We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort

Save
Share
North Coast, Nungwi Tanzania
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$452
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/11/22
Destinia.com
$236
View deal
Expedia.com$284
Priceline
Travelocity$284
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3793)
360
Panoramas (6)
Pool & Beach (1076)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Updated 06/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 44 hotels in Nungwi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A spectacular view of the Indian Ocean from almost anywhere on the resort makes this all-inclusive property a wonderful choice for those guests looking for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. Fantastic swimming pools, a beautiful beach with clear, turquoise waters and amazing sunsets all add to the ambiance! The rooms are large, approximately 80 square metres for Superior Rooms and 100 square metres for Suites. A spacious bathroom with a large bathtub, separate shower and double sinks provide luxurious comfort. All rooms include a quiet split-unit air conditioner, TV, fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, a safe and a terrace from which to enjoy the view. The warm, friendly staff invite you to enjoy meals in the buffet restaurant with a varied selection of local and international dishes or a traditional pizza oven near the beach offers a quick snack while you relax by the pool.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Darts
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
1991Reviews304Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,141
  • 552
  • 157
  • 67
  • 75
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Revaan R wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
The Royal Zanzibar quickly became our favourite destination after being pleasantly surprised by the serene beauty of the resort. The food is delicious and the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The attention to detail of the resort is immaculate, living up to its 5 star rating. Pictures do not do the place justice. We will certainly be returning to The Royal Zanzibar after our unforgettable post-engagement getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from GM RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded yesterday
Thank you so much for your absolutely wonderful review of your stay with Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! We loved being "Beyond Beautiful" and even more becoming your favourite destination! I thought serene beauty was a lovely remark, Chef Sovan was pleased that you thought the food was delicious and we never cease to be proud of our lovely team, we'll be sure to share your kind comments with all of them. Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your post-engagement getaway, we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
Doris D wrote a review Oct 7
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The have very big prices for poor service. We had no water to shower just before we left. We called the receptionist and nothing was done. I had to rinse with water from our bottles. They lady who cleaned our room never changed the towels nor did she bring us shampoo or shower gel. The claim tips but do nothing in return. Won’t return here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from GM RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded yesterday
Dear Doris, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I hope that you will accept my sincere apologies for the disappointments you encountered during your stay. Unfortunately we had a main line water pipe burst that forced us to shut of the water for the entire resort. While I'm very sorry that happened, I understand that bottles of water, not a great option but the only one we had, were sent to your room and rejected. I believe there may have been some confusion with the towels. In our efforts to be more environmentally friendly, we only wash towels that guests have placed on the floor or in the tub. There is a sign in each room explaining, my apologies if it was not prominently located in your room. The lack of shampoo and shower gel there is no excuse for and we will discuss this with the room attendants. I'm very sorry to hear that you wouldn't return. Should you change your mind and be willing to give us an opportunity to show you our much better selves, please do call me directly, I'd very much appreciate the chance to ensure that we provide you with the WOW vacation you should have experienced the first time. Thank you for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
danno6249 wrote a review Sep 2021
Key West, Florida24 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Royal Zanzibar is absolutely the nicest all inclusive I have ever been to. The entire resort is clean, staff is excellent, and security is awesome. The food is excellent and large variety! The location is on the best beach in Zanzibar, and awesome sunsets! Manager Kim is the best! We loved every minute here. We didn’t want to leave. The Cliff restaurant in the ocean is included in the all inclusive, good food and excellent view! The rooms are enormous, clean and updated! And the multiple pools are beautiful! So much pool and beach space, you feel as if the resort is all yours! We can’t wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from GM RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Dan, Thank you so much for your exceptional review of your stay with Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort! It was such a pleasure to meet you both and to have such positive feedback regarding your stay. I know that I've said it before but I'm so proud to work in a place where even the Security Team are noted for their friendliness as well as their professionalism. Houskeeping, our Executive Chef and I all appreciated your kind words and even more your eagerness to return! We will share your review with the team, I know that they'll love to see it. Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
Daria wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Everything is the best here, people very nice and lovely, hotel clean and beautiful, food very tasty. The Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort is like paradise 😊 Definitely you should visit this place! I recommend 😊
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from GM RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Daria, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort, for your generous recommendation and even more for likening us to paradise! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, the kitchen loved hearing you'd enjoyed the food and I never tire of sharing reviews such as yours with our lovely team! Thank you once again for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi, we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
Friedrich S wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
From 24th of August until 6th of September we spent with our both daughters two weeks im Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort. The initial uncertainty of what the vacation would bring was taken away from us at the latest when we arrived at the hotel. We have never been welcomed so warmly and delighted in any hotel. Even when we expressed the wish to change the room, all receptionists tried very hard to fulfill our request. Thanks to Muru we were able to change rooms immediately. When we walked through the complex after moving into our rooms, we were overwhelmed. So beautiful, the entire area, pool, hotel beach, the turquoise sea, everything really is the finest! Everywhere you were immediately greeted warmly with "jambo", "How are you"!! The warmth, the feeling of being wanted, was shown to us every day anew. All employees (gardeners, cleaning staff, waiters, barkeepers, reception, all workers ...) they all were very, very friendly, warm and courteous. Not to forget the massai security, which always gave us complete security and were always available for a conversation, help, and photos. It was very nice for us that all employees are very, very child-friendly, which our daughters really liked. All in all it was a very pleasant and wonderful vacation in this hotel. We really enjoyed it very much in the beautiful facility on this paradise island. Thank you everyone for this wonderful vacation, "hakuna matata" for all employees and staff is true. We hope and wish that this standard can be maintained, we really want to come again. Family from Austria!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from GM RZBR, General Manager at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Jambo Friedrichs Family! Thank you so much for a terrific review and for your desire to return, both mean a great deal to us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful property, lovely pools, great beach and our wonderful staff. I'm always proud of them but was especially touched to hear that your daughters also felt so welcome. We promise that our only goal is to keep improving, so we thank you for choosing Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort for your stay in Nungwi and look forward very much to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind regards, Kim Elizabeth Bird General Manager Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$200 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal zanzibar beach hotel nungwi, seaclub royal zanzibar beach hotel
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandNungwi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
182
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Nungwi Beach (0.4 miles) and Dr Bulugu Gallery (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rooftops bar, sexy fish, and Cinnamon Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.