We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Mnarani Beach Cottages

#14 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 339: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is not the best resort in Zanzibar or even Nungwi. But it is reasonable (beers on special at $3 vs $8 at the horrible Hilton a few hundred metres away). The staff are willing and helpful and our room was big and comfortable, although I know that some of the others were much smaller. Bar food at lunchtime was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
Dar Es Salaam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We ll all I can say is that you can't get better than staying in what you can only describe as paradise, the crystel clear see and the untouched white sandy beaches. Lets face it your in Africa do you really want any more than good clean accommodation with the most friendly staff I've come across. It was a pleasure... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 14bigdave
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited M.b.c with a friend for a long weekend in Zanzibar and we absolutely loved it. The staff was superb; very welcoming and attentive. Grounds were well maintained. The rooms were very clean and the beach and pool area with gorgeous views. For swimmers the only thing to note is there are a lot of sea urchins in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 94ali
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a family apartment with 3 bedrooms in which worked well for our kids. The accommodation was acceptable and clean although not decorated very tastefully. The food was poor. The beach was not great - much better beaches in other countries (like the Philippines) despite all the locals telling you that Zanzibar has the best beaches in the world.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank duncan305
Nassor M, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Dancan305 Thank you for your recent review, It is unfortunate that you were not impressed by your stay in Zanzibar at large . We are taking the necessary steps to improve our kitchen by hiring new Chef and changing some of the kitchen staff . The swimming pool has been under maintenance recently and we will make a point... More 

mallorca
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Mnarani team came to the rescue of my husband and me when we urgently needed somewhere to stay. Nothing was too much trouble and we soon felt like we had come 'home'. We were given a room overlooking the sea, a nice comfy double bed, a rustic bathroom with plenty of hot water and a large terrace upon which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wifeinmidlifecrisis
Nassor M, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear wifeinmidlifecrisis, Thank you for taking the time to review us; we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at Mnarani Beach Cottages . Please visit us again soon! More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I enjoyed the food. Room was as expected for a 3* Just a note not to pay cash when ordering lunch and so on. You should be signing for it and pay at reception. On my first day I was asked to pay cash by one of the elderly waiters. He had also inflated the price $3 higher than what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
Nassor M, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Matthew Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed our services. I apologize for the restaurant bill handling and the confusion it caused. Thank you for your openness and for bringing this to our attention. We have taken the matter seriously in order that it does not happen... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
251 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Had a great lunch of soup and salad in keeping with my diet. Lovely view and good food. Enjoyed meeting the chef Haji and the staff were friendly and efficient. Did not stay in the hotel as we were staying in stone town but looked clean and the pool was very tempting.

Helpful?
Thank William G
Nassor M, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear William G, Thank you for choosing Mnarani Beach Cottages to enjoy your lunch and for your concise and positive comments. We were delighted that our food and service met your expectations and left you with a positive impression. It will be an absolute pleasure to welcome you again More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

Luckily, this is not my first trip to Zanzibar! I would hate it. Don't ever come to this place, unless you are looking to be far away from everyone (isolated) and can handle terrible service and bad food.... If they have. Rooms are not clean, AC not working, water pressure is very weak, room service sucks! They don't even clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank 3amer3amer
Nassor M, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear 3amer3amer, Thank you, for your review, we always appreciate feedback. I am sorry that your stay was a disappointment and below your expectations. Your stay in May coincided with hotel maintenance and renovations which contributed to our poor service. We have completed the hotel work schedule and have taken your comments on board to get the hotel back on... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

We had reserved beach front cottages but were given musty,dank "delux" rooms on the 3rd floor. The food declined in both quality and quantity with each night of our stay. The full board package did not even include water to brush our teeth with. Let alone to drink in the room or with meals. Never again!

Helpful?
Thank deewunschel
Nassor M, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Deewunschel, Thank you for taking time to comment about your recent stay at Mnarani Beach Cottages. I have read your comments keenly and noted the points you have mentioned. The level of service is certainly not acceptable and we are working to solve the issues mentioned to avoid this happening in future. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

This is our third time staying at Mnarani and we still love coming back. Fair prices and a beautiful setup. The rooms are small but very neat and tidy and that's all you need especially if you are planning to be out out most of the day. The pool is amazing and the staff very helpful. The food is great.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dale R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

828 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (379)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (355)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Beach (60)
Viewed
Double Room (38)
Viewed
Family Room (66)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Triple Room (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (94)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.8 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sazani Beach Lodge
Sazani Beach Lodge
#16 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
1.2 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#10 of 19 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mnarani Beach Cottages is a beach resort hotel, located on the northernmost tip of Zanzibar Island in the village of Nungwi, next to the old lighthouse.Mnarani has been independently recommended by The Lonely Planet Guide, The Bradt Guide to Zanzibar and many other East African travel guidebooks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mnarani Beach Cottages

Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Price Range: $128 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mnarani Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mnarani Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Beach Cottages Hotel Nungwi
Mnarani Beach Hotel
Mnarani Beach Resort
Mnarani Beach Cottages Zanzibar Island/Nungwi
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay