We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Save
North Coast, Nungwi Tanzania
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Otel.com
Agoda.com
Nustay.com
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3531)
360
Panoramas (6)
Pool & Beach (1012)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#13 of 36 hotels in Nungwi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Fitness classes
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Good to know
  • HOTEL CLASS
    5 stars
  • HOTEL STYLE
    Family Resort, Ocean View
  • Languages Spoken
    Italian
  • NUMBER OF ROOMS
    182
1,890Reviews289Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,080
  • 537
  • 150
  • 59
  • 64
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I spent five blissful days at the Royal Zanzibar last year and am sorry I've taken so long to post my review. I loved my time there and am longing to return. The location is pure paradise, and the grounds are beautifully maintained. I fully enjoyed the thrice-daily buffets and the endless swimming pools (because there are so many, most are wide open). The staff were all very friendly. Extra thanks to Rukia for the special attention, which truly enhanced my all-too-brief stay.
Read more
The resort is extremely well made and the rooms are totally comfortable. The hospitality is on point and the staff is always greeting you with big smiles on their faces. I was here with my wife and overall it was an awesome resort to stay at. They definitely have the best beach access. And the best pools. Large pools and in Abundance! Few negative points I noticed - Multiple waiters coming asking for drinks order when the order was already placed. Once during our breakfast, the egg station had no onion. I inquired with the chef for scrambled eggs and the chef confirmed no onions were available. It was disappointing that he Did not initiate sending someone to kitchen to get chopped onions. Buffet timing was 9:30. By 9 things started running out. And they did not replenish which is fine. I understand. What I don't get is that the staff was coming in and getting food on plates and some even packing food to take away. Not sure if this is hotel policy. Other than this it was a great vacation!
Read more
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your very kind review and your helpful comments. It was terrific to hear that overall you had an awesome stay and a great vacation. We were glad that you enjoyed our beautiful resort and gorgeous beach and of course our lovely pools and wonderful staff. I very much appreciated your specific comments and we have discussed them with the food and beverage team. They should not be overlapping as they have assigned stations for drink service and like you I'm very disappointed that no one went to chop an onion for you, such a simple step! You are also correct that they staff are not allowed to remove food from the buffet, it is not policy and has also been addressed. Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
+1
My 1 week stay was everything I hoped for in Zanzibar. Hot tropical sun, great hotel and facilities. The friendly staff with their nothing is too much trouble attitude made my holiday. Included in the All-inclusive was the dinner on the beach and by the pool area which was welcome surprise to eat alfresco. I have to mention The best fresh fruit section I have ever seen in a buffet and plenty of local dishes to taste what the island offers.
Read more
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Leanne, Thank you so much for your terrific review and very kind remarks regarding your stay with Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself and were pleased that you liked our fresh fruit and had sampled some of the local dishes! Although the set up for our beach and pool dinners is a lot of hard work, we love surprising our guests with the opportunity to dine outside and enjoy more of our beautiful locations. As for our staff, we never cease to appreciate what a positive impact their friendly natures have on our guests and love being able to share reviews such as yours with them all. Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
Choose this a hotel for 4 night stay for the valentine's weekend. I was prepared to pay a little extra expecting better quality. Even chose the all inclusive option but this was a absolute mistake. Poor quality everything from breakfast to lunch to dinner to drinks. The most ridiculous things was this hotel bars seemed to run out different things each day. Some days there was no snacks. Some days they only had one option beers available as the others had run. Other days some sodas where out. Cocktails are poorly made with no attention to detail and overused and scratched glasses. Buffet was of poor quality. Breakfast identical offerings everyday and most pots empty half the time. Pool chairs was always a problem as people leave the towels early in the morning to book the seat and dont use the entire leaving to have a poor out of way seating. This hotel lack of management attention in all facets. I would rate this a 2 star hotel in terms of the experience. There much better options in the area at a cheaper price.
Read more
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded Feb 20, 2020
Dear Vinesh, Thank you for your review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort. We're so sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay with us. The team works hard to ensure that our guests have a great stay and it's both personally and professionally disappointing when we fail in that goal. Unfortunately with many of our supplies coming from mainland Tanzania, we are often at the mercy of the suppliers when staples such as Coca Cola are simply not available or some of the beers we carry. But we would agree that these problems shouldn't affect the experience of the guest. I'm also sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the breakfast. Although I would agree that the items are the same most mornings, we do offer eggs made any way you like, to order, the standard bacon, mushrooms, sausages, baked beans, grilled tomatoes and hash browns for an American Style breakfast, salads, cheeses and cold cuts for a European Style, pastries, toast and jam, hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, pancakes and waffles with the appropriate accompaniments plus an Asian Style corner with 3 or 4 dishes depending on the number of Asian guests in the resort. While it may be similar each day, we hope that it's a wide enough selection for our guests to make different choices each day. I'm also sorry about the situation with the pool chairs. We will try to find better ways to remove guests personal belongings to free up chairs that have been held empty for too long. Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. Should you be returning, please do contact me directly. We would appreciate the opportunity to improve on this stay. Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
The hotel is amazing in one of the most beautiful beaches in Zanzibar. The stuff are great and the food is very good . There is a great massage with the sound of the sea in your hears. It is great fun
Read more
Response from GM-RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded Feb 20, 2020
Dear Oddedr, Thank you for your wonderful, if very brief review of your stay with Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful resort, lovely beach, good food and friendly staff. The Spa Team was thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your massage. Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$189 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal zanzibar beach hotel nungwi, seaclub royal zanzibar beach hotel
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandNungwi
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Nungwi Beach (0.5 miles) and Dr Bulugu Gallery (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cinnamon Restaurant, Badolina Secret Garden Restaurant, and Saruche Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Fukuchani Ruins (2.7 miles).
Does Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.