We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Zion View

Show Prices
#12 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Zion View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 474: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place in the hills has gorgeous views over the valley, clean large comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms for an unbeatable price. So location, tranquil yet close to town, and ammenities and service, everything fits, be it a little on the formal side so bring your own enlightment.

Helpful?
Thank coenwessels
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Room was excellent with superb views from the balcony. Welcome drink was delicious. Food was very good, but as there were initially no other guests the atmosphere was a bit lacking, and we felt a little like we were keeping the staff up. The staff were very helpful though in organising a guide for the day and onward travel.

Helpful?
Thank Amk960
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an updated review from my last post. Trip Advisor does not give me the opportunity to post twice, so I thought it was important to update this one to let all travelers know what I experienced at this "hotel." My last review was called "Worst hotel experience, do not recommend to any!!" if anyone wants to refer back... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IsabelleRuddy
zionview, Manager at Zion View, responded to this review

Dear Guest , We are very sorry if we disappoint you. As we mention our home page ,all the booking pages about driver accommodation.and how it work , Accommodation not available in same property .We arrange driver accommodation our recommended place near by like always.Or most of the drivers happy to arrange them self ,Because they know place to stay... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Lovely rooms. Very clean place. Great staff. Delicious egg hoppers for breakfast. Best wifi we had in Sri Lanka. Amazing views overlooking the Ella mountains. 3 minute walk to the center of Ella village. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank StephenODwyer
Mancherster
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Let's start by the good things: the view on the plain and the breakfast is nice and copious. However it's quite expensive for what you get. Maybe it's the town, I am not sure. The rooms are not very clean and very noisy.

Helpful?
Thank Justin L
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2016

I stayed 2 nights in Zion View and I was favourably impressed by its friendly service, beautiful setting and delicious food. The rooms are spacious with a private balcony and wonderfully peaceful ambience. The staff were extremely helpful and were able to recommend and arrange excursions nearby. Highly recommended!!

Helpful?
Thank Ben K
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2016

Nice hotel in Ella, only few minutes away from the main road in Ella. It is located a bit more on a slope and it gives you an incredible view on Ella rock from the restaurant as well as all rooms! Each room has its own hammock on the small terrace. Staff has been very friendly and attentive. We also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
Wattala, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Plusses Definitely the view. Astonishing. Specially in sunset and sunrise. Customer service - Great. Sajith - thanks a lot for your care. Not only him. Everybody. Giant father and son dogs - adds some color to the place. But if you are really afraid of big dogs then gods may save you coz they will come and sniff you for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Veeraiah V
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

Excellent small hotel, really friendly staff and fantastic views of Ella Gap! Brilliant location close to the station and the centre of Ella with well appointed rooms and good food (albeit we only had breakfast in the hotel, but it was very enjoyable).

Helpful?
Thank Charles G
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2016 via mobile

It was my husband's bday so we splashed out on one of the more expensive mountain view rooms, and so glad we did. The views over Ella Gap are phenomenal and it would be very easy to just lie in the hammock outside the room and while away days here. I notice some people mentioned the rooms were basic. Personally... More 

Helpful?
Thank miss_dotty78
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

258 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (179)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (46)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.9 mi away
98 Acres Resort
98 Acres Resort
#1 of 11 in Ella
1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
3.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
4.6 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#2 of 62 in Ella
469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#17 of 126 in Ella
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Zion View

Address: Wemulla hena.Ella, Ella 0000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Price Range: $77 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Zion View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion View Hotel Ella
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Zion View staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Zion View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms have this gorgeous views”
 of 5 bubbles coenwessels, 3 days ago | Read review
“All rooms have great views and should ensure a comfortable stay”
 of 5 bubbles H5144SSbenk, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“For a family the three-room apartment is certainly a good choice.”
 of 5 bubbles fabrysenesi, Sep 23, 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 was at the end upstairs, but children's play area is below.”
 of 5 bubbles OliveNewZealand, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“I think the 2 top floors have all great views. All rooms have a hamock in front of them”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraOlivia2015, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay