We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Gangtarang

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Gangtarang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is non-trusted credential. High rates, bad service and behavior. Next time we will stay in another hotel and never recommend others to stay their. Hope review will help out you people to find other best options and not staying in this type of hotel

Helpful?
12 Thank gujarati574
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016

Hotel is in its ghastly condition. Staying in this hotel a very bad experience with non-supportive staff. We will never recommend any one to stay there. Hotel charged very highly. Not met good services.

Helpful?
39 Thank 66pink1234

Travelers are raving about these Haridwar hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

very bad experience. No Ganga View, only dust noise found near the hotel. Hotel is charged highly and non-cooperative behaviour. They even not refund our money as we decided to move on. Really a bad place and people

Helpful?
47 Thank Vermide
Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

Excellent location, good rooms, warm and attentive staff. The food, specially the Chinese and Indian food was really good. The hotel has an old world charm about it which other hotels lack. Rooftop restaurant too have good ambiance. Would love to go back and stay there again. Great place for couples and families to stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank vermachavi24
Aaditya V, Owner at Hotel Gangtarang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from GangTarang! Thank you for reviewing us on this forum. It is heartening to know that you had a good time here and our specialized services and facilities exceeded your expectations. Your wonderful review has been shared with our associates and they are glade and motivated. Please accept our heartfelt gratitude and thank you again for making... More 

New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

I just happened to bump into this hotel late night and it was beyond my expectations. The rooms were neat and clean and food was also good. The location is right on the Ganges next to main road where and you can sit out in your room and observe the scene that is always going on. The proprietor and staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank coolhead111
Aaditya V, Owner at Hotel Gangtarang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from GangTarang! Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff. We are very glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall. We look forward to host your stay once again and continuing to meet your expectations. Please feel free to... More 

Jaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

we booked then checked-in, hotel situated at a place where terrific is terrible, noisy, unhygenic . it took 2 hours to visit at Har ki Pauri as we stucked in d jam from the hotel. we came at night and get no food facility. Total we say its worst place for us to stay.

Helpful?
71 Thank 330vidhu
Aaditya V, Owner at Hotel Gangtarang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from GangTarang! ! Thank you for completing our survey in Trip advisor. Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards. Please be assured that I have personally examined the issue stated in your feedback with regards to food unavailability at night. May be we were not able to communicate with you in our... More 

Faridabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

We stayed in room 205. This was apparently their Executive room. Room was spacious n we had a clear view of ganges from the room window.though there was lot of dust on road coz of highway work going on. Food was good specially their Daal Tadka.

Helpful?
Thank nustar999
Moradabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2016

I had booked room 2 in Nov in this hotel through online booking. When we checked in we were offered no view room in the same rate i was looking for the person with whom i coordinated but he was no where. when we checking in Room the beds had Rat left over, when we informed the hotel service staff... More 

Helpful?
134 Thank truevisi0n
Greater Noida, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

Online Hotel Seems to be good but in actual it was hell.... no facility, bad behaviour, high cost. on highway, so it was difficult to move to other place in the night. But early morning we moved on,,,,,,

Helpful?
220 Thank FriendCool
Bareilly, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Haridwar By-Pass is the road where you can find a large number of hotels and in-house restaurants on one side of the road while on the other side is the Ganga Canal. For restaurants you should enter Haridwar from Jwalapur-end and you will find a number of good restaurants on Jwalapur Haridwar road, before you settle for small shop-cum-restaurants at... More 

Helpful?
Thank WanderingSAM555
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haridwar hotels
1.6 mi away
Ganges Rivera
Ganges Rivera
#16 of 81 in Haridwar
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa Hotel
La Casa Hotel
#9 of 81 in Haridwar
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpana Hotel
Alpana Hotel
#37 of 81 in Haridwar
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aditya
Hotel Aditya
#21 of 81 in Haridwar
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#22 of 81 in Haridwar
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aastha Palace
Hotel Aastha Palace
#30 of 81 in Haridwar
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at a prime location in the holy city of Hardwar, Hotel Gangtarang proudly stands overlooking the mighty Ganga River and the temple yards of Hardwar. We invite you to come to a place where silence is golden, allowing one to hear themselves think, and where the air is always fresh. The feel cannot be matched by anything but stay at Hotel Gangtarang. Complete with all the modern amenities to suit your traveling needs, the location also makes every other corner of the city accessible. It is situated 2.8Km from the famous Har-ki-Pauri and 20 Minutes drive to Rishikesh.Hotel Gangtarang is one of the finest and most reasonable hotels in Haridwar. The hotel is famous in offering the warmth of genuine Indian hospitality mingled with modern amenities and user friendly environment. The interiors of the hotel are marvelous, spreading the essence of complete relaxation to the visitors. To sum up, Hotel Gangtarang is a wonderful refuge to experience luxury. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Gangtarang

Address: Delhi-Haridwar Road, NH-58 | Singh Dwar, Haridwar 249404, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Haridwar
Price Range: $30 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gangtarang 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, ETB and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gangtarang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay