We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Distinction Wanaka

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Distinction Wanaka
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On their website they state that they are "serviced apartments" when we inquired why our apartment beds were not being made and why the floors were not vacuumed were were then told that all the "cleaners" do is pulled the sheets over the beds and exchange towels left on the floor. The shower door leaked all over the bathroom floor,... More 

Helpful?
Thank sherwoodstation
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went there with my family and we booked 2 bedroom apartment. Apartment is quite big, contains all the amenities you need to make your stay comfortable.View from the apartment is beautiful. WiFi connection is a bit frustrating. Disconnects every 10 minutes. Rooms aren't cleaned everyday , although they would replace Towels etc everyday if required. You can use the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Manish16111
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your comments. Unfortunately internet in Wanaka is not very good - I know that they continue to upgrade. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

I went there with my family and we booked 2 bedroom apartment. It's a very clean, and fully equipped with washing machine, dryer, kitchen, and there is a heater bedsheets which is good for winter. One thing is the fire alarm keep ringing when we use the dryer but the hotel attendant is good enough for letting us to you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shinny81
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Hello thank you for your feedback. It turned out to be a faulty alarm, so pleased that we could offer you an alternative during your stay. See you again! More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

The rooms and facilities were excellent and the staff were most hospitable but Wi-Fi connection was poor. It took many attempts to get connectivity and in the end we gave up altogether. Even the staff were unable to assist us.

Helpful?
Thank Kimplusthree
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately Wanaka is not a good town for wifi, but I believe they are working on bringing in fibre to us soon. Kind regards More 

raglan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights firstly we were very grateful as the manager allowed us to make changes to our booking even though we had used booking .com and there was a no change policy Secondly we where so glad we chose this place we had a ground floor apartment with its own garage which was great for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank raglantripper
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is appreciated. Kind regards More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Stayed one night passing through Wanaka - lovely welcoming staff and I was bowled over by the apartment. Beautiful view, lots of space, washing machine, dryer, spa bath, garage to park the car - all for little more than I'd paid for an average hotel room a few nights before. I fully intent returning - for at least a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Your review is appreciated and we would welcome your return. Kind regards More 

Walton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Stayed for one night at the beginning of April. Booked a one bedroom apartment and when we got there we found we were upgraded to a 3 bedroom apartment on the first floor. The view of the lake was spectacular. The apartment was very modern and clean and the under floor heating in the bathrooms was a real treat. Parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your free upgrade - we endeavour to do this when we can. Kind regards More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

We arrived late for a single night stay and ended up staying three nights. Place was perfect for our family and a great base to explore Wanaka. Staff were fabulous and accommodating with our change of plans. Apartments were spacious and well appointed. View was spectacular and relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank mamamiagirl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016 via mobile

The welcome was warm and the upstairs apartment we stayed in for two nights was very comfortable. The king size bed was excellent and the apartment benefitted from both early morning and evening sun. When it cooled down, a gas heater warmed us up beautifully. Furnishings were nice and the bathroom and shower were great. The position of the Alpine... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016

It was a huge apartment and really comfortable with extensive kitchen and laundry facilities. The resort had great facilities and even rented me a bike. Its on the edge of town though just a 15 mins walk into town. Loved the place and wished we had stayed longer.

Helpful?
Thank Rajesh M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#3 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 19 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The resort offers a choice of 58 large, stylish, self-contained, serviced apartments, each providing you with a high level of personal comfort and convenience, perfect for all seasons. Superior facilities include a gourmet kitchen, 50 channels of Sky TV (43" screens in 3brm apartments), under-floor heating in the bathrooms and so much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Wanaka

Address: 144 - 154 Anderson Road, Wanaka 9192, New Zealand (Formerly Alpine Resort Wanaka)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $105 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Distinction Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Resort Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Clarion Wanaka
Wanaka Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay