We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
8/27/2017 8/28/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Kololo Game Reserve

    Bakkerspas, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
    Hotel website
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    8/27/2017 8/28/2017
    $136
    $136
    $136
    Traveler (234)
    Room & Suite (64)
    Storyboard
    Overview
    • Excellent68%
    • Very good27%
    • Average3%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travelers talk about
    “game reserve” (27 reviews)
    “lion's den” (5 reviews)
    “bush villa” (3 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Breakfast Buffet
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Multilingual Staff
    Wheelchair access
    Conference Facilities
    Laundry Service
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Babysitting
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Kololo Game Reserve
    Offers & Announcements: Save on Attraction tickets
    Deals (11)
    Aug 27Aug 28
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Standard 2 Bed Chalet - Self Catering.
      $136
      View Deal
    • Standard 2 Bed Chalet - Self Catering.
      $136
      View Deal
    • Standard 2 Bed Chalet - Self Catering. (Free WiFi)
      $136
      View Deal
    View all 11 deals from $136
    Legend Golf and Safari Resort
    255 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Entabeni Game Reserve
     
    Zulu Camp
    15 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Vaalwater
     
    Shakati Private Game Reserve
    3 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Vaalwater
     
    Matamba Bush Campsite
    7 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Waterberg
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (405)
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 293 reviews

    Reviewed 6 days ago

    We had a nice time overall, despite being disappointed about the big five game drive promise. We really enjoyed the yellow 6km cycling/walking route. It's a paradise for adults but perhaps not the best for kids in terms of entertainment.

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Nkanyanexd
    Response from KololoGameReserve, Marketing and Sales at Kololo Game ReserveResponded 6 days ago

    Thank you for your review. Glad te read you enjouyed our cycling and walking routes. For the kids we offer special Kids safaris: The Kololo ranger can accompany your child on a bushveld expedition during our special Kids Safari. Kind Regards, Kololo Game Reserve

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    After two weeks in the bush seeing almost everything this reserve feels a bit like safari light. However the atmosphere is very relaxing, the staff is helpful and friendly and the food is really good. Pity they don't have proper double beds.

    Thank iWiebe
    Response from KololoGameReserve, Marketing and Sales at Kololo Game ReserveResponded 6 days ago

    Thank you for your review. It's unfortunate that you didn't get the safari experience you hoped for. Kololo is a private nature reserve with free roaming animals. Unfortunately, it's never able to determine where the animals are. Kind Regards, Kololo Game Reserve

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Accommodation and lodges very pleasant and big! good staff in the restaurant and also good food. also possible to bike between the animals. Big minor thing is that you have to pay more than extra for game drives in Welbevonden instead of the booked game...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Geert R
    Response from KololoGameReserve, Marketing and Sales at Kololo Game ReserveResponded 6 days ago

    Thank you very much for your review and feedback. Kololo Game Reserve is situated right next to Welgevonden Private Game Reserve. Because part of Kololo is included in this reserve we have access to this beautiful place. During your stay you can make different Safaris...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    This is a beautiful resort in the middle of a national park. Waking up with the giraffes standing a couple of meters from the house. Mountainbiking between all kind of animals. A nice gamedrive with a motivated ranger and very friendly staff.

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank winoq
    Response from KololoGameReserve, Marketing and Sales at Kololo Game ReserveResponded 6 days ago

    Thank you very much for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the wildlife experience we offer. Kind Regards, Kololo Game Reserve

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    this spot is a very good start before travelling Krugerpark, enough possibilities for driving, biking, hiking and just relaxing. Attention : the best free-wifi connection even in your room in my tour for 3 weeks in the Northeast of South Africa.

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank ernstd867
    Response from KololoGameReserve, Marketing and Sales at Kololo Game ReserveResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed our Free-Wifi. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour as well! Kind Regards, Kololo Game Reserve

    Legend Golf and Safari Resort
    255 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Entabeni Game Reserve
     
    Zulu Camp
    15 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Vaalwater
     
    Shakati Private Game Reserve
    3 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Vaalwater
     
    Matamba Bush Campsite
    7 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Waterberg
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free Internet
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Laundry Service
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Conference Facilities
    • Babysitting
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • $137 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 14
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kololo Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Limpopo Province >
    • Waterberg >
    • Vaalwater
    • Also Known As
    • Kololo Game Reserve Vaalwater, Waterberg, South Africa
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (234)
    Room & Suite (64)
    Dining (36)
    Pool & Beach (10)
    Hotel & Grounds (165)
    Family and Play Areas (7)
    Bathroom (1)
    Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby
    Matamba Bush Campsite
    7 reviews
    .00 miles away
     
    Shakati Private Game Reserve
    3 reviews
    .00 miles away
     
    Legend Golf and Safari Resort
    255 reviews
    55.37 miles away
     
    Zulu Camp
    15 reviews
    10.57 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Seringa Cafe
    49 reviews
    16.51 miles away
    Koolstoof Restaurant
    20 reviews
    31.47 miles away
    Lone Bear Spur Steak Ranch
    19 reviews
    41.42 miles away
    Ocean Basket
    56 reviews
    44.47 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Welgevonden Nature Reserve
    135 reviews
    12.91 miles away
    Adventures with Elephants
    330 reviews
    28.30 miles away
    Mokolo Dam
    7 reviews
    47.90 miles away
    Bambelela Wildlife Care&Vervet Monkey Rehabilitation Farm
    105 reviews
    37.98 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Lady Di M
    February 20, 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Ryan T | Reviewed this property |
    Di. They don't have their own transport. There is however a transfer company that they use. It cost quite a bit. I t costs one way R2000. Chalet average standard is approximately R1550 per person per night. However I don't... More
    0
    Votes
    nuttynys
    June 2, 2015|
    Answer
    Response from KololoGameReserve | Property representative |
    We are located 3,5 hours car drive from Johannesburg.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "wake up early and discover game in front of your terrace"
    Read review
    "All the cabins are lovely"
    Read review
    "Oom Piet and the superior villas are very special"
    Read review
    "All rooms are great"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing