We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I would recommend to avoid Villa Kiva. But if you decide to go there, be prepared to spend your day on the toilet due to the poor food quality. And it is not an Italian restaurant for sure: pizza that has a taste of chapati and no spice on it, panna cotta and chocolate mousse out of a bag, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jelena K
Tazio B, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jelena K It is very painful for all of us to read your words as we never received such a bad review in more then 5 years of operation, nonetheless we thank you for sharing your experience at Villa Kiva. I'm sorry you did not like our food and even more that you had problem with your stomach after... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just excellent, great staff, great food and place! The place is far is far from the resort which is really nice. It's very quite, the rooms are really clean. The hotel respect the environment. It's not about about your money, it is about enjoying your time in Matemwe. I recommend it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph N
Tazio B, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ralph N So nice to receive your fantastic review, thanks for the time you dedicated to us. It was a great pleasure to have you with us in villa kiva. We are very happy you enjoy the quietness of Matemwe. All the staff remembers you all with a smile, I will share with them your words and they will... More 

UAE
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to Villa Kiva for an early dinner one evening. One of the better meals we had in Zanzibar. We ordered the local Ujoro soup (i think that's right), which was a little strange. But we also had the poached fish, curried eggplant, potatos, and salad. Definitely pricier than other places where you can get fantastic and cheap food,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RanaK69
Tazio B, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear RanaK69 Thanks for this nice review about our restaurant, we are happy you enjoyed it. We put great effort in sourcing the best and fresher ingredient to offer to our guest and we are happy we were able to satisfy your taste. I will share with the kitchen team your nice review and they will be definitely pleased. Once... More 

Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Villa Kiva was an attractive, neat, clean and just wonderful place to stay in Zanzibar. The accommodations were comfortable and the food was good, especially if you like seafood. The managers did everything possible to assist us with booking a dive, finding a taxi and suggesting side trips. The staff were great without being overbearing. The grounds were spacious, comfortable... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Oxwood-Farm
VillaKiva, Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are extremely pleased you gave us your time to write this review. It was a pleasure to host you and your family in Villa Kiva. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful surrounding. Villa Kiva staff appreciate very much your kind words. We hope to have more opportunities to host you and your family... More 

Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A beautiful small beach hotel on a exotic beach with guests from a lot of different countries. The exterior and interior of the hotel are full of nice details and very clean. The beds are very comfortable. The food, a mix of swahili and mediterranean food, is delicious. And best of all: the staff is exceptionally friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiS1968
VillaKiva, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear HeidiS1968 Nice review like yours feed us with energies to make your stay in Villa Kiva as good as possible. Sincerely thanks for this. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the cuisine of Villa Kiva and I will share it with the kitchen team that be even more happy to receive your words. Once again thanks ad... More 

Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was verryyy verrryy nice: the room, the ocean view, the garden is a little blooming paradise! At the restaurant, the food is delicious and the breakfast has a lot of exotic local fruits. The personal is very kind and friendly and always ready to assure the best accommodation. The room is decorated with local elements and the lemon grass... More 

Helpful?
Thank ramonafugaciu
VillaKiva, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear ramonafugaciu Great to receive your review and thanks for the time you dedicated to us with it. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in villa kiva and all the staff remembers you with a smile. I will share with the team all your nice words as nothing would be possible without them. They are... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel itself is very nice, well kept and well maintained, but there are a few things to keep in mind about the overall destination: (1) the town itself is tiny and poor and there is nothing really going on at this beach ... it is just resorts along the beach surrounded by cinderblock houses. (2) The tide goes in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
VillaKiva, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sarah P Thanks a lot for this review and for your nice words about Villa Kiva. I'm sorry to hear that you did not like too much the Matemwe natural surrounding. The characteristics that you highlighted such as the big difference in the tide and the remoteness and wildness of the area are some of the facts that make... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were recommended Villa Kiva by an Italian NGO worker, and it was as good as he raved about. It is a fantastic size (I think its approx 25 rooms) and very tastefully done. The rooms decor was very thoughtful with local touches. The location was stunning right on the long stretch of Matemwe beach. Unfortunately when we were there... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dikiwi
Tazio B, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Dikiwi We are so honorate to receive your review and thanks for the time dedicated to us. It makes us very happy to know thta you enjoyed the stay here with us in Villa Kiva. Many thanks also for the note about our kitchen, we will take your coment in great consideration and we will work with the kitchen... More 

London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

It is very hard to fault this hotel. The cleanliness, quality of service and thoughtfulness is first class. Long may it stay so. It is very good value for money and Camilla and her team work hard to keep the quality high.

Helpful?
2 Thank Journeyman101
Tazio B, Direttore at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Journeyman101 Thanks for this nice review and the time that you dedicated to us. It was our pleasure to host you in Villa Kiva and we are extremly pleased to receive such a feedback. All Villa Kiva staff really appreciate your kind words. Hoping to have you again with us for your next visit I give you my warms... More 

Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016

Nice hotel that took care of all our needs. I was traveling with a group of friends and we really felt taken care of. Rooms were neat and tidy, the menu was quite limited in terms of options but the kitchen made adjustments to accommodate our choices. Will definitely go back sometime soon

Helpful?
2 Thank mqh
VillaKiva, General Manager at Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear mqh Thank you for this nice words spent for our hotel, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we managed to accommodate your requests. We definitely look forward to welcome you again here in Villa Kiva Best regards Tazio Bercelli More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

299 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (270)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
5.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
11.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 166 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 5 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Villa Kiva is located on the long and white sandy beach of Matemwe on the north east coast of Zanzibar. Matemwe is well known for the absence of big resorts and mass tourism. It is a part of the island where it is still possible to share and live the local life, walking through a local fish market and having a relaxing time on the beach. Just in front of Villa Kiva there is the atoll of Mnemba Island where it is possible to admire the amazing reef and colourful fish both snorkeling and scuba diving. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant

Address: Matemwe 3151, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Price Range: $94 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kiva Resort And Restaurant Matemwe, Zanzibar Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay