We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort

Save
Share
Agiou Ioanni, Malia, Crete 70007 Greece
E-mail hotel
Hotel direct offer!15% off room rate
Hotels.com
Priceline
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (966)
Room & Suite (230)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/24/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/24/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 93 hotels in Malia
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
WELCOME TO ALEXANDER BEACH HOTEL & VILLAGE RESORT The quiet, green Beach Front Oasis in Malia, Crete Situated in a unique beachfront location, the 5-star resort Alexander Beach Hotel & Village, is a stylish hideaway with the flair of a typical Greek Village. Experience the feeling of full relaxation in our quiet green and blooming oasis, on over 55.000 sqm impressive subtropical gardens. Enjoy the aura of luxury in our traditional Greek style Bungalow rooms and suites, all close to the wonderful beach. The lively villages of Malia and Stalis with lots of restaurants, bars and shopping spots are near in walking distance. Your best choice for a beachfront hotel in Malia, Crete: Over 800 m. of private sandy beach with crystal clear water, 6 freshwater swimming pools, beautiful sun terraces over the beach and breathtaking views over the bay of Malia/ Stalis guarantee unforgettable holidays. Wi-Fi free of charge in all public areas. All rooms and suites have direct high-speed Internet connection and Wi-Fi. The Alexander Beach got again the official award Blue Flag for one of the cleanest beaches and sea waters in Greece. The lively villages Malia and Stalis are only a few minutes away. Enjoy wining and dining with outstanding personal services at our Main Restaurant, two typical Greek Tavernas, Bars and Snack Bars at the pool or right on the beach. There is no time to be bored at Alexander Beach: Shows, Live Music, Dancing, Greek evenings, lots of Sports, Watersports and a Fitness Club offer countless possibilities of entertainment and action. At Alexander SPA, a luxurious wellness area with indoor heated pool, beauty spa, cosmetics, massage, sauna, steam bath and oriental Hamam and Resoul, you may relax or become spoiled. At the professionally equipped Fitness Center most modern fitness and cardio equipment is available for your personal work-out. Finally, the Alexander Kids Club is a paradise for our little guests, making Alexander Beach your ultimate choice for family holidays in Malia.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Badminton
Children's playground
Secured parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Darts
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Strollers
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, German and 2 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal
745Reviews72Q+A79Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 429
  • 231
  • 57
  • 18
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lisa B wrote a review Aug 9
6 contributions2 helpful votes
I have just returned with my teenage son and husband. We nearly never booked with all The airport issues and every changing covid, but am so glad we did! What a gem of a place! Totally agree with other reviews, we were Bed and breakfast, loads of choice and lots of cheap eateries and supermarkets to support the other meal times. Ensure you go as far down the high street as you can, don’t just stay on the doorstep, turn right out of the hotel and eat by the sea every night, turn left And becomes more sparsely populated with tavernas. The high street as no pavement and can be busy at times with coaches and quads, it’s not a major problem just be mindful if with small children. The beach is literally outside your door, stunning views and always a sunlounger! Peak holidays season and still getting a bed by the main pool ( there are 6) at 9.30am on our way to breakfast! Excellent animation team, not In your face but there if you want it! I am already looking to go back next year which is very unusual to go back to a place twice, but it ticked all of our many boxes! And may even stay for 3 weeks!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Beach view room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sara Canto wrote a review Sep 2020
4 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This is genuinely the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. The views are so beautiful and the beach behind 4 yards from the pool is such a treat. The sea is shallow quite a way out so you can go out with children and feel safe. The rooms are spotless and lovely - the beds were SO comfortable too and if you need anything the staff will help you immediately. It truely is stunning and the staff are so kind and helpful, even organising a bag of rice for my wet phone to dry out! They also take Covid extremely seriously, everyone is wearing masks and visors, taxis are temp tested before they come on site and there is hand sanitizer everywhere. You really feel safe in that regard. Also Crete itself are being really good. You can't even go into a little gift shop without wearing a mask. It's a perfect spot because you have Malia a short walk away if you want to 'party' or old Malia if you want to visit the most gorgeous restaurants, but being out the way enough that you can totally avoid it if it's not your thing. Also Heraklion is very easy to get to if you want to do some shopping or see it's history, as there is a bus stop nearby, with a ticket costing around €3. All in all, I could not recommend this hotel more! Perfect for families, couples or friends.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Beach , Άλλο at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded Mar 1, 2021
Dear Saracanto, Thank you for sharing this excellent review on TripAdvisor and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. It is fantastic to read that you had a lovely stay. Your appreciating words are the best motivation for all of us and we all thank you so much for recognizing our efforts continuous to satisfy all our guests’ needs and requests. We really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel and in Crete island. With warm regards from sunny Crete, Alexander Beach Team
Read more
M E wrote a review Aug 7
Geneva, Switzerland25 contributions5 helpful votes
We have been coming back to this hotel for several years now, and are always happy to come back! We really appreciate the warm welcome and friendly staff, who go out of their way to accommodate any requests. The hotel is split into several smaller areas and beaches, and so never feels overcrowded. The food is great with a large variety for breakfast and dinner, and you can have a more limited selection for lunch near the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kostas Aretakis, Διαχείριση εσόδων at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Valued Client, we would like to thank you for your time to review us, for the excellent rating and ofcourse for the possitive comments regarding staff and food. Its a pleasure for us to welcome you every summer in Alexander Beach Hotel und offer you nice vacation and we really appreciate that you prefer our hotel. We will be definitely happy to see you next summer and have a great time together. Until then, we wish you a nice time. With our best regards, the team of Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Read more
HKur3 wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
+1
We stayed here for 7 days. Our room was "family room" with living room including couch/bed, a armchair, table for working and tv table with minifridge. Seperate bedroom with another tv and table. Bathroom was big, modern and clean with shower corner and seperate bath. Hotel is over large territory and only 2-3 floors high. There are acitivites for children during day time. They have a program by the main pool. If you want quieter experience, other pools are futher away and just as nice. Shoutout to pool bar crew, simply the best waiters and barman. Spa was also flawless. Professional workers and customizable procedures tailored to clients needs. Food was good, however i recommend to dine outside, there are plenty of places to eat and some are better(and cheaper) than hotel. And finally the beach. Small in terms of general beaches, but it was sand beach, which is rare in the area. Also sea was 22+ 'C and green flag.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Sea view is overrated, its only 2 floors high.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kostas Aretakis, Διαχείριση εσόδων at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for your message and the great rating. Its a pleasure for us to know, that you have spend so wonderfool vacation in our hotel and you was pleased with our hotel service. We will be very happy to welcome you again soon in our hotel. Until than we wish you a nice time. With our best regards, the Team of Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Read more
Taryn F wrote a review Jun 2022
Vancouver, Canada140 contributions51 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a 3 week trip to celebrate my 40th birthday; my birthday was celebrated at this resort. We arrived super late however the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked a room that was close to and faced the beach; it did not disappoint! The room was very spacious! The balcony was lovely and faced the beach and one of the pools. The bathroom was also a nice size. Room included a mini fridge and safe. Our room included breakfast; breakfast was excellent! So many options to choose from! The reception staff were very helpful answering some of our questions and helping us with a late check out! So many great things to say about this place! Clean, friendly, great location. Location is also walking distance to Stalia and even Malia if you are okay to walk about 30 mins (quick cab ride if desired 8-10 Euros). We did find the restaurants (only used while lounging at pool at lunch time) were a little pricey and beware, if you order a margarita it's expensive and my glass never came full - it was always like 2/3 full... Otherwise, no complaints. The hotel even worked with my husband to surprise me with a birthday cake in our room on the evening of my birthday! The cake was a chocolate mousse style and was delicious! Highly recommend this place and I would definitely go back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Upgrade to have a view of the beach, it's worth it!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kostas Aretakis, Διαχείριση εσόδων at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Dear Taryn F, it´s a pleasure vor us to know, that you had so wonderfool vacation in our hotel and you was so pleased with our hotel service. We would like to thank you for the time you took, to inform us about it and ofcourse for the excellent rating. We will be very happy to see you in our hotel again and to offer you again the best vacation. Finally, we would like to thank you for recommending our hotel. We wish you all the best. With our best regards, the team of Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Read more
John H wrote a review Jun 2022
Hassocks, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
May be this resort is better than others in the area, but not 5 star. Too many rooms in too small an area. First room we were shown was booked with garden view, in fact it was a view of a large wall, room was very small and dark. After complaining, we were offered a slightly better room, with garden view, all be it small. Room was larger. The bathroom was large and modern. Service is good, staff are friendly. The facilities are good, but each pool is quite small. Limited number of sun beds, not enough for the number of guests, after 9.00 no beds. Some with people, but many with just towels. The guests are mainly German. 1500 guests, but only 700 sun beds, in a small area. The food is buffet style, and changes each day. Good variety and tasty. Also griddle with fish and meat plus a roast. Wine is too expensive, 18euros for a 4 euro bottle. You are forced to buy water at an exhorbitant price of 3.50 euro. Yet you get free water in your room. Too many guests for dinner, so there are 2 sittings. As the hotel is so compact, it was not relaxing. There is a beach area, but a lot of seaweed and submerged rocks. The sunbeds and parasols are old and some are broken. During our time the sea was choppy and red flags flying, so no sea swimming. Outside the resort is a busy local road, but has lots of bars, restaurants and souvenir shops, also a useful supermarket. In summary, too many rooms squeezed into a small area, facilities are good, but also in small area. Food and service is good. Some rooms too small. I would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Beach , Other at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Client John H. kalimera, Thank you very much for your time to review us. We also would like to thank you for all your possitive comments regarding staff and food. Let us please kindly raise some points of our hotel regarding the stay of guests in order to avoid any confusion for the points you mention. 1. Direct upon your arrival without any time lost you have received another bigger room as the one allocated was not wished. So this comment of yours is not quite clear.. 2. In our hotel fit 1000 Guest and we (because of obvious reasons) have 700, we do not accept more. 3. We have 6 outdoor Pools and 2000 chairs for everyone. Our pool staff is always available did you asked for chairs? 4. Our beverage rates are the ones of any 5 star hotel in Europe. All 5 star hotels charge according to 5 star rating. We are not AI. 5. ALL your points could be justified and answered accordingly with just a 5 minute talk to any of the staff or the Manager, we are wondering of course why you never approached us to raise your opinion. Of course we are waiting you again in Alexander Beach to talk in person and to justify all the above points we are mentioning. Geuest Relations Alexander Beach Hotel
Read more
Traveler835208 wrote a review Jun 2022
Nokia, Finland2 contributions
The hotel is super nice and especially The stuff was nice. The best thing was The animation Team: Mirana, Osaid, Davide, Teresi and Lisa. Their aimation made my day every day!!! Mirana was amazing fitness instructor! Animation Team was spreading Great energy! Thank you!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Go to enjoy fitness Instructorin every day!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kostas Aretakis, Διαχείριση εσόδων at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Dear Traveler, we would like to thank you for your friendly coment and the excellent rating. It is a pleasure for us to know, that you have enjoy so much your vacation in our hotel,especially our animation team. It will be nice to see you in our hotel again. We wish you all the best. With our best regards, the team of Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Read more
angela w wrote a review May 2022
46 contributions46 helpful votes
I'd definitely recommend this hotel, lovely spacious rooms (we had a beachfront superior with garden), comfy bed, kettle in the room with tea/coffee/milk topped up every day, including a bottle of water each day. The staff and locals are all incredibly friendly. Really comfortable sunbeds with thick mattresses. The breakfast was one of the best I've had at a hotel, a vast choice and great quality. its a short stroll to the many local tavernas...Socrates was fantastic
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: beachfront ground floor, most of these have a terrace and small garden with dun beds
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kostas Aretakis, Διαχείριση εσόδων at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded May 28, 2022
Dear gast, Its a pleasure for us to know, that you have spend a nice vacation in our hotel. We are very happy for this information and we would like to thank you for this and the excellent rating you have given to our hotel. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon in our hotel again. Until then we wish you all the best. With our best regards, the team of Alexander Beach Hotel & Village
Read more
A K wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Great location, site layout and on-site facilities. The staff, reception and management were professional and accommodating, dealing with any issues raised promptly. The food was varied, plentiful and restaurant staff were always cheerful and helpful; Jacob makes a mean iced coffee. We all enjoyed the spa experience and the great location meant we visited plenty of beautiful towns & villages. Having a blue flag beach was a bonus with fabulous views of the coastline and mountains, perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ground floor, sea view rooms provide a garden with sun-beds
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Beach , Other at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded May 16, 2022
Dear ZGAK; Thank you very much for your Message. We are glad to know, that you had a nice vacation in our hotel. We would also like to thank you for the excellent rating you gave us. it will be a great pleasure to welcome you in Alexander Beach Hotel & Village. Stay healthy and all the Best! With best regards from sunny Crete. Alexander Beach Hotel and Village Guest relation Team
Read more
Mike 71 wrote a review Nov 2021
Düsseldorf, Germany2 contributions
In case you want a nice and relaxing holiday with Great Food, you are in the right Place. Do not look further. The Staff is overwhelming and totally friendly. No wish will be unfulfilling and your kids will be in a paradise! Do not thing further and book! Our week was unforgettable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Garden View as well Beach Front are Great!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Beach , Other at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Responded Nov 12, 2021
Dear Mike1659, Thank you for sharing this excellent review on TripAdvisor. We are very proud to hear that you chose our hotel for a special holiday with your family and that our team managed to exceed all your expectation. We truly appreciate your kind words about our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Alexander Beach in the near future for another memorable stay. With our best regards from sunny Crete, Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$116 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alexander beach hotel and village, alexander beach hotel village, alexander beach resort village
LOCATION
GreeceCreteHeraklion PrefectureMalia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
366
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Nearby attractions include Stalis Beach (0.7 miles), Relax Cocktail Bar (0.7 miles), and Ethnic Cafe (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Katerina Taverna, Kelariko Restaurant stalis, and Sweet World.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alexander Beach Hotel & Village Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Greek.