We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 123: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

comfortable rooms, cleaned every day and turned down service too. delicious meals. Excellent facilities. The beach is beautiul and safe. Taxis arranged for site seeing too. Excellent massages too. Would recommend Villa Kiva

Helpful?
1 Thank 160mk110
Tazio B, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 160mk110 Thank you for this nice review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities and our calm and endless white sand beach, witch makes matemwe such a beautifull desitnation. We hope to have you again with us in your next trip to zanzibar Warm regards Tazio Bercelli More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

In one word: perfect!! And its not easy to get that from me. The location, the staff, the room and villa , common room and eating areas And the view..wow! It has a family feeling to it. And a real calm i didnt find anywere else Loved every minute. Wish i was still there

Helpful?
1 Thank ifatj2016
Tazio B, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear ifatj2016 Thanks for this nice review and for your time dedicated to villa kiva. Reviews like yours refill our energy and makes the work that all the tema put in worth. Thank your for this and for your stay, we are looking forward to have you again with us in Villa Kiva Warm regards Tazio Bercelli More 

CT
Level Contributor
212 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our group of nine stayed at the Villa Kiva for 3 nights. The location directly on the white-sand beach of the Indian Ocean is gorgeous. Villa Kiva is on the northeastern side of the island and therefore the ride from the airport is long: one hour. The upside is you will see lovely sunrises. The staff at Villa Kiva is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CKF
Tazio B, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear CKF Thanks for the prefernce give to villa kiva and the time dedicated to us with this nice review. It was our pleasure to host your woderfull group and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your time here with us. All our time is putting as much effort as possible to ensure the best stay to all... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a place you should chose if you want peace and quiet with access to a nice beach. The staff and management are fantastic and only too willing to assist. Restaurant offers a good range of options. Our 'garden' room was spacious and had everything we needed though this is the type of place where you are likely to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Baruiser
Tazio B, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Baruiser Thank you so much for the time dedicated to villa kiva with this lovely review. We are happy to know that your stay with us was as good as possible and that you enjoyed your relaxing time here in Matemwe. Thanks again for sharing your review with us. Warmest regards Tazio Bercelli More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment of our arrival, this proved to be the kind of boutique haven that every beach resort aspires to be. We were welcomed on our arrival by the lovely operations manager, Kamila, & the charming general manager, Tazio, with a wet washcloth and a refreshing tropical cocktail. Our room was spacious & beautifully arranged with flowers on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David K
Tazio B, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest Wow, what a wonderfull, detailed and positive review. Thank you. We are very glad we were able to make your stay in villa kiva as good as possible and that you enjoyed so much our restaurant in witch we put a lot of effort to make it up to standard. All our team is looking forward for your... More 

Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to vacation ,room ,etc....Access to the beach, I have one negative comment. I ordered steak at my last meal, it was burned to a crisp. It was the worst piece of meat I was ever served...The management should pay more attention to what is being served to the customers,

Helpful?
1 Thank anch0rme
Tazio B, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear anch0rme Thanks for your review, it is very nice to know that you enjoyed your stay in our resort and had the chance to appreciate our white sand beach. I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your last meal, I apologies for that and thanks for letting us know, we will definitely work on this aspect... More 

Tel Aviv District, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016

we are family of 5 (3 children,17,14,10). we had wonderful time at villa kiva. the hospitality, the support for our needs. everything was wonderful. it is a small quiet hotel, with professional service. the rooms are in very good condition. the food was very tasty. 2 nice small swimming pools that are enough for our use. the location was amazing.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ronen818
Tazio B, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ronen818 Thanks for the time dedicated do us with this nice review. We are very pleased knowing that you enjoyed your stay in Villa Kiva and the service of our team. We hope to have you again with us in your next visit to Zanzibar Warm regards Tazio Bercelli More 

Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

After 8 days of safari, what a joy to come to rest in the hotel Villa Kiva. The owners and the staff are very friendly welcoming, the rooms are large with big bed (king size). The food is very good.The entire property is very clean and the beach is wonderful. There is a beautiful garden with two swimming pools. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Arnaud D
VillaKiva, Direttore generale at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Arnaud D What a pleasure to read your words, we thank you for the time dedicated to us with this nice review. Thank you. It is great to hear that you liked our property, with our gardens and pools, the quality of the food and the attenction to details. Things that we all put alot of work in. I... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016

if you look for relaxing vaction ,an excellent staff,comfterble conditions,helty and fresh food,and the havenly nature-this is the place! Kamila &Tatzio are the best! All of the staff are realy smiles at you and asks gentely if they can help,it seems like they are realy wants you to enjoy!just great!

Helpful?
1 Thank אלון ש
VillaKiva, Direttore generale at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was a real pleasure to meet you and host you in our Villa Kiva. Thanks for the time you dedicated to us doing this review, much appreciated. We are very happy you enjoy the unspoilt nature of matemwe and the kindness of our staff, this makes us happy to push even more in that direction. We hope... More 

Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016

As mentioned in the title, Villa Kiva was a gorgeous place to stay. The aesthetic and construction of the buildings, the choices of decor and furnature, and, of course, the beach and water, were all excellent. Staff were courteous, discreet, and helpful. We had a great time at Villa Kiva, and thoroughly enjoyed the One Ocean snorkeling/diving tour or Mnemba... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Quinn039
VillaKiva, Direttore generale at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Quinn039 Thanks for the time dedicated to us with this very nice review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us in Villa Kiva. Thanks for mentioning our staff, they are all doing hard work to make your stay as pleasent as possible and they will be very happy to receive your words,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

332 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (303)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
5.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,274 reviews
11.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 5 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Villa Kiva is located on the long and white sandy beach of Matemwe on the north east coast of Zanzibar. Matemwe is well known for the absence of big resorts and mass tourism. It is a part of the island where it is still possible to share and live the local life, walking through a local fish market and having a relaxing time on the beach. Just in front of Villa Kiva there is the atoll of Mnemba Island where it is possible to admire the amazing reef and colourful fish both snorkeling and scuba diving. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant

Address: Matemwe 3151, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Price Range: $86 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kiva Resort And Restaurant Matemwe, Zanzibar Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay