We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar

Save
Share
Paje Tanzania
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$124
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/21/22
Expedia.com
$132
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/21/22
Trip.com
$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/22/22
Travelocity$132
Priceline$131
ZenHotels.com$145
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (274)
Pool & Beach (68)
Room & Suite (31)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 24 in Paje
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
Located at a 1-minute-walk from the Zanzibar's hotspot beach of Paje, Dhow Inn (4*) provides the perfect scenario for a chilled stay in one of our 44 new, comfortable and full equipped rooms. The hotel has 4 pools, one of them 25 meters long, to enjoy a cozy day at the hotel. And to make your stay even more perfect we offer a wellness service with the best quality.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Massage
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Taxi service
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Private beach
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Room types
Pool view
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Polish

Location

Full view
68Somewhat walkable
Grade: 68 out of 100
23Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
286Reviews16Q+A26Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 145
  • 88
  • 22
  • 24
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Valentina G wrote a review Feb 2022
Muscat, Oman8 contributions4 helpful votes
Came here for our baby moon. We are still here. The hotel itself looks ok, there are several pools you can use and it’s 2 min walk to the beach. It looks well maintained in the common areas. Rooms need some improvement or cleaning of walls and bed frames. But we were not happy with: 1. The food: unfortunately everything tasted like it was mixed with water to make more. The breakfast is very basic, everyday the same things and the ingredients used are not the best quality. Honey tasted like it was mixed with water, same for everything else. Even the fruit salad was not tasty (compared to the amazing fruit you get on the beach). During the dinners the soups were again super watery, small portions, and even the ice cream did not taste good 😵‍💫. Juices and wine also were not good. I recommend you book the option without lunch and dinner so you can eat great food on the beach in the other hotels or restaurants. 2. Everyday they forgot to bring or pool towels, or shower gel, or shampoo and it took several calls for them to bring them.It took like 3 hours for them to bring us 2 towels. 3. If you booked half board they only give you room water bottles the first night. That’s it. 4. Wifi sucks, sometimes it works near the pool area. Inside the rooms it doesn’t work, at all. They said it’s something to do with iPhones.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dhow Inn, Guest Services / Front Office at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar
Responded Mar 1, 2022
Dear guests, thank you for your feedback. 1. We are sorry to hear you are disappointed with our food, we have 2 restaurants offering a variety of fresh food options. We rarely receive complaints about our varied breakfast buffet where we offer a mixture of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, eggs, pancakes, fresh bread, pastries, cooked breakfast options (beans, sausages, spinach, potatoes) and more. Please let us know what more options you would have preferred. 2. Our housekeepers work hard to ensure our hotel and guest rooms are kept clean and tidy everyday. Shower items in the room are replaced once empty and you can always call reception anytime to request more items. We apologise if some days you had to wait a short time to receive a new towel, but with almost 100 guests in house you can understand our busy house-keeping team try their very hardest to bring you these items asap. 3. Correct, the half board package does not include any drinks. We kindly provide complimentary bottles of water for all guests upon arrival. 4. We are lucky to have very good wifi connection within the hotel, hence why we offer a co-working space. 90% of our guests have no issues connecting to the wifi, but as explained to you, there are security settings within certain Apple Iphones which prevent a strong connection in certain areas of the hotel. We recommend you purchase a local SIM card with some data if you require internet connection 24/7 whilst on your baby moon. If you have any other comments you want to discuss don't hesitate to reach out at reception. Otherwise we hope you enjoy the rest of your stay. Kind regards, Dhow Inn Management
Read more
Alina wrote a review Feb 2022
Cluj-Napoca, Romania145 contributions66 helpful votes
Very nice hotel in Paje, a great choice for families. Large, clean and well equiped rooms, friendly staff always read to help and tasty food. The property is large, with 4 pools in different areas, so you’ll always find a quiet place to relax, but also a proper place for the kids to enjoy their time. Located right next to Paje beach, you have lots of nearby restaurants, but also kite surfing facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Dhow Inn, Guest Services / Front Office at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar
Responded Feb 28, 2022
Hi Alina, thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a positive review. We are glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay and we welcome you back anytime. Kind regards, Dhow Inn Management
Read more
Isidoro R wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
My family and I spent two weeks at this hotel in February.The trip from the airport to the hotel is just over one hour. We all had an amazing holiday at this hotel. It exceeded my expectations by far. Arriving at the hotel we got our rooms immediately. Accommodation is very good and rooms kept clean. The food is beyond excellent with a great variety. The beach, sea, and pool are great. Lots of amenities and entertainment to keep you busy if you choose to or you can just relax. The staff is always helpful and very friendly. The waiters are very accommodating and the service cannot be faulted. The extensive security around the hotel is nice to have. What I also liked about this hotel is the fact that there was a private beach just for guests with a bar. What is great is that one feels like the hotel does not skimp on anything. I highly recommend staying at this hotel as we all had an amazing holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Get the connecting rooms for a family.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dhow Inn, Guest Services / Front Office at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar
Responded Feb 23, 2022
Hi Isidoro, thank you so much for such a fantastic review of our hotel! We are delighted to hear you had such a good stay with us and we really appreciate all your positive comments about our hotel facilities, food and staff. You and your family are welcome back anytime :)
Read more
Darren M wrote a review Feb 2022
London, United Kingdom289 contributions75 helpful votes
+1
We did our research before coming here and we were super pleased we chose here between 4 or 5 others in Zanzibar. From before setting off I had questions that were answered quickly by Jenipher. On arrival we were picked up and driven by Ibrahim (who took us back too) and was full of cheer and conversation. On arrive to the hotel we met Jenipher who was smiley and gave us a warm welcome with a juice drink! We then met one of the managers Mary who was equally as charming and guided us through check in and our room and facilities. We had room 404 which was a pool view room (over the long pool in the picture!) And I can say its just as good as it looks. Room was clean, and shower and toilet is separate. You have everything you need in the room and as the hotel is small, nothing is far or an issue for the staff. As many other reviews say, most of the staff are excellent and very attentive. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Abdallah, Hellen and Simon were absolutely brilliant with their customer service and speed. The bar and restaurant works on "holiday time" so order a drink or food about 20 to 30 minutes before you actually want it. We actually picked this hotel for their massages and actually we were not let down. Linta and Esther have a great deal there and offer various massages of which my wife and I tried most. Very talented and would highly recommend a massage from either. We didn't get to try the kite surfing but it looked good. The food...well the lunches are the best part for us. Great choices of West and local (fish curry was tasty!) Pizza good too! All of our lunches hit the spot ! The food is acceptable for breakfast and dinner, but nothing astonishing (especially the buffets could have been more inspirational) but the Al a carte (if there are less ppl in the hotel) is nice to pick from. We were all inclusive so didn't have the worry or hassel but would expect a little more inspiration for evening buffets. The beach and private area is nice too to chill out in, but indeed the walk from the hotel to the beach although short isn't pretty. On check out Mary again was exceptionally helpful as was Restitute in reception. I can't speak highly enough of the staff I'd mentioned and they really did their best to make our holiday as stress free and relaxing as possible. Overall we would highly recommend the dhow inn, it's a reasonable price and the all inclusive is worth it. We stayed from the 1st Feb to 7th Feb.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dhow Inn, Guest Services / Front Office at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar
Responded Feb 8, 2022
Dear Darren, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a positive review! It was honestly our pleasure to host you both and we would love to see you back again in the future. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed members of our team and we will certainly pass these comments on to them to make their day! We appreciate your feedback about the evening buffet menu as well as breakfast and will pass these comments on to our head chef. We are aware that the walk from the hotel to the beach has it's downfalls but unfortunately it is difficult for us to improve this right now because the land doesn't belong to us. But we are glad you enjoyed chilling at our private beach area :) Thanks again, wishing you a pleasant journey onwards and we hope you eventually get home safe. All the best, Mary
Read more
Sergio wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
I spent 3 days - 2 nights, half board. Great Rooms and great services, highly recommended. I've stayed at this hotel quite a few times. The food buffet is awesome! The Japanese restaurant food is fantastic, though, be patient, is a bit too slow to serve. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The hotel is well secured by several guards and provide a safe box in the rooms
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dhow Inn, Guest Services / Front Office at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar
Responded Jan 26, 2022
Dear Sergio, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We are happy to hear you choose to come back many times to Dhow Inn :) We are glad you like the buffet and sushi! At times, when our very popular sushi restaurant is busy our 2 sushi chefs work their very best to keep order times as fast as possible whilst maintaining the highest of quality, but we always warn guests of a slightly longer waiting time for sushi. We welcome you back anytime and wish you all the best! Kind regards, Mary
Read more
Emma N wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We have just returned to the uk from a wonderful 8 night stay in the Dhow inn. We are a family with a 12 and 14 year old and stayed in pool view rooms (adjoining) . From the moment we arrived we were greeted with big welcoming smiles and an eagerness to make our stay perfect. The hotel was only about 25% occupied when we arrived, so there were always lots of staff around to help when whatever we needed and with 4 swimming pools we nearly always had one to ourselves! We stayed half board, which included a great breakfast buffet (when guest numbers were higher) and a 4 course a la carte evening meal. No drinks were included, but it was easy to get bottled water etc at any time. If we went again I'd probably go full board as we never made it anywhere else for lunch, and there was even waiter service on the beach. We primarily went to kitesurf, but the weather was unseasonably hot and the promised winds never arrived, so instead we submitted to the relaxed atmosphere. We went on one hotel organised excursion to Chumbe Island, an amazing echo-tourism venture with a great coral reef provifing some of the best snorkelling on zanzibar. One word of caution in these covid times, I would not have considered going unvaccinated. Zanzibar is a largely unvaccinated population and the only covid testing being carried out is on tourists to allow them to travel. The hotel were very helpful with this side of things and it is possible to arrange covid testers to come directly to the hotel. All in all we had a very enjoyable, relaxing Christmas holiday in a beautiful tropical environment and would be very lucky to make it back there someday. Especially if the winds blew!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dhow Inn, Atención al cliente/recepción at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar
Responded Jan 9, 2022
Dear Emman, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. It was unfortunate that the wind was not as ideal as it usually is around this area. However, the whole team is delighted that you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and took home some wonderful memories of Zanzibar. We were very happy to welcome you and would love to see you back here someday. Our warmest regards, Mary.
Read more
Dan wrote a review Dec 2021
Popesti Leordeni, Romania12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Perfect hotel with staff well prepared. Delicious food and the cleaning service was excellent. Very good quality for the price (we had half board included and they served 3 courses for dinner). The only thing they need to improve is the little part 10 meters between the hotel and their private beach.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from AOM Dhow Inn, Guest Services / Front Office at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar
Responded Dec 11, 2021
Hi Dan, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review! The area of land between the hotel and our private beach is something we are aware of and are working to improve. It was our absolute pleasure to host you and we would happily welcome you back again in the future :)
Read more
Gipsystraveleverywhe wrote a review Nov 2021
35 contributions8 helpful votes
Well, we were not staying in the hotel but came EVERY SINGLE days for many weeks on the sun beds on the beach. We were always buying drinks. The man in charge at the beach was like our friend because seeing us every day. But he started to keep the change for him everytime we were paying him. This is not correct. If the customer says “you can keep it at a tip” yes. Otherwise you can not not giving back the change. After few days like this we went to the reception asking for our change. And since, when we are coming, he is not even giving us towels. After 30min when I ask, he shows me with his finger the direction for me to take it by myself. What is that? No professional at all. He is paying to take care of customers but he is always seating on a chair and sleeping all afternoon. Great service for down inn !! I think the boss need to check this again because good customers like us will run away with this bad service. Very disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from AOM Dhow Inn, Guest Services / Front Office at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar
Responded Nov 28, 2021
Dear Gipsytraveleverywhe, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are happy that you visited every single day for many weeks to use our sunbeds on the beach and enjoy drinks from our bar. We will follow up the issues you have pointed, however we are very surprised to read the comments about our beach assistant, Ali, he is one of our most praised members of staff at Dhow Inn and our guests always comment on his excellent service. In regards to the change, our main currency used at the hotel is USD, we do accept Tanzanian shillings, but it might happen, sometimes we do not have small TSH200 coins to give as change for guests. Yet we always inform and apologise to our guests about it. Thank you for spending so much time with us and we welcome you again. Kind regards, Dhow Inn Team
Read more
MariaRosa wrote a review Nov 2021
Paje, Tanzania15 contributions2 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel and amazing food! Sushi burger is by far the BEST thing I have ever tasted! Came as a big group for dinner. Super passionate and friendly staff at the Dhow Inn and the sushi chefs are fantastic!!! Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from AOM Dhow Inn, Guest Services / Front Office at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar
Responded Nov 23, 2021
Dear Maria, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We agree, our sushi burgers are super delicious and we wish for everyone to come and try for themselves! Kind regards, Dhow Inn Team
Read more
Maciek wrote a review Nov 2021
Jambiani, Tanzania22 contributions
We went to Dhow Inn for sushi, not the first time and not the last time. It's the best sushi on the East Coast of Zanzibar! Owners are super nice and always welcome you with a smile on faces. Sushi is really good, you can feel that they are using fresh products, Definitely recommended! :)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Dhow Inn, Guest Services / Front Office at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar
Responded Nov 21, 2021
Dear Maciek, Thank you so much for such a positive review about our sushi. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon :) Kind regards, Mary
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
paje dhow hotel paje
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Dhow Inn Hotel
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandPaje
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar
Which popular attractions are close to Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar?
Nearby attractions include Hi Skybar (0.3 miles) and Maalum (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Delight Zanzibar, Luciana Restaurant, and O Kami Sushi Hotel Dhow Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar have airport transportation?
Yes, Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dhow Inn Boutique Hotel Zanzibar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Polish.