We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel & Villas

Kaskazini A, Matemwe 2762 Tanzania
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$145
View Deal
Travelocity
$145
$97
View Deal
SAVE $48
Orbitz.com
$145
$97
View Deal
SAVE $48
Hotels.com$97
Expedia.com$97
Agoda.com$145
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel & Villas is a unique ocean-front hotel in the most spectacular beach of Matemwe. Located on the north-east coast of Zanzibar, away from the hustle and bustle. Inspired by the local Zanzibar Architecture, it incorporates the styles with local resources. Our aim is to provide authentic, stylish, and comfortable accommodation, in an atmosphere of relaxed hospitality.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
Spa
Wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
18Reviews0Q+A0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 11
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
great stay in a typical luxurious zanzibar boutique hotel. People working there are so nice and smiling at all time! I ll go back. The view and the beach is astonishing! the restaurant is delicious as well as the pastries.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from JMzanzibarpearl, General Manager at Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel & Villas
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you very much for sharing your vacation experience with us and other readers. We will certainly pass on your kind comments to our Staff that will certainly appreciate you acknowledging their efforts in ensuring our Clientele is looked after in the best possible manner. Great 250 meters Beach-Front yes... and great food and pastries that makes all the difference between a nice vacation and a great one! We are very pleased we could meet and possibly exceed your expectations, and we look forward to welcoming you once again with us very soon. JM General Manager
Read more
Room was beautiful but bloody windy as there are no real rooves and no windows. Slatted wood doors and walls. When it rained- we got wet! Food was terrible we ate out every day. For the price we paid we could have got better elsewhere. Staff friendly but trips etc booked from hotel very expensive. Manager was very approachable but end of day couldn’t change things very much! Beach looked good but can’t swim as too many urchins and sea grass. Wouldn’t book again!
Read more
Response from JMzanzibarpearl, General Manager at Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel & Villas
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other readers. We are taking good note of your comments; especially about the room’s issues. Lately, it is true that we had a lot of strong winds, and we are very sorry if this affected your stay while spending time in your room. We will certainly look into the wind/rain issues you are mentioning, as this is really uncommon. Excursions’ prices varies a lot; depending with who you choose to go; however please note that we only operate with certified and licensed Operators... as opposed (for example) to Beach Boy Operators that often provide poor quality overall and sometime dangerous transportation as well. Food’s appreciation is a subjective matter, judging by the variation and opposite rating seen in all our comments herein, however we are truly sorry that you were not able to appreciate our Cuisine, as most of our other Guests do. Thank you once again for taking the time to review our Hotel. JM General Manager
Read more
A secluded resort on the white sandy beaches of the east coast of Zanzibar. Zanzibar Pearl has a ery competent and friendly staff, paying attention to details and your needs, focusing on the guest's experience. There's a nice SPA and the restaurant has delicious meals, which you should try. Lastly, if you like scuba diving, there is a 5-star PADI Dive Center (One Ocean) next to the pool with a competent staff and good equipment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from JMzanzibarpearl, General Manager at Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel & Villas
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other readers. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will certainly pass on your kind comments to our Staff that surely deserves your praise! We are looking forward to welcoming you again with us very soon, for another great stay with us. Kind regards JM General Manager
Read more
Nice big clean rooms with amazing view in front of the beach. The garden is beautiful and very calming. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Certainly you can enjoy quiet and relaxed holidays in this place. Food quality and selection is poor and very overpriced. We were charged for a plain spaghetti $8! Even got food poisoned at the first night i had dinner there but the general manager insisted I got it somewhere else. There was no hot water the first day we arrived so basically we took a cold shower. There was a power cut for a whole day which ok can happen due to weather conditions (raining and very windy at night) however no one apologised to us and we had to use our head torchs to take a bath at night until the electricity was restored. No wifi-internet for 3 days, it was never restored to receive signal in our rooms although the last day of our stay there was wifi-internet in the lobby.
Read more
Response from JMzanzibarpearl, General Manager at Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel & Villas
Responded Aug 31, 2019
Dear Guests Thank you for sharing your experience and stay with us and other readers. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our Hotel, and it’s Staff; thank you for highlighting this to us and our readers. We are sorry that you had to go through a power cut that affected us and our guests, including our water supply of course, during your stay. The power was restored only a few minutes after sunset on that day, but we realise that it was an inconvenience to you and we sincerely apologise for the disagreement you suffered on that day. Our internet WiFi network worked everywhere in the Resort; to the exception of a small area affecting the room you stayed in. This was also due to the equipment that was affected by the power issues that damaged our equipment; and we did all we could to fix it as soon as it was feasible to do so safely. We need to stress that airing a statement regarding food poisoning in a Hotel is something we do take very seriously, and will always investigate it; no matter what. Our dinner set menu had only a few dishes to choose from, therefore many other guests had the same meal as you that day; including management. To date, no one was affected by any food poisoning issue; we therefore doubt your illness would come directly from our food. There are so many other reasons as why you could feel unwell as everyone knows; please allow us the benefit of the doubt in this respect. We apologise once again for the disagreement you suffered during your stay, and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards. JM.
Read more
We booked 2 rooms for all the family-adults and children’s Yes the room are new but there is no beds to sit on the beach only 8 the swimming pool it’s hole of 3 meters only to practice divers ,the staff is not friendly and takes them a lot of time to bring something-we ask for Blanket-it took 3 days!!!,food after 1hr,2 days was not hot water,1day without electricity,no air conditioning at the rooms so all the insects are welcome -mosquitoes,Ann’s,even small snake,the mosque is behind the hostel and starting at 04:30am than starting burning the garbage-smell that won’t let you sleep at 05:30am also behind this hostel We booked 7 nights So after 4 nights we have to run away The manager tried to help a lot but no success!!! If you are backpackers it will fit you!!! About the food price-4$coffee Because you can’t exit from this village Even 1star I won’t give them
Read more
Response from JMzanzibarpearl, General Manager at Zanzibar Pearl Boutique Hotel & Villas
Responded Aug 26, 2019
Dear Guests, Thank you for expressing your feelings and share them with us. While we accept that you may have been disappointed during your stay, we also need to correct some of your comments accurately, as they could mislead other readers: We have enough Sun-beds for all our Guests on the beach and at the Pool; our Staff will accommodate you with them on request if need be, on a daily basis. We have 2 swimming pools next to each others on 2 different levels; 1 large one at the bottom and a slightly smaller one on top. Both are a lot larger than 3 metres of course?? We are not sure how you took your measurements? We would rather leave other Guests' comments answer your statement regarding our Staff's friendliness, but we are sorry that you perceived them in such a negative manner. The Room category that you booked with us does not have Air Conditioning in it; this is clearly stipulated on your Contract agreement. It is well-ventilated with a constant airflow from the sea, and ceiling fans; including additional standing fan available. All rooms have mosquito nets on all windows and opening; including a mosquito net over the beds, therefore insects can only come in if you leave the door open. We do spray as an additional measure each and every room every evening, and provide (like we did for you) Bug Spray on request. To date, the Mosque in the nearby Village has not been a source of disagreement to our Clientele, as we can hardly hear anything from the Mosque located in the nearby Village more than a 1 km away? We are in a Muslim Country and we need to respect their believes and practices; we are sorry if this did annoy you at times. No garbage is being burnt onsite, as we have a local company coming several times a week to collect it? Here again, we not sure where this came from? Your Wife came to see us, and mentioned that she has a lot of allergies affecting her, and also the same for your young daughter. Due to these allergies, and the state of health of your wife/daughter, you decided to check-out after 4 days; this after your Doctor back home in Israel recommended an immediate return home to your Wife. As a gesture of good will on your departure, we even compensated you by writing off all your food X beverage bill and other extras consumed during your stay. You even mentioned that coming in Africa with your family was a mistake, as your wife wanted to stay in Turkey in a 5 Star Hotel; maybe this "resumes" your disappointment where your choice of destination was not appropriate and did not match your expectations. We are however truly sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as expected, and we sincerely hope that your next choice of destination will bring you and your family all you need and deserves while on vacations. Kind regards, JM General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$110 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandMatemwe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing