We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melia Zanzibar

Save
Traveler (2400)
Room & Suite (518)
Pool & Beach (506)
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good19%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“gabi beach”(196 reviews)
“tapas”(41 reviews)
“jetty bar”(32 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Melia Zanzibar
Offers & Announcements: Up to 15% off only today
Hotel deals
Offers from Melia Zanzibar
Offers & Announcements: Up to 15% off only today
Hotel deals
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,818)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveler rating
565
137
54
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
565
137
54
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgabi beachtapasjetty baroutdoor showeraqua restaurantspices restaurantall inclusive packagegolf cartjose antoniobuggy rideterrace roommain restaurantprivate beachhuge bathroomindian oceanspecial thanksour honeymoon
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My friends and I came for dinner at the Aqua restaurant. However, the staff at the reception were completely and utterly rude, unprofessional. They lacked basic customer service! This is highly unacceptable for a hotel that is perambulatinv as a 5* Hotel when in actuality...More

Thank Nahla A
Response from Arthur Leopold L, General Manager at Melia ZanzibarResponded 2 days ago

Dear Nahla A, From your communication I do understand that you were not a staying with us but only coming to have dinner with us. I do regret reading your comment about the lack of attention you claim having experienced at the reception. Therefore, the...More

Hotel's Favorite
Reviewed January 4, 2018

We stayed at the Melia a few weeks ago for 5 nights - a couple (heavily pregnant) and a 2 year old. We initially had some reservation issues but these were quickly rectified and we were given a complimentary upgrade to a family room which...More

1  Thank JasLux
Response from Arthur Leopold L, Guest Relations Manager at Melia ZanzibarResponded January 27, 2018

Dear JasLux, On behalf of the entire Meliá Zanzibar Team, Thank you so much for sharing such a beautiful comment ! Needless to say Rashid and Ghaleb (our Syrian Chef) will be more than delighted knowing they were part of the total satisfaction of your...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

I can't get enough of this beautiful resort so I made a blog about my stay here with my best friend- you can check it out at followushi (dot) (com) and search for Melia Zanzibar. I took amazing photographs as well during our stay. I...More

Thank loshens
Response from Arthur Leopold L, Guest Relations Manager at Melia ZanzibarResponded 2 days ago

Dear loshens, On behalf of the entire Meliá Zanzíbar team, thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you soon again for another Meliá Experience in Ugunja Island, alias Zanzibar! Best regards Arthur Leopold Leleu Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very comfort place for SPA, relaxing and good vacation. Lage territory, warm personal, good variety of food and fruits. One remark - you need to know in advance according ocean condition. I was prepared and for me it was not a problem that ocean was...More

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank Денис А
Response from Arthur Leopold L, Guest Relations Manager at Melia ZanzibarResponded 2 days ago

Dear Денис А, Thank you so much for sharing your comments! Be assured that we highly value our guest's feedback. Indeed, be assured that your comments concerning our cocktails will be share to our Food & Beverage department and they will work on improving the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Definitely a place spend some time and relax. 3 options of restaurants , good cuisine. Great breakfast and buffet. Swimming pool with a nice sea view . Beach close by . Comfortable, clean room. Staff is very helpful .

Thank Daniel V
Response from Arthur Leopold L, Guest Relations Manager at Melia ZanzibarResponded 2 days ago

Dear Daniel V, Thank you so much for your comment! Be assured that we will share you feedback to our teams! We look forward to welcoming you soon again, Best regards Arthur Leopold Leleu Guest Experience Manager

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Travelers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Beachfront
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Tennis Court
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
$243 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
$243 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (2400)
Room & Suite (518)
Pool & Beach (506)
Dining (238)
Amenities (69)
Family and Play Areas (18)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
TravelProNewYork
January 17, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Arthur Leopold L | Property representative |
Hi ! We do have a excursion desk, and shall you need more information, please provide us your email address and we will send you all you need. Best regards Meliá Zanzibar Team
0
Votes
TravelProNewYork
January 17, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Arthur Leopold L | Property representative |
Hi ! thank you for the message ! There is a village, next to our private beach shall you want to visit local people and local shop. There is also a small "supermarket" in Masfarasi, the village next to the hotel, available... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"we loved the suite and the size was big facing a beautiful view of the sea."
Read review
"Room on first level with sea view are more than OK. Bungalow is a special event"
Read review
"Waterfront Pavilion Rooms were the best"
Read review
"Ask for Sea View! Suites or Villas are exceptional."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing