We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Salsa Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Salsa Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Salsa Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
Maintal, Germany
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Salsa Hostel the second time now. Although we booked a private room with shared bathroom, we had a room with an own shower and a basin, located onto the really big roof-deck!! This is amazing!! So we have to share only the toilet and this is really clean and has a nice design :) Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nani112
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review

Dear David & Valerie, You are more than welcome. and hope to welcome you again 3rd time. Cheers, Sood

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed on night at the salsa hostel before leaving for Koh Tao and really loved it! We booked a private room, which was huge and had everything we needed (comfortable bed, fridge, TV,...) for a very good price. The general facilities (bar/cafe etc.) were also very nice and clean and the hostel looks very friendly. But the best thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weltreiser2014
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guests, You are more than welcome. I am so pleased and honored to have you stayed at my little hostel. Should I be of your assistance in the future, let me know. Cheers/Sood

Reviewed June 30, 2014

I haven't seen the hostel like this before located in the small town with a modern style, everything inside and outside's built and decorated with attention. The facilities're maintained in the proper condition and ready to use. The most signaficant thing for me is, it's so clean. The bed was really comfortable with white colour it made me feel clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mod A
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Khun Mod, Thanks for your compliment and I will keep doing it better. Cheers, Sood

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed at Salsa Hostel on my way South and have to say it was an excellent stay. I booked more nights than i needed and the owner (who was very friendly and helpful) didn't mind me staying less time than i originally booked. They have a very high cleanliness standard which i can vouch for because one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Peter, I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Salsa. Unfortunately that the free mango smoothies is only available in Summer (between April-June) when the mango is in season. Hope to see you again some day. Cheers/Sood

Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Despite arriving in the middle of a the night we still received a warm welcome. We stayed in the mixed dorm facing the road. The bed was SO comfortable, clean and the room spacious and modern. The only downside was road noise and street light. In the morning we had a delicious all you can eat buffet style breakfast -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinead G
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thanks for staying with us and reviewing us. I am so sorry that the street light and traffic noise caused unpleasant experience to you. Being a city hostel and centrally located, it's hard to avoid those two things. However, I hope that you like my service and I look forward to your stay in the near future. Cheers/Sood

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We arrived at the hostel at about 2am, which meant we had to wake up the owner using the door bell. Whereas I would be pretty grouchy to have been woken up so abruptly, this guy was so welcoming and willing to help us in. We got to our room and it was spotless ( apart from the other backpackers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will H
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Will, Thanks. You've made my date. / Sood (owner)

Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to managment and staff. Helpfull friendly welcoming and VERY clean! i would recomend Salsa to everyone, if your near stop over you wont regret it. Loads of local street food and shops................................. 10/10

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kieran H
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks Kieran, hope to see you again. Cheers, Sood

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Either than the wifi acting a little iffy in our room, this was a famtastic stay. The owner is great, the place is spotless and is very roomy. Good location. I wish there was a hostel just like this place everywhere I went. Oh and breakfast is great too. Best breakfast any hostel I've been to I think. The owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catamaran_envy
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review

With pleasure :-)

Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here once before we travelled to Koh Tao and when we came back. The owner speaks great English and is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is really good. It is very clean and well cared for. The following day we were due to catch the sleeper train and after checking out the owner kindly looked after our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Matt, Thanks for staying with us twice and I hope to accommodate you again in the future. Cheers, Sood

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Booked one night at Salsa hostel, as a transit stop between Koh Tao and our train to Bangkok, but ended up staying an extra 4 nights. The dorm room is very clean, tidy, with great additions such as a fridge and reading lights. The bathrooms were spotless and the showers were hot. Breakfast was a buffet with a great selection,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carrie_baby1986
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Carina & Chris, Thanks for lovely review. You both are lovely as well. Anyway, I should thank to the nice white sandy beach of Chumphon; Thung Wua Laen beach, that attracted you back to Chumphon again. Cheers! Sood

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chumphon hotels
1.0 mi away
Tanisa Resort
Tanisa Resort
#2 of 19 in Chumphon
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
A-Te Chumphon Hotel
A-Te Chumphon Hotel
#1 of 19 in Chumphon
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suriwong Chumphon Hotel
Suriwong Chumphon Hotel
#8 of 19 in Chumphon
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chumphon Gardens
Chumphon Gardens
#15 of 19 in Chumphon
57 reviews
7.6 mi away
Novotel Chumphon Beach Resort&Golf
0.8 mi away
Chalicha Resort
Chalicha Resort
#3 of 19 in Chumphon
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Salsa Hostel is a newborn hostel in Chumphon. It is the only hostel in Chumphon that offers a range of services; lodging, tours, cafe & bar. All guests can enjoy facilities provided; common room, kitchen, rooftop terrace, free wifi, etc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Salsa Hostel

Address: 25 / 42 Krommaluang Rd, Tatapao | Tatapao Subdistrict, Chumphon 86000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chumphon Province > Chumphon
Price Range: $13 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Salsa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Salsa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Salsa Hostel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Salsa Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were on the third, very large room and very serviceable, but no elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles setravellers, Jul 5, 2016 | Read review
“All great rooms”
 of 5 bubbles C557INrobertj, Aug 7, 2015 | Read review
“The shared rooms were nice!”
 of 5 bubbles 895boh, May 17, 2015 | Read review
“If you are a couple splash out on the private on suite, it is a very nice room”
 of 5 bubbles joesU1239VU, Jan 13, 2015 | Read review
“Get the private!”
 of 5 bubbles Jessica_travels2014, Aug 10, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question