surprised breakfast not included. Bed linen could have been ironed but everythingelse passable. Had no light in bathroom, but was fixed next day. Super view, but wished the'd switched lights off around pavilion, on all night. On the whole it could have done with sprucing up a little and new bath towels.

Helpful?
Thank patsycarroll
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was dirty,all blue in the kettle,stains on the mattress,stains on the curtains,dust on the mirror and wardrobe,no breakfast offeredwouldn't have eaten or drank there,I know it was cheap 44 pounds per night but it should of been clean wardrobe,needs a good clean!

Helpful?
Thank Jaydn2408

Travelers are raving about these Rhyl hotels

Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

dirty, cheap, nasty. No attempt made to make this place acceptable. Stained linen, creased stained and dirty bedding. The owners personality in no way makes up for the lazy couldn't care less attitude displayed by the generaldemeanor of this place it looked exactly like a crack den as depicted on channel 5. DISGUSTING! p.s. the hand towel I left behind... More 

Helpful?
Thank Norah C
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for 1 night just to have a bed for the night whilst watching an event in the town. Cheap at £44 for the night however we could not have stayed any longer. Lady on reception very pleasant and friendly so no qualms there. Unfortunately the room we had, which would be the cheapest at the hotel as a lot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thankyou to the kensington hotel for a pleasant one night stay with a lovely big breakfast. .myself and my young son stayed for one night and had a big room.. one double one single bed , all was clean as was the bathroom ..yes its dated but does that matter as long as staff are friendly which they were and... More 

Helpful?
Thank portvalestokeontrent
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been stopping at the hotel for the last 4 years staff are lovely very polite but I felt the hotel was run down this year our room was not very clean especially the floors juice bottles under bed. Coffee tea and toilet roll was not stocked up daily used to like to stay here but will not be returning

Helpful?
Thank tammy m
merseyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner for a weekend just a quick get away. We booked the family suite as that was the only available room. We were happy with the Sea view room the room needed updating as in the decor. Our only gripe was the cold water was hot but we just bought bottled water. There were tea... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarah c
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

Even though the staff are friendly,this is by no means any representation of the hotel. The appearance of the hotel was that of an unkept and dirty establishment. The general decor was very tired and needs replacing throughout. Upon entering the room there was a strong smell of stale cigarette smoke, the Yale lock was flimsy and not the greatest... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank crowtherneil
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

Shall not visit the hotel even if I am given free room. Absolutely unclean hotel No hot water. Least I can say is please don't spoil your vacation by visiting this hotel. You can find better elsewhere. Half a toilet tissue roll left in the hotel. Please believe me and avoid at any cost.

Helpful?
Thank Jyoti I
kensington17, Manager at Kensington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your valued comments. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, however if guests do not tell staff about and issue which they have with the room, these problems can not be rectified! All the best More 

Crymych, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

From reading reviews beforehand we knew not to expect much and we were right to expect the worst. The outside of the hotel is rough, paint flaking off and filthy windows, the tiles heading up the stairs to the front door were also cracked and some missing. On entering is smelt of cigarettes and the décor was dated. The lady... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kellyvaughan
kensington17, Manager at Kensington Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review I am sorry you found the outside of the hotel rough looking, we are continuously trying our best to maintain the front of the hotel. Due to the hotel being non smoking, guest do tend to smoke outside the hotel. We can only apologise for the issue... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
0.0 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
0.0 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
3.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#26 of 61 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berwyn Guest House
Berwyn Guest House
#1 of 27 in Rhyl
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kensington Hotel is family run Hotel, Based along the sea front in Rhyl (North Wales) overlooking the magnificent Irish Sea. Being located where we are, We are only a couple of minutes (walking distance) From all the major shops and clubs. We aim to offer a warm welcome and friendly experience, if there is anything more we can do to accommodate you during your stay don't hesitate to let us know. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kensington Hotel

Address: 17 East Parade, Rhyl LL18 3AG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Price Range: $55 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kensington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel Rhyl, North Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay