We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Paje by Night Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Paje by Night Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 10 nights in this hotel for our annual holiday, which is the only time of the year we can relax and enjoy life without stress.... Unfortunately, we have had too many bad experiences that we will partly relate in this comment. We slept in a bungalow and although the room was supposedly cleaned everyday it was done very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline A
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

I've read a lot of reviews making reference to the kite community. This makes sense; we're not "kiters" and we met some amazing people staying at the hotel who would greet everyone as well engage, if you wanted to. The place definitely has soul and the team working there are fantastic. The place is the social hub for the Paje... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WalterCPT
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

We went to Paje for the day and had lunch here. They do not have beachfront, but we loved the unique pool and outdoor area. I would recommend drinks and probably party at night time, but it was not the best food.

Helpful?
Thank anchen_pieter
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

In a third world country i wouldn't expect super luxury but I do believe one can expect cleanliness for 130 Euros per night. I Booked Paje by night due to all the positive tripadvisor reviews and sadly due to the lack of pictures. Had someone taken the time to take honest pictures of the restart and especially the rooms and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank toniboni
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

Well, if you kite and focus more on nature, ambience and socializing, then this place is great! The fact that hotel is not exactly on the beach is even an advantage on windy nights - and it's windy there during the season (this is what i came for :D). And it's located at the very kiteboarding area. Hotel itself is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Olga_M_1412
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

My friend and I had 4 nights in a concept room with aircondition at Paje By Night. It is not a luxury hotel, but it has everything we needed.The place is perfect if you want to meet other young people and the staff was very friendly. Location is also very good - very close to the popular cafe Mr. Kahawa.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Inger P
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Never, ever ever again. This place was so disappointing, especially for 90USD a night, even for residents.. Booked for one night with friends coming to visit us in TZ, on arrival we asked if it was possible to stay for 2 nights. Stupidly we didn't look at the rooms first as the website shows nice pictures, etc. etc. The management... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mathieu L
pajebynightzanzibar, Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry for your terrible experience… but I believe we have discussed it all at once, and your friend has already posted almost exact same post… a bit redundant if you ask me… But each to their own… We have no excuses for cockroach etc. as I have already explained more than once, we should have been more... More 

Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

90 USD for the worst hotel room that I have ever seen. Dirty old mattress and pillows. Bathroom that gets flooded every time you take a shower. Floating cockroaches in that flooded bathroom. Toilet that has not been cleaned in the last year. The room was hot like an oven and full of mosquitoes (even though an employee came at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Noe2014
pajebynightzanzibar, Manager at Paje by Night Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Noe2014 Although this was not a desirable experience for any party involved of course we try to make our guests happy… A lot of what you state was never mentioned to us at the time, so how to fix a problem if we do not know it exists… maybe it is not true. Yes for sure we make mistakes... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

There is not enough words to describe the beauty of this place. It not only the hotel but the location, the people, the weather, the energy, etc. The bungalows are simple, comfortable, very clean and they are filled with the "African Touch". There is no need to go anywhere else to enjoy local meals. The Chef will surprise you every... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrGV79
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2016

the rooms are really nice and the staff are friendly. location is very close to the beach (not beach front but one minute walk). common area fun to hang around - lots of sofas, hammocks, tanning bed, lovely pool. i think the price is a bit too much but i think that's the price level in paje. would recommend to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gal V
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

315 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (201)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
2:31
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (114)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paje
0.4 mi away
Dhow Inn
Dhow Inn
#4 of 8 in Paje
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 12 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hakuna Majiwe Beach Lodge
0.6 mi away
Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Paje By Night Hotel is simply different to all the others, from unique decorations, to our way to relate with our guests. Definitely not a place for everybody but very special for lots of travellers. We want to offer emotions, make you feel in holiday even just turning the lights on and off using our switches turning on the beautiful golden lights vintage bulbs ... more   less 

Additional Information about Paje by Night Hotel

Address: Paje by Night Street, Paje, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Paje
Price Range: $63 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paje by Night Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Paje by Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paje By Night Hotel Zanzibar Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay