We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Waterfall Rd, Ella 90090 Sri Lanka
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book direct & save 18% booking fee
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$136
StayForLong
eDreams$136
Vio.com$136
Agoda.com$136
Etrip
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (423)
Room & Suite (59)
Videos (2)

About

#15 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Zion View Ella Green Retreat offer you one of the most beautiful view ,location,tasty breakfast ,service, pool,Yoga and spa haven of holistic wellness in the hills. Our Team at Zion View look forward to welcoming you to our family friendly bed & breakfast accommodation in Sri Lanka's beautiful hill country .This charming place offers clean and comfortable accommodation with a view which you will never forget of Ella Gap. You will receive a warm welcome and outstanding hospitality from our Team who well understand the needs of overseas travellers in Sri Lanka. We pride ourselves on offering some of the best Sri Lankan food you will find on your trip. Whether you are travelling alone, with a loved one, family or friends, Zion View will endeavour to meet your needs and requirements, making your stay in Ella something that will stay with you, long after you leave Sri Lanka.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Yoga classes
Coffee shop
Hiking
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Taxi service
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, German
Hotel links
Special Price:Book direct & save 18% booking fee
871Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 506
  • 231
  • 83
  • 31
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rebecca W wrote a review Nov 2022
Exeter, United Kingdom12 contributions6 helpful votes
We arrived late at Zion View due to the train breaking down. The night watchman ended up having to get the staff out of bed to check us in. Despite being dragged from their beds they were nothing but kind and helpful. Seeing our trauma of being stuck on a train for 11hrs with little food or water they offered us sandwiches and tea which was well received. Throughout our stay the staff were amazing. Always taking the time to help with any queries or questions. Or to arrange massages/transport. Their English was fantastic. The hotel room had amazing views through Ella’s gap. Absolutely stunning. The hotel was located just off the main strip of restaurants and a pleasant walk to nine arch bridge and little Adam’s peak . The hotel is located a few minutes walk up a steep hill. I normally opted for a Tuk Tuk back up the hill (less than £1) but i did walk it a few times. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. The mosquito nets were appreciated after being bitten in previous hotels. Always warm water for showers. No AC as previous reviewers have said but we didn’t find it was needed as the temperature drops so much in Ella overnight. We were always well fed at breakfast and received good service across our 3 night stay. I booked direct with the hotel and paid when we got there which worked well
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Wouldn’t be ideal for someone with mobility issues as it has lots of steps.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sena Hewage, Owner at Zion View Ella Green Rereat
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Rebecca,, We really appreciate that you've taken time to shearing your experience .🙂See you again! Zion View Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert L wrote a review Aug 2022
6 contributions
+1
Property's Favorite Review
We stayed with a family of 5 in the absolutely top and spacious apoartement with great view. All hotel staff is most friendly, food is excellent and just everything rated top. Thanks to the hotel team for a unforgettable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sena Hewage, Owner at Zion View Ella Green Rereat
Responded Sep 12, 2022
Dear Guest, We really appreciate that you've taken time to shearing your experience . See you again! Thank you! Zion View Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
quilliama wrote a review Nov 2022
Montreal, Canada111 contributions61 helpful votes
Wonderful place, friendly and super helpful staff, well located near everything in town. Nice comfortable rooms, amazing view. Walking distance to 9 arch bridge. Would definitely return and recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sena Hewage, Owner at Zion View Ella Green Rereat
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We really appreciate that you've taken time to shearing your experience .🙂See you again! Zion View Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isabelle A wrote a review Oct 2022
4 contributions
We loved our stay at Zion view guest house! Incredible views, lovely staff that went out of their way to make us feel at home, delicious food and a wonderful massage and yoga. We booked directly through their website which was very easy and cheaper than using booking.com or other sites. Would definitley recommend this as a place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sena Hewage, Owner at Zion View Ella Green Rereat
Responded Oct 28, 2022
Dear Isabelle,, We really appreciate that you've taken time to shearing your experience . See you again! Thank you! Zion View Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathan A wrote a review Sep 2022
Singapore, Singapore40 contributions58 helpful votes
We spent one night in this nice hotel. Since Sri Lanka is overly expensive, this hotel was a nice surprise. It is moderately priced with nice rooms and amazing view. You neex a tuk tuk to reach the hotel but the hotel can arrange one for you at no cost. Breakfast was great with an egg hopper option. The rooms are small but sufficient and clean. They however, don't have air conditioning so I would avoid when really hot. In addition, the Wifi didn't work in the upper rooms. This can be challenging if you require constant Internet connection. Otherwise for the price we paid it is a good deal and I woulkd go back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sena Hewage, Owner at Zion View Ella Green Rereat
Responded Sep 25, 2022
Dear Guest, We really appreciate that you've taken time to shearing your experience .🙂 All the year around Ella is getting cooler at night .no air condition needed .Regarding WIFI will do arrange better connection for future guest. Thank you & See you again! Zion View Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
evastrid wrote a review Aug 2022
London6 contributions5 helpful votes
This is hotel is a real gem. The pictures do not do it justice. It is without doubt one of the most incredible views in the world. The hotel itself is super cute and well laid out, with every single room enjoying a fantastic view from a great balcony. The staff are so helpful and lovely, helping on every step from great trekking directions to train tickets and local advice. They are so nice and Argentinian. The yoga is also such high quality with special attention and focus on alignment and adjustments. The pool area is so cute and beautiful and so nice nice after the walks. Zion is one of the best places we stayed in Sri Lanka and simply an incredible place to stay. Highly recommended! Word to the wise - definitely have the breakfast hoppers!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Be mindful of potential sudden rain in the afternoon!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sena Hewage, Owner at Zion View Ella Green Rereat
Responded Sep 12, 2022
Dear Guest, We really appreciate that you've taken time to shearing your experience . See you again! Thank you! Zion View Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kowshelan Pushpanathan wrote a review Jun 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka9 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi sorry for this review and it’s my personal opinion I don’t like to spoil his business..! Since this hotel made my stay worst in my entire life I have been alots of hotels in Sri Lanka and Aborad..! No one asked me to get out from the hotel but this hotel owner told us to do. We have checked in Sunday night and took 2 rooms to stay in ella with our friends and on Sunday night we was having some drinks inside the room and Monday we took breakfast in hotel and we extended the stay for another 2 days and paid fully..! So we left hotel around 1pm to haputale for fuel issue we went to gas line and we stayed around 6 to 7 hours in line..! So that time hotel owner spoke to me and said that he didn’t like we staying in the hotel and he don’t like local staying in his hotel because we are misusing the hotel and one of his foreign guest have complained that we made noise so he asked us to checkout around 2.30 pm somewhere..! So I told him I was in fuel line I couldn’t do now it self I need time to pump the fuel then only I can come so please bear with me so I will move out without making any issue so he also genuine told will refund the money..! As I trusted his word and I anyhow pumped fuel for 10k and came back to hotel and asked for refund around 7.30 and told I wanna check out. His manager was handle me very well with good manner but hotel told me he can’t give refund he his ready to throw me out from hotel because he have that much of influences and he wants only foreign guest not local because they don’t know to behave properly. But I really like that hotel and there is a way to treat every human since I paid upfront 120k for two stays. And finally I told it’s not a good way to treat me and you didn’t give me a deadline you just called and informed me properly and when I came back you saying you have hotel rules that you can’t refund. So this is completely management mistake..! So I told I can’t check out I will stay for what I paid. And when I checked out he have informed the staff to check everything inside the room and outside the room weather I broken anything or not. I am really disappointed and not recommended for local. Thanks this is my open statement no any influence and the statement given it true.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sena Hewage, Owner at Zion View Ella Green Rereat
Responded Jun 18, 2022
Dear Guest, We are sorry for your disappointment Group of eights local guys reserved two rooms for one night. if we let them to make party until sunrise this review would be excellent one . Our phone communication before you booked the rooms .i explain you clearly the hotel situation ,That we have also other Guest You can enjoy your stay but do not make party after 11.00pm . You were totally agreed with the condition and checked in .First night party was going until sunrise . They extended the stay because they like the place .If I would know your behaviour first night I wouldn’t let you to extend the stay ,I asked you, could you please enjoy your stay not to make party after 11.00 pm.if not you should check-out will do then refund . They came back 7.30pm and asking to check-out and the refund . How can you do the check-out 7.30pm .even if you come 3-4pm I would do that we could find another Guest to the rooms. Zion View is not the this type of category . After this happen management decided not to accommodate any more group of local guys .Only friends ,couples and families are most welcome .We love the Guest who come to enjoy the place with love not to spoil the place . Thank you! Management .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joeldowland wrote a review May 2022
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates188 contributions76 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights. Amazing location with stunning views. Short walk into the main bit of the town. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms were big with mosquito nets over the beds. Only negatives were the restaurant was expensive compared with the prices in the town and Sri-Lanka in general and they advertise daily Yoga without giving a price on the boards so it appears that it is free but you get charged 2000 rupees when you check out. Reception say they tell you the price when you check in but I still think they should have the price on the boards where they advertise it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
George09 wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom62 contributions23 helpful votes
This was a wonderful place to stay, a short 5 min walk into the main town. Tuk tuks can easily get up the hill to the accommodation but it’s also not that bad a walk either. The views were amazing and enjoying them in the hammocks mad it for us! Good breakfast and really friendly staff. I read on some reviews people moaning there’s no air con, it’s not needed it gets cool in the evenings.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
R W wrote a review Apr 2022
Maidstone, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
Wonderful hotel; view, staff, food, location to local attractions, yoga and massage both excellent too. Can't recommend it enough. The rooms were simple but clean and catered for all we needed. The staff really were excellent; attentive but not overbearing and all spoke fantastic english. They really made our stay so welcoming. The location of Zion view is just perfect, away from the main street but not too far to walk for dinner or light shopping. The food at the hotel was excellent too. The massages were some of the best I have ever had and so cheap too. Offering yoga was also a really nice touch, the room was perfect for it. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable. Would totally recommend this hotel; family friendly and all we could have asked for!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get a room higher up to enjoy the view...all rooms have one but the ones on the top floor have...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$65 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
zion view hotel ella
LOCATION
Sri LankaUva ProvinceElla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ZION VIEW ELLA GREEN REREAT - Updated 2022 Prices & Guest house Reviews (Sri Lanka)

Frequently Asked Questions about Zion View Ella Green Rereat
Which popular attractions are close to Zion View Ella Green Rereat?
Nearby attractions include R. M. S Antique And Brassware (0.2 miles), Ella Spice Garden (0.2 miles), and dee tattoo studio ella (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Zion View Ella Green Rereat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Zion View Ella Green Rereat?
Top room amenities include a mosquito net, a view of the mountains, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at Zion View Ella Green Rereat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and a free welcome drink during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Zion View Ella Green Rereat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Chill, Cafe One Love, and Mandala Cafe & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Zion View Ella Green Rereat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Is Zion View Ella Green Rereat located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Ella.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Zion View Ella Green Rereat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Zion View Ella Green Rereat?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lipton’s Seat (9.6 miles).
Does Zion View Ella Green Rereat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.