We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashcroft Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haltwhistle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ashcroft Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ashcroft Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 431: English reviews
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

The Ashcroft Guest House truly deserves it excellent rating. The staff were extremely nice, welcoming, supportive and helpful with local advice. The quality of the accommodation first rate. The breakfast was as good as it gets.

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a nice review. We really appreciate it and I know how much future guests rely on these reviews. Thanks again. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

My mother and I stayed here for a couple nights when we were visiting Hadrian's wall, the Ashcroft is a beautiful guesthouse with wonderful views and history. The town is right nearby but you're not in the middle of it, which I love. Christine and Geoff were welcoming and friendly, and provided gorgeous and delicious breakfast options! Hope to stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gracey O
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and you will be pleased to know that we are continuing to try to improve the visitorexperience wherever we can. We are constantly looking at things we can improve on in preperation for your next visit. More 

England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

This was a 1 night last minute booking due to being let down by our booked accommodation. Imagine our delight that a negative turned into a positive experience. We shared the 2 bed apartment over the garage and loved that we had a lounge and kitchen with all the amenities that you need. As mentioned in previous reviews, everywhere is... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnVB
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

We are very grateful for your lovely comments. We do try to have everything as we would expect too. It is always nice to hear that we are doing at least most things right. Hopefully you wioll get the chance to stay longer with us next time. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

We recently stayed for two nights at Ashcroft Guest House so that we could walk some of Hadrian's Wall and visit Vindolanda. It is a beautiful place. Our room was huge with two balconies, gorgeous bathroom and all the extras you would expect of a 5 star Gold Award establishment. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana W
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for writing this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You will be pleased to know that we now have an even bigger choice at breakfast and that we are continuing to try to improve everything where we can. Hope to see you again. More 

Preston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

The consistency of the excellent reviews of Ashcroft mean that it came as little surprise to us that we had a great stay. Lots of places can invest in high quality furnishings and provide good food but many fall down when it comes to the hospitality of the hosts. This is what made Ashcroft really special for us - Geoff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rovers09
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Sorry for the delay in responding to your kind review. We are very grateful to you for doing this and are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The Black Bull is still busy, but worth the wait. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

We stayed two nights in the 2-bedroom self-catering apartment in this superb guest house. Geoff and Christine are very friendly and helpful! It's very close to Hadrian's Wall and surrounding attractions. Haltwhistle is a quiet little town with Cooperative and Sainsbury's in walking distance. Highly recommend this B&B!

Helpful?
Thank blue l
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Better late in responding than never, sorry. Thank you for leaving your review. We really value these reviews and so many people refer to them for guidance when choosing their place to stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Apartment and we have just started creating a second one which should be finished later this year. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here as a family in the apartment and can't rate Ashcroft more highly. The apartment had excellent facilities with a large open plan kitchen and living space. The breakfast was fantastic with brilliant service from Christine and Geoff. We thoroughly recommend this lovely bed and breakfast in Haltwhistle!

Helpful?
Thank Sam M
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your review. It has taken me too long to respond but we are truly grateful to you. We are pleased that you found the Aopartment suitable. We are busy constructing another opn now which will hopefully be completed soon. More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

A beautiful guest house, this is is a really comfortable place to stay. Lovely atmosphere. Geoff & Christine are the most welcoming hosts, friendly and very helpful. We stayed in the two bedroom self-catering apartment. A perfect place to come back to after a long day out and about. The B&B is only a short drive from Hadrian's Wall and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SBEggen
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for making the effort to write a review. We are so grateful to you for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again sometime. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

We stayed in late July 2015, and enjoyed a warm welcome despite the terrible weather, comfortable family apartment and a sumptuous breakfast. A perfect place to base a visit to Hadrian's Wall and surrounding attractions.

Helpful?
1 Thank alix g
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this review. I am running behind on responding but are very grateful for your comments. We had a very wet summer and the wettest winter on record. However, now we are in the middle of our sunniest and warmest Spring for many years which is proof that it doesn't always rain in Northumberland. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

We stayed in August 2015. Our Superking Double En-suite Room (inc. Breakfast) was £99. From the moment we arrived, we could tell this was a wonderful place to stay. Christine and Geoff are the definition of excellent hosts! Christine was there to meet us at the front door as soon as we pulled up. She explained everything about the guest... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank larawankenobi
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

You have flattered us with your comments but we are so grateful for you leaving such a comprehensive review. Potential visitors will find this invaluable when choosing somewhere to stay. Sorry for the jet lagged response, I am running a bit behind. Thank you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (73)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
7.9 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
12.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grey Bull Hotel
Grey Bull Hotel
#7 of 15 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#2 of 8 in Gilsland
5.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kellah Farm B&B
Kellah Farm B&B
#3 of 15 in Haltwhistle
5.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ald White Craig Farm
Ald White Craig Farm
#2 of 9 in Haltwhistle
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Ashcroft Guest House

Address: Ashcroft, Haltwhistle NE49 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Price Range: $108 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashcroft Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing