We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 219: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Lodge Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Booked here by mistake... Grandma thought she had been before... but we were very pleased with our choice. The restaurant was small but pleasantly spaced so that none of the tables seemed to be on top of each other. Service was polite, friendly and well timed so as not to be intrusive and the food was delicious. As a group...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aidanrudd
New smyrna Beach
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whoa,,,what a find. A much nicer, friendlier place you could not wish for. This is definately NOT Fawlty Towers. First of all, my room was spotless. A nice comfortable bed, plenty of pillows, flat screen TV, and plenty of room to swing a cat. The en-suite shower room and toilet was also spotless.Large fluffy towels of all sizes and shampoos...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonystevens711
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've literally just checked in, and on just pulling up on the car park, this is such a lovely Hotel. The owner couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating and my room , just gorgeous, total luxury. Definitely coming here again Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BarbaraVall
Hampshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had not been here for a while but really glad we came tonight! A new, young team front of house and in the kitchen made for an interesting menu, Hubby had the 3 types of pork and I had the 'special' steak with Gorgonzola and smoked bacon with a rich sherry sauce, baby veg and triple cooked chips! Piping...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank VladHampshire
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

Went for a Sunday roast 8 adults & 5 children. The food was delicious and service was very good, rib of beef, pork, chicken all served on large platters, looked very much like a media evil banquet. Will definitely be back and will definitely recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve L
hampshire uk
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

I booked a table for 20 for our Ruby (40th) Anniversary to surprise my wife who thought we were just having dinner for 2. I spoke to Mike at the hotel and he was very supportive. When my wife and I arrived on 30th Dec we were greeted at the door and shown to the bar, (our guests were already...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hildev
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2017

Stayed here for one night 13/01/17. We found the hotel to be comfortable and really nice place to stay. The hotel is located in a nice quiet part of town. It is about a 5-7 minute drive into the town centre or a 20 minute walk. We had a double room with a foldaway bed and both gave a really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Colin H
Berkshire, UK
Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

Our second stay to visit friends nearby, rooms spotless, comfortable beds, friendly hosts and breakfast quality and quantity excellent and very pleasant waiting staff too. Can't understand the previous reviewer, we are fussy and think this place is super for the purpose.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fussy
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

Mike was a good host, however Tash was not meant to be in this role at all. When we asked for extra pillows, she was rude and defensive. We found her to be quite defensive and hostile during our entire stay. We felt most unwelcome and upset upon leaving due to our treatment.

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Emmalizi
Michael P, Owner at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Emmalizi Sorry you had a bad experience, Natasha hasn't worked for me for over 20 months now ( trip advisor policy not to publish reviews over 12 months old very unprofessional of them) All I can say it seems a little strange you reviewed both myself and another venue over 200 miles apart on the same day, less than a...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

We visited 28th December for a family meal. New head chef Andy has taken over the kitchen coming from the wheatsheaf and that is exactly why we went. Great menu and beautifully cooked food. The presentation is always good and the value for money is excellent. Big changes ahead for this restaurant with Andy now over the kitchen, cannot recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank vicky m
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosport
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,070 reviews
4.9 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,131 reviews
4.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Old Lodge Hotel
The Old Lodge Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The old Lodge in the heart of Alverstoke village in Gosport, is a beautiful Georgian house upgraded to 11 delightful rooms, a restaurant and bar serving the local community as well as guests from far and wide. Currently undergoing extensive refurbishment following its acquisition by local new owner Michael Pearce, it is due to open around December 2012 ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Lodge Hotel

Address: 81 The Avenue | Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport
Price Range: $90 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Gosport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms seem to enjoy a quite atmosphere and are spacious”
 of 5 bubbles tonystevens711, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Did not stay, only had evening meal with friends from the area”
 of 5 bubbles juliewA8763AV, Dec 15, 2016 | Read review
“Phone and ask”
 of 5 bubbles JonandJue, Nov 16, 2016 | Read review
“The standard doubles are small old fashioned doubles so choose the exec doubles for comfort. book with the hotel to get breakfast included”
 of 5 bubbles 550adriand, Nov 10, 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles trevoraustin250660, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question