We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Save
Share
Nungwi Beach, Nungwi 3151 Tanzania
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1312)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (412)

About

#11 of 37 hotels in Nungwi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Take a deep breath of fresh Indian ocean air, relax and unwind. Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove in the north east coast of Unguja (alias Zanzibar). Essque Zalu Zanzibar combines contemporary luxury with a real sense of place. This boutique hotel has the turquoise waters of the Indian ocean to one side and lush green forest to the other, and there is just a hint of spice in the warm and fragrant tropical air. At Essque Zalu Zanzibar, create your own personal paradise, your own kind of luxury, an experience of a lifetime. Choose from 40 individual suites and 8 villas all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Our suites offer a luxurious-styled space crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched makuti roof. From farm to table, we take great pride in our sumptuous cooking. Satisfy your taste buds with a choice of two unique restaurants, three well stocked bars and a variety of destination dining experiences. Unashamedly indulgent, the Spa comprises of two couples treatment rooms, four single rooms, vichy shower, a sauna and steam room - a haven of restorative and rejuvenating perfection. Using only 100% truly organic and natural ingredients, our focus is on capturing the intelligence of nature in the restorative process. We know that the essence of nature can synergistically interact with the energy system, and this knowledge forms the basis of our Africology creations, all orchestrated to help you lead a more holistic lifestyle. Essque Zalu is your outpost into the first steps of the wildness and tranquility of Zanzibar. Reconnect with nature and experience a land rich in life and uninhabited space. We offer guests the opportunity to partake in activities to experience some of the islands most Spectacular and scenic excursions.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Airport transportation
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Lagoon View
883Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 643
  • 145
  • 48
  • 29
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
LoveToTravel021111 wrote a review Oct 2020
Geneva, Switzerland55 contributions28 helpful votes
We were supposed to have stayed here in April but due to the lockdown this didn’t happen. We paid an advance as this was requested when we booked. Now six months on, we haven’t been reimbursed. Due to financial constraints they said they couldn’t reimburse us...remember we didn’t make it there and didn’t get any type of service. They told us in September they would reimburse us...nothing came through. Now they tell us November...let us see. At this point we are wondering what kind of establishment is this. We never got a service yet they can’t give us our advance back. They’ve financial contraints, news flash, so do we. This kind of management and lack of customer service (we keep having to send emails - no initiative on their part) says a lot. If/when I finally make it to Zanzibar, it won’t be to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Lynne wrote a review Oct 2020
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania1 contribution
I had the best experience on my Solo trip at Zalu. The place is so freaking beautiful. The rooms are gorgeous and so clean. Thank you chef Daniel for the best food I have had while in Zanzibar. The staff are super friendly and professional. For anyone planning on coming to Zanzibar, this is the place to be, to unwind and relax. I will definitely be back .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from kennedy maina, Other at Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you Lynnethuku. We are glad we gave you a wonderful experience. Hope to see you again soon
Read more
Hassan A wrote a review Oct 2020
4 contributions
It was an amazing trip and amazing staff I felt like I was with my family , the staff are very friendly and lovely many thanks to Aima the fodi gay , livna , lors, juma , almas , danial , khairi hope to see u soon . Regards, Hassan Kaya
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from kennedy maina, Other at Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Responded 4 days ago
We are glad your experience in Zalu was amazing. Thank you very much for coming to spend time with us at Zalu and we hope that you will come again soon. The team is always ready to serve and the doors are always open.
Read more
Bruno B wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Don’t fool yourself with the good rate in trip advisor and with the nice picture of the pool. I heard the hotel changed its management sometime ago, and it can only be the reason why our stay there was so unpleasant. The hotel looks abandoned, with old furnitures and facilities, and undertrained staff. The food served in breakfast and dinner was very bad. All of that crowned by a a rude manager that refused to see me when I had to solve some issues regarding my booking. it’s important to mention the hotel location: there’s no beach at the hotel. So if you are looking for a place to soak yourself on salty turquoise water, stay away from Esque Zulu.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from kennedy maina, Other at Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your response brunobL5693TK. We grateful that you chose to take your time to spend in Zalu, we apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay period and we've already streamlined some of the issues you have mentioned in your feedback. I hope you will give us another chance to share our experience with you.
Read more
Peter O wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel was amazing!! Management made room for us at the last minute after we found out that our original hotel was closed due to COVID-19. The hotel staff were extremely attentive and went out of their way to make sure we felt welcomed and safe given COVID-19. The food was excellent, management friendly, and views amazing. Make sure you ask for the seafood special at least one night during your stay. It's an extra $50 but definitely worth it!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: best views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Cyrus Gikonyo, General Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Responded Sep 2, 2020
Dear Outlinert, It was a great pleasure for our team to host you at Essque Zalu. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will have another chance to visit us. Best regards, Cyrus
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$275 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
essque zalu zanzibar hotel nungwi
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandNungwi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Which popular attractions are close to Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Nearby attractions include Mnarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond (0.03 miles), Zanzibar Kilosas Conservation (0.2 miles), and Baraka Natural Aquarium- Nungwi (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fisherman's Seafood & Grill, Gerry's Bar, and Aluna Garden Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Essque Zalu Zanzibar have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Essque Zalu Zanzibar offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Essque Zalu Zanzibar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fukuchani Ruins (3.7 miles).