We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Nungwi

Essque Zalu Zanzibar

Save
Nungwi Beach, Nungwi 3151 Tanzania
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$350
$290
View Deal
SAVE $60
Booking.com
Trip.com
Prestigia.com$350
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1289)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (410)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#12 of 35 hotels in Nungwi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Take a deep breath of fresh Indian ocean air, relax and unwind. Essque Zalu Zanzibar is an intimate boutique destination nestled in a natural cove in the north east coast of Unguja (alias Zanzibar). Essque Zalu Zanzibar combines contemporary luxury with a real sense of place. This boutique hotel has the turquoise waters of the Indian ocean to one side and lush green forest to the other, and there is just a hint of spice in the warm and fragrant tropical air. At Essque Zalu Zanzibar, create your own personal paradise, your own kind of luxury, an experience of a lifetime. Choose from 40 individual suites and 8 villas all with picturesque views over the lush tropical garden or the ocean turquoise blue. Our suites offer a luxurious-styled space crafted from local materials, adorned with native artwork and housed under a traditional pitched makuti roof. From farm to table, we take great pride in our sumptuous cooking. Satisfy your taste buds with a choice of two unique restaurants, three well stocked bars and a variety of destination dining experiences. Unashamedly indulgent, the Spa comprises of two couples treatment rooms, four single rooms, vichy shower, a sauna and steam room - a haven of restorative and rejuvenating perfection. Using only 100% truly organic and natural ingredients, our focus is on capturing the intelligence of nature in the restorative process. We know that the essence of nature can synergistically interact with the energy system, and this knowledge forms the basis of our Africology creations, all orchestrated to help you lead a more holistic lifestyle. Essque Zalu is your outpost into the first steps of the wildness and tranquility of Zanzibar. Reconnect with nature and experience a land rich in life and uninhabited space. We offer guests the opportunity to partake in activities to experience some of the islands most Spectacular and scenic excursions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Sauna
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Airport transportation
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Good to know
  • HOTEL CLASS
    5 stars
  • HOTEL STYLE
    Lagoon View, Bay View
  • NUMBER OF ROOMS
    48
866Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 633
  • 145
  • 46
  • 28
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This holiday was a beach escape and my intentions were to be close to a nice beach but that is not the case. The tide makes the beach perfect for walks but not for swimming. The hotel compensates for this by providing free rides to a very nice beach close by. The access from the airport is easy, a 60-90-minute ride with a taxi (60$) and the hotel is close to the village but still secluded. Roads around the area are really bad so we tried to minimize leaving the hotel by car. Our room was great, spacious and very clean. I particularly liked the orientation of the villas that allowed us to keep the curtains open with no direct visibility into our room from outside. Sleep quality is great with the exception of the faint noise of termites. Other than that there were no annoying bugs and the resort took very good care with the animals and insects that were around (although all of them are harmless). The WiFi had many problems while we were there but they had technicians working on it. The hotel has 2 restaurants, one offering a buffet and another a la carte, with special events on some days. The food and the drinks in both restaurants was amazing!! The pool is also very good with a great view and a pool bar with the best bartender ever, Emanuel!! The hotel staff was always very friendly and helpful with whatever we asked. The reception can improve with how they handle guests' special requests, asking for services that are expected of a 5-star hotel. The beach changes a lot. At low tide you can walk in the sea for more than 500 meters and explore along with the locals that go fishing during the day. In the evening the sea rises so it is generally not so safe to swim because of the sea urchins and the rocks.
Read more
Three of us stayed in Zanzibar for four days and loved the resort. The pool is beautiful, the beaches nearby are great, and the rooms were very nice. Additionally, the food was pretty good, especially the food on the dock at The Jetty (lots of fresh seafood.) The staff were also super friendly! The best part of our stay was a Swahili inspired buffet dinner on Saturday night with live jazz. There were many very expensive resorts nearby and it was really overwhelming, so this ended up being a medium priced luxury resort!
Read more
Response from OmarRoomsmanager, Front Office Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Responded yesterday
Dear Kaitlyn, It is our great honor to host you and your friends at Essque Zalu Zanzibar. Thank you very much for your kind comment and review about our resort. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful and memorable time with us. Looking forward for you next visit. Kind Regards Omar Suleiman Musa Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Been there with family between 13-16 Feb. Excellent property, clean and well maintained rooms, pool and jetty. Their rates are very high as they charge in USD only, and is not worth the money as the food quality is terrible. They have to look into the chef's capability to cook good food. If you want to pay by local currency cash, they charge very very high local currency exchange rate of TSH2360/USD which is beyond the government cap. It is sad they want to make money from these exchange variations also. WILL NEVER RECOMMEND TO ANYONE.
Read more
Response from OmarRoomsmanager, Front Office Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Balaji, It was our great honor to host you at Essque Zalu Zanzibar. Thank you for taking your time to highlight this to us and providing us with the opportunity to improve. We have pass this to our Executive Chef. We do not do beuro change and our rates are in USD $ which is convenient to clients not only all over the world but even locel. Thank you. Kind Regards Omar Suleiman Musa Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Reading many opinions and comments on this place before our journey I was a bit sceptical, however those critics I have read ( among others also on booking.com) were simply not true. We stayed on the first floor of a "garden view suite" of 80 sqm with a large balcony overlooking on a quiet lush tropical garden.The suite had all amenities,AC, big bathroom with step-in shower and bidet, was clean at all times, There was a very well working wifi in the "sitting room", fridge, cable TV. The staff: very well-coming, friendly and helpful: from the reception to the cleaning staff, from the waiters to the bar men at the pool bar,everybody. The food: we had breakfast and dinner.Contrary to many other comments:the buffet breakfast choice was rich with variations every day and in addition to the food offered on the buffet you could order a la carte as well.There was plain joghurt and at least 4-5 sort of fruits. Dinner: during our 6 nights stay we tried both the restaurant on the pier and also the main restaurant, sometimes buffet sometimes a la carte , we always had different dishes which were very good,- including the ones at the swahili (?) evening. May be the drinks are a bit overpriced but this is a luxury hotel..... Beach: it is true that the hotel has no real beach- I have not seen that they advertise themselves as a beach hotel.Notwithstanding in certain times of the day you could bath in the sea at the pier at a "medium high tide".The hotel offered free shuttles to Kendwa beach 3 times a day - took 15-20 minutes or if you took a walk to the beach behind the Baraqua turtles garden (500 m) there you could enjoy a nice beach, see dow shipbuiders,fishermen coming in with their boats,women with their children coming to the fish market , village life,you could have a beer in one of the beach bars.You could even walk over to Nungwi on the beach ( 20 minutes) and when coming back you will enjoy the beautiful pool and your AC suit at the hotel as a cool heaven. The only problem with the area is the quality of the road from the main road to the hotel, but this is not Essque Zalu 's fault.... We enjoyed our stay very much - Jambo!
Read more
Response from OmarRoomsmanager, Front Office Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Dezso, It was our great honor to host you at Essque Zalu Zanzibar. Thank you for you kind and honest comment about our resort. Essque Zalu Zanzibar is your home away from home. We are looking forward for your next visit. Kind Regards Omar Suleiman Musa Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Wonderful luxury hotel and perfect service and facilities. Nice private bungalos, descret service, top beach and pools and best place to enjoy far away from tourist spots. Friendly staff but not invasive. The place is best for honeymoon, couples.
Read more
Response from OmarRoomsmanager, Front Office Manager at Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Thomas, It was a great honor for our team to host you at Essque Zalu Zanzibar. Thank you for your kind comments and review of our Resort. We are looking forward for your next visit. Kind Regards Omar Suleiman Musa Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$275 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
essque zalu zanzibar hotel nungwi
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandNungwi
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Which popular attractions are close to Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Nearby attractions include Mnarani Marine Turtles Conservation Pond (0.03 miles), Zanzibar Kilosas Conservation (0.2 miles), and Baraka Natural Aquarium- Nungwi (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fisherman's Seafood & Grill, Gerry's Bar, and The Jetty.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Essque Zalu Zanzibar have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Essque Zalu Zanzibar offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Essque Zalu Zanzibar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Essque Zalu Zanzibar?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fukuchani Ruins (3.7 miles).