We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kitalella, Ella 90090 Sri Lanka
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$159
eDreams$159
FindHotel$159
Agoda.com$159
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (765)
Room & Suite (297)
Dining (66)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 09/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 09/30/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 94 in Ella
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.3
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Mountain Heavens hotel in Ella has been refurbished with a concept of exclusivity for those who relish nature & adventure. Consisting of eight luxurious rooms complete with all modern amenities, the Mountain Heavens boast of the best view point over the famous “Ella Gap” in the midst of diverse vegetation.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool with view
Free breakfast
Hiking
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
855Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 402
  • 301
  • 94
  • 38
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Arnis Š wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions
The name of the hotel is true. The view from the room window gives the feeling that you are looking at all the beauty of Ella from the edge of the sky.. the Little Adams peak, Ella gap, Ella rock and waterfall is in front of You! It is really very inspiring. Rooms are big, clean. There is a large balcony and very good and large beds :) It's nice that the staff always asked how we were doing, the small technical problems were fixed immediately.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Marketing Department, Marketing at The Mountain Heavens
Responded May 21, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Mountain Heavens ! Thankyou for your review and for sharing your experience of The Mountain Heavens. We also will convey your sentiments to our staff who took care of you and made your holiday memorable. Look forward to welcoming you soon again. Best Wishes Senani Perera Manager
Read more
Gooner11 wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom12 contributions15 helpful votes
We have just returned back from our stay in Sri Lanka. The third part of our trip was to Ella where we spent 3 nights at this hotel. The hotel were very professional from the start with our requests prior to arrival. We all felt that this was the best hotel out of the 5 we stayed in because of the views and staff! The hotel is located up quite a steep hill/mountain which was a bit difficult to get to, however, it was worth the views from the top. We were greeted with fresh juice and pleasant staff. We were happy with our rooms and everything seemed to be nicely cleaned - there are a few minor maintenance issues e.g. water pressure, that the hotel could look at just to get everything fully perfect, but they were not so bad that it dramatically affected our stay. Some of our party had a leak in their room due to the heavy rainfall but the hotel staff were able to assist with this. The beds were also really comfy and the rooms were large with high ceilings. Wifi was really good and available in the rooms. The hotel is in good proximity to many tourist attractions. We were a bit disappointed that the hotel could not offer driver accommodation. If they could provide this facility in future, it would be very useful for travellers. The layout of the hotel is nice - be aware there is no lift but the porters help with taking the luggage up. The views from the lobby/reception area are breathtaking!! We loved the infinity pool! It was lovely to swim overlooking a beautiful vista! As someone who is prone to insect bites, I was pleasantly happy to not have received any whilst in Ella. We did spot a couple of small geckos in our rooms but this was becoming a regular sight in Sri Lanka so we were not too perturbed by them. The restaurant area is spacious and also has a bar and pool table, which we played every night!! The breakfast itself was lovely, with excellent choice for vegetarians. We also had dinner there for a couple of nights which again was enjoyable. A special mention to chef Rohan who was lovely to talk to whilst we were there! He was very accommodating, making us special breakfasts each morning and we really enjoyed his company! Rohan is a real credit to this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and recommend it for anyone coming to Ella!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Blondie86186338 wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom40 contributions26 helpful votes
We had a really lovely stay here earlier this month. There were some issues with the room when we arrived whereby we'd not been given the room we'd booked which was resolved quickly. The room we were allocated, however, was close to reception and though we didn't want to complain any more than we did on arrival, it was very noisy and overlooked. We could hear the noise from reception and the restaurant so had early wake ups to the sound of cutlery and plates clanging and night disturbances when people were up late drinking in the restaurant. The infinity pool is a great way to take in the beautiful views but beware - the sun is strong up there! I got very burnt despite obsessively reapplying factor 30. They also offer a very good price for laundry. The hotel is just a short walk from the small strip of restaurants and shops in Ella. I highly recommend and would definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Marketing Department, Marketing at The Mountain Heavens
Responded Apr 26, 2022
Dear Valued guest, Greetings from The Mountain Heavens ! Many thanks for your review and for your time spared to post your comments. We take note of your concerns on the fact that you had been disturbed by the noise from the restaurant. This occurrence is believably an isolated situation as our guests usually retire to rooms after dinner to spend the rest of their evenings in seclusion in their private room terraces overlooking the view which is claimed to be breath-taking even at night. We herewith sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard. However we read that you have had an enjoyable holiday with us and we thank you for your appreciative sentiments with regard to same. We look forward to your return to The Mountain Heavens soon again. Best Wishes Senani Perera Manager
Read more
namitbhalla wrote a review Apr 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates97 contributions53 helpful votes
Great hotel, just 7 mins walk from the center of the town using a secret path. The rooms have a lovely view and their infinity pool is breathtaking. The room was spacious and comfy. They don't have a fully functional restaurant when we went. If you wanted to have a meal, you needed to inform them in advance. Also if you didn't give the choice of your breakfast the previous day, you would get what they will serve you. Also the breakfast we were served was cold. We stayed 3 nights and weren't too impressed with the service at the breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Marketing Department, Marketing at The Mountain Heavens
Responded Apr 20, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Mountain Heavens ! We acknowledge with many thanks your feed back. We take note of your are concerns where the breakfast and the services in the Restaurant had not been up to your expectations. May we express our sincere apology on account of our shortcomings. We will discuss this encounter with our service staff for immediate remedial measures. It is also regretted to note that you might have probably been miscommunicated with regard to our restaurant operations although it serves all three main meals, a la Carte menu and other ' All day Favourites' which can be patronized at any time of the day. Our breakfast which offers an array of choices could be ordered as desired at your table whereas Sri Lankan breakfast orders are taken in advance as it requires pre-preparatory arrangements. We however appreciate your comments and treat them constructive enabling us to further improve our service delivery ensuring a best stay experience to our guests. Thankyou for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you soon again. Best Wishes Senani Perera Manager
Read more
Thomas E wrote a review Apr 2022
Salisbury, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
The view from the infinity pool is just amazing- see picture. Our room was very good, we had a sneaky peak in a couple of other rooms and they didn’t look as nice and so probably worth it to pay a little more. We had a spacious balcony and that view- wow. The staff are attentive and eager to please although this, in our experience, is common to pretty much every place we have visited in Sri Lanka. Some parts of the hotel are looking a little tired and need a bit of attention. The breakfasts are generally OK but if you are having lunch or dinner I would strongly recommend staying with the local cuisine. Their idea of a spaghetti bolognese and a sizzling steak are unlikely to match your expectations. That said, they couldn’t apologise enough and were eager to make amends. The Sri Lankan cuisine is very good and the fish soup was as good as any soup I have had anywhere in the world. On balance worth going and that view- enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Rens B wrote a review Apr 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Mountain Heaven Hotel… probably the most beautiful sunrise I have seen. Our room had an extremely large private terrace with a view over 2 big mountains, a waterfall and the pool. This is probably my favorite view of my 18-day trip in Sri Lanka. The rooms are good, the terrace is amazing, and the view is perfection. The location is nearby nice restaurants and activities, so the location is great!  We also used the laundry service recommended by the hotel. We had a lot of clothing, and they delivered everything on time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Dan T wrote a review Apr 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates15 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel boasts an incredible view of the valley in Ella, with Little Adam’s Peek to your left and Ravana Falls to your right. Watching the sunrise from the balcony was incredible! We stayed for two nights but we’re out for a majority of the time sightseeing. The rooms were clean and we had a huge balcony - delightful to use in the morning and have a coffee. The pool was nice to use to cool off but there are limited beds. The hotel does advise to reserve beds with reception for a specific time but we had no trouble! Views from the pool are just as good as the room! Breakfast was good, a set menu of fruit, yoghurt and then your choice of eggs accompanied by bacon and sausage. Everything was tasty and set us up for the day!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Marketing Department, Marketing at The Mountain Heavens
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Mountain Heavens Ella ! Thankyou for your review and for sharing your experience of The Mountain Heavens Ella. We are pleased to learn that you have had a delightful holiday at our hotel. Its was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Mountain Heavens soon again. Best Wishes Senani Perera Manager
Read more
icyoubaby wrote a review Mar 2022
236 contributions304 helpful votes
Positives: -Views are incredible. Absolutely stunning. -Staff were super friendly and went out of their way to look after us -Room felt very clean -Staff super helpful in organising a larger tuktuk (due to luggage) to the train station Negatives: -The pool had about 11 people in it for most of the afternoon that we were there - all of whom were staying at a different hostel down the road so not actually guests - but it meant we didn't use the pool -The bar has essentially run out of most alcohol/wine and so drinks options are very limited -There was a strange smell in the bathroom Some positives, some negatives... might try a different property next time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Or Weinstein wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
+1
Most beautiful hotel view I have ever been to in my life. This hotel is located in a perfect location overlooking the Ella Rock, Little Adam's Peak and the valley. It feels like you sleep in the sky. The infinity pool is beautiful and the view from the pool is amazing, they also have great cocktails that are served to the pool. The rooms are so comfortable and spacious, well taken care of and very very clean. The staff are amazing, the manager Senani was super friendly and came to check if everything was on point and we had a couple of good conversations, the chef Rohan also came out and spoke with us and they were really taking care of us. They offer great food in the hotel's restaurant, one of the first places who actually got a tasty western cuisine with really tasty dishes and everything was perfect. They also offer very worthy laundry service. Highly recommended, thank you so much!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Marketing Department, Marketing at The Mountain Heavens
Responded Mar 16, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Mountain Heavens ! We express our heartfelt thanks to you for sparing your time to post your appreciative comments and to share your holiday experience at The Mountain Heavens Ella. We are pleased that we have delighted you with our Food and Hospitality and of course the spectacular view that our hotel opens up to. We took great pride in sharing your compliments and your sincere thoughts especially with Chef Rohan and the rest of our dedicated staff who made your holiday memorable. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we thank you for selecting The Mountain Heavens as your venue to spend your dream holiday in Ella. We eagerly look forward to welcoming you to The Mountain Heavens soon again. Best Wishes and Regards Senani Perera Manager
Read more
Eva V wrote a review Feb 2022
Jihlava, Czech Republic24 contributions16 helpful votes
What is amazing about the hotel, is the view! Love it! You can see small Adams Peak and Ella rock from each room, you could sit for a long time and just watch the beauty of the nature around. The rooms are clean and big. The beds very comfortable. We went for dinners to Ella restaurants but breakfasts were fine.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Marketing Department, Marketing at The Mountain Heavens
Responded Mar 15, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Mountain Heavens ! Thankyou very much for your post and sharing your wonderful experience of The Mountain Heavens. We were pleased to have you staying with us. We look forward to your return soon again. Best Wishes Senani Perera Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mountain heavens hotel ella
LOCATION
Sri LankaUva ProvinceElla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Mountain Heavens
Which popular attractions are close to The Mountain Heavens?
Nearby attractions include Ella Spice Garden (0.3 miles), dee tattoo studio ella (0.3 miles), and Dream Club Ella (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Mountain Heavens?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Mountain Heavens?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Mountain Heavens?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Mountain Heavens?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Mountain Heavens?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mandala Cafe & Bar, Cafe Chill, and Cafe One Love.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Mountain Heavens?
Yes, guests have access to a pool with a view during their stay.
Is The Mountain Heavens located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Ella.
Are there any historical sites close to The Mountain Heavens?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lipton’s Seat (9.5 miles).
Does The Mountain Heavens have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.