We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amba Estate Farmstay

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (278)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#3 of 50 B&Bs in Ella
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.9
Amba Estate is a working organic farm in the Uva Highlands of Sri Lanka. The farm is approximately 30 minutes drive from Ella, perched in a small valley above the Ravana-Ella Waterfalls, with views of Ella Rock and Lipton Seat. We produce a range of artisanal teas, coffees, spices and preserves, and we work with the local community to support a variety of educational, economic and environmental initiatives. The old estate farmhouse, the original estate line-rooms (tea-workers’ quarters) and 2 neighbouring bungalows are now operated as a full-service guest-house, offering guests the opportunity to learn more about organic farming and artisanal tea-making, and enjoy our little corner of paradise. Built 100 years ago by one of the first local families to develop their own tea estate, the bungalow has 4 double guest bedrooms, as well as a small study, where we can set up 2 extra single beds. There are two shared bathrooms. The line-rooms have 3 double or twin rooms, each with ensuite bathrooms. Clove Tree House, a 1930s planter’s bungalow about 200 metres from the Amba farmhouse, has 1 family suite, 1 double room and 1 twin room, all with ensuite bathrooms. Clove Tree Cottage, a newer annex to Clove Tree House, has 1 family suite and 1 triple room, both with ensuite bathrooms. All the houses have their own kitchens, living and dining areas, and spectacular views across the valley. For larger groups looking for the ideal place for a group retreat, we can also make arrangements with a couple of nearby guesthouses - offering up to 25 rooms in total. Meals are eaten together, and food is mainly vegetarian, using as much of our own organic produce as possible (including of course our famous Amba tea and coffee!). We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner every day, and can also prepare picnics for excursions. Guests can also enjoy snacks throughout the day at the newly-opened Amba café. We are not licenced, but guests are welcome to bring their own beer, wine and spirits. We recommend staying at least 2 nights so that you have time to enjoy the excellent hikes and stunning sunsets and sunrises in the valley. There are a variety of hiking trails in and around the valley, including gentle walks around the estate and more strenuous climbs - up Ella Rock or St Catherine's Mount, or down to the secret pools atop the waterfall or through our own mini forest reserve. The valley is home to a wide variety of birdlife and wildlife, including deer, wild boar, mongoose, porcupine, peacocks, kingfishers and much more. We also have several bikes, binoculars, badminton, boules, and a big selection of books and board-games that guests are free to use. If you want to explore, there are number of lovely spots just a short drive away: spectacular views at Lipton Seat and Pilkington Point, the monolithic Buddha statues at Buduruwagala, and the wild elephant pools at the top of Diyaluma Falls. Arugam Bay, Yala and Udawalawe National Parks, Nuwara Eliya and Horton Plains are all within 2-3 hours drive. Please note: we also offer public tours of our organic farm and our artisanal tea and coffee production every day at 11am. The tour itself is free, and you can also do an optional tasting after the tour for Rs.600 per person.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool / beach towels
Yoga room
Free breakfast
Badminton
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Indoor play area for children
Swimming pool toys
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Game room
Hiking
Patio
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Interconnected rooms available
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Sinhala and 1 more
270Reviews14Q+A36Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 243
  • 21
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
MiaBokmark wrote a review Feb 2024
Gothenburg, Sweden21 contributions1 helpful vote
First impressions last! After a warm and friendly welcome we entered our spacious and comfortable room. Big beds and a wonderful view over the mountains. Dinner was served on the time of our choice and what a dinner! Tasty Sri Lankan 3 course meal! When finally rounding off we went to sleep to the sounds of peacocks.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Road to the estate is narrow so cars can barely fit. Take a tuk tuk
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
NicolaD wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions2 helpful votes
We absolutely loved our stay at AMBA - we stayed in Clove Tree Cottage which was perfect for a family of 4 - highlights included swimming in the natural pools, numerous beautiful walks and views (with incredibly helpful maps/routes), the FOOD, the brilliant tea tour & tasting and the dogs (kids highlight!). Overall, the story, vibe and ethos of AMBA is very special, with an incredibly warm and welcoming team. Also recommend a tuktuk into Ella to enjoy the sights - but you'll be happy to get back to the peace of AMBA. Highly recommend :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SIMON BELL, Owner at Amba Estate Farmstay
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Nicola, thank you so much for the lovely review. It was a real pleasure to welcome you and the family. You said it all: we try to be true to our mission to maximise impact on the local community, and I think that comes across in the genuine enthusiasm and warmth of the whole team - from the food to the service to the tea tour, and even the dogs and cats! Please do come and visit again, and please tell all fiends and family. Thanks again from the whole team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
glennys wrote a review Jan 2024
Worthing, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Wow what an excellent place to stay. The accommodation, the food the service.Really good. The location is away from everything and so relaxing. So much of the food is totally home made the jams and chutney.All so tasty. The tea tasting is an eye opener.I don't take milk or sugar now I'm a tea convert. The history of the local tea was very interesting too . Definitely a lovely place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SIMON BELL, Owner at Amba Estate Farmstay
Responded Jan 25, 2024
Thank you for the lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay - and excited that we have one more milk-less tea convert 😁. Please do come and visit again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mikhailk784 wrote a review Jan 2024
Tallinn, Estonia8 contributions
We stayed at AMBA Estate for 2 nights and this was one of the top experiences we had on the island and certainly the best place we visited inland. Such nice people, such nice surroundings, wild nature, good tea and superb home-style made food. Yes, it is not a 5-star hotel, but the people and atmosphere will pay back for any small inconveniences at the estate. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Make sure to walk around in the jungle and go tea-tasting at the estate cafeteria
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SIMON BELL, Owner at Amba Estate Farmstay
Responded Jan 15, 2024
Dear Mikhail, thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed the meals, the tea-experience and all the activities around AMBA. We do hope you and the family will get an opportunity to visit again. Thanks again, Simon and the AMBA team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rena wrote a review Jan 2024
Japan2 contributions
+1
In the morning, I woke up to the sound of birds singing. The staff is very friendly, even the cat and dogs! If you want to enjoy delicious meal with vegetables grown in the farm and hiking in beautiful scenery, AMBA estate is the perfect place in SriLanka!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SIMON BELL, Owner at Amba Estate Farmstay
Responded Jan 10, 2024
Thank you so much for the lovely review and comments! We are incredibly lucky to be located in such an unspoiled valley and supported by such a committed team and friendly community. We do hope you will get an opportunity to visit again. And please tell all friends and family to come and experience AMBA!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
seema60 wrote a review Jan 2024
Toronto, Canada947 contributions345 helpful votes
I was taken to this organic farm and given a detailed tour of the tea estate and a history of tea as well as tea tasting. It was all very well done. I learned a lot about the history of tea and tea plantations in Sri Lanka. It was disturbing to hear how the Indian labour were brought to the island by the British and basically continue to be exploited by the big factories. This estate is run like a co operative which was heartening. I also enjoyed a tasty lunch at the end of the tour.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SIMON BELL, Owner at Amba Estate Farmstay
Responded Jan 5, 2024
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We do try to make our farm tour and tea tasting a little different from the standard factory tours, so it is great to get your positive feedback. We do hope you get to visit again, and hopefully you get the option to stay with us next time, so you get the full AMBA experience. Thanks again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
travel7979 wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom128 contributions135 helpful votes
Sanka made the most delicious meals. From vade to okra to dhal everything was amazing. Did a cooking lesson with him which was fun. Sanka is also the hiking guide. It was great doing the Nine Arches hike and seeing the Odyssey train. Eagle rock hike which we did on our uwn was also good. The passionfruit and papaya jam with the homemade bread was yummy. Definitely the best "hotel" food in Sri Lanka. I wish I could get the okra recipe from Sanka. I don't think he understood me when I asked him for it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ashalina wrote a review Oct 2023
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom40 contributions60 helpful votes
We stayed at Amba for three nights during October half term. It’s a special place a 40 min tuk tuk ride from Ella. Pros -Louise gave us such a warm welcome and was a wonderful and personal host. She really enhanced our experience -The food was delicious. The rain meant we stayed in Amba for most of our time which meant we had most of our meals there. Breakfast was always fruit, curd and treacle, freshly baked bread with homemade jams plus some type of egg dish (pancakes/hoppers/egg of your choice). Dinner was always traditional Sri Lankan curries and rice which were scrumptious. My kids don’t like spice so the kitchen staff were happy to make them something separate which we were grateful for -the setting is stunning. Incredible views and wonderful walking options to explore -we stayed in the cottage which was very comfortable and the kids had separate double beds - a first for this trip -the complimentary tea plantation tour was fascinating. We learned a lot and the tea tasting was fun -I love the concept of Amba - revenue share for staff/tea pickers are known artisan crafters as they are involved in the process/creating local employment/etc -the shop is fabulous and only contains locally made produce. If not from Amba, then locally made crafts from women in the village -the resident animals were a big hit amongst my kids. They are all adorable! Cons -the leeches are a big problem and sadly really tainted our stay. It was rainy season and they were everywhere. We were provided with locally made leech socks which were a great help but all my family apart from me were bitten in the time between taking off the socks and hot footing it to the safety of our bedroom. My husband and I did one of the recommended walks and came back with our leech socks and trainers teeming with leeches. Amba has lots of bottles of spray around which fends them off but it was a constant thought. The Amba team replaced the leech so is whenever we asked but it might be an idea to provide each room with a stack of pairs so we don’t have to keep asking when it’s so muddy -the team had an away day on our final day and while we were heading off straight after breakfast we still felt a little abandoned! There were still two staff members to give us our breakfast but unfortunately they didn’t speak much English which meant that a couple of breakfast questions/requests weren’t able to be dealt with
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SIMON BELL, Owner at Amba Estate Farmstay
Responded Oct 25, 2023
Thank you so much for your lovely and thorough review. But I am very sorry that the excessive numbers of leeches rather spoiled your ability to enjoy the hikes and views. I am afraid leeches are a constant anywhere in the hills when it is rainy season - and our monsoon has been particularly heavy for the last month, due to El Niño. In normal years, we never see the leeches during our dry seasons (May-September and December-February), and even in the rainy seasons (Oct-Nov and March-April), we salt-spray the most popular paths around the valley, so they are usually manageable (particularly with the added protection of leech socks and spray!). But I am afraid the rain has been so incessant for the last couple of weeks that even the salt-spray has not helped. I agree with your suggestion that we need to have a pile of socks on hand in each guest-room, when the weather is like this - we will start doing so immediately. And apologies that your breakfast on the last morning was not quite up-to-scratch. As you mentioned, most of the team were heading out over the weekend for our annual outing, which we try to book during the quieter times of year; but we should have made sure that the back-up team were fully prepared! Apologies again for the "leech-a-lanche", and we will do our best to keep them at bay during the rest of the wet-season; and I do hope you will get an opportunity to visit again one year, during one of the drier seasons 🫤.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
emily a wrote a review Oct 2023
London, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We did the tea tasting tour and had an amazing lunch on our route to leaving Ella. Our host of our homestay recommended that we visit AMBA estate and we were blown away by the informative tour and the amazing work that is taking place at AMBA. The tour and tea tasting is circa 2 dollars per person, there is an option to purchase items at the end made in AMBA or the surrounding villages, I must stress there was no pressure to buy anything which was really refreshing. After tasting the delicious tea and having already sampled some of the tasty jams/spreads at our homestay we decided to hang on for lunch which was all freshly prepared and very tasty! Cannot recommend AMBA enough - a must visit!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SIMON BELL, Owner at Amba Estate Farmstay
Responded Oct 6, 2023
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the tour and tasting, and the lunch in the AMBA Cafe. Please do tell and friends and family to come and visit when they are in the Ella area. Thanks again, from Simon and the AMBA team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fearless53021766245 wrote a review Sep 2023
5 contributions
I had a 2 night stay at Amba Estate as part of a G Adventures tour and it was amazing place. The rooms at the homestay were really comfortable and had everything you would need. The estate is beautiful and has a number of trails you can follow and they are also able to help organise excursions. The best thing about Amba Estate is the staff, they were all amazing and couldn't do enough, I was made to feel so comfortable there that it was more like being a part of the family. The food was delicious and there was soooo much of it. Would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SIMON BELL, Owner at Amba Estate Farmstay
Responded Sep 27, 2023
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are incredibly lucky to be located in such an idyllic spot and supported by such a dedicated team and community. Please do come and visit again, and please tell all friends and family to come and enjoy our little corner of paradise!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ella area.
LOCATION
Sri LankaUva ProvinceElla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AMBA ESTATE FARMSTAY - Updated 2024 Prices & B&B Reviews (Ella, Sri Lanka)

Frequently Asked Questions about Amba Estate Farmstay
Which popular attractions are close to Amba Estate Farmstay?
Nearby attractions include Honey Bee Garden (2.7 miles), R. M. S Antique And Brassware (3.0 miles), and A Lanka Tours (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Amba Estate Farmstay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Amba Estate Farmstay?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Amba Estate Farmstay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Amba Estate Farmstay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Chill, Cafe One Love, and The Barn by Starbeans.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Amba Estate Farmstay?
Yes, guests have access to a yoga room during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Amba Estate Farmstay?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Amba Estate Farmstay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Tamil, and Sinhala.
Are there any historical sites close to Amba Estate Farmstay?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fun Drive Ella (2.8 miles) and Ella tuk tuk (3.6 miles).
Does Amba Estate Farmstay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.