We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Distinction Wanaka

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Distinction Wanaka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 189: English reviews
Dapto, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a three bedroom apartment for a night on our drive through, and although this property isn't right on the lake, or right in town, it is a gorgeous property, and our balcony had stunning views out towards the lake and the snow-capped mountains beyond. The staff were friendly, the rooms were fully equipped and well maintained. The property... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gem537
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, it is appreciated and I will let the staff know. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed staying at Distinction apartments Wanaka. Its a beautiful part of the world and the perfect base for skiing in Cardrona. - lovely, clean and comfortable apartment with great views (#22) - free garage and extra parking - full kitchen with plates, cutlery, dishwasher, oven etc - fireplace, balcony, free laundry - dvd library, spa, pool and games area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren O
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. When you return again, all you need to do is come to the office and request more wifi, we are happy to provide more to our guests. I will ensure the front office staff are aware of this. More 

Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. The view from the three bedroom apartment is superb, Lake Wanaka and snow capped mountains. Fully self contained, clean, modern appliances and well serviced. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant from the moment we arrived! Would definitely go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie H
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Cassie. Not all of our apartments have that gorgeous view, first in 'best dressed'. I will ensure my staff receive your compliments. See you again! More 

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

10A needs a maintenance update. Bathroom fan not working well and this caused mould to build up in the shower over the 7 days we stayed. Heated floor in the bathroom didn't work although the control unit indicated it did work. The kitchen facilities were poor and not enough cooking equipment. Furniture for four people consisted of a three seater... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback. This was passed onto the Owner, who immediately responded and is in the process of replacing/buying new furniture. Thank you. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

On their website they state that they are "serviced apartments" when we inquired why our apartment beds were not being made and why the floors were not vacuumed were were then told that all the "cleaners" do is pulled the sheets over the beds and exchange towels left on the floor. The shower door leaked all over the bathroom floor,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sherwoodstation
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We rely on our guests to let us know about maintenance issues, as we do not stay in the apartments ourselves. We endeavour to correct these issues as soon as possible, which in this instance was the case. I have now asked our receptionists to remind guests to read our in-house compendium, which also includes... More 

New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

I went there with my family and we booked 2 bedroom apartment. Apartment is quite big, contains all the amenities you need to make your stay comfortable.View from the apartment is beautiful. WiFi connection is a bit frustrating. Disconnects every 10 minutes. Rooms aren't cleaned everyday , although they would replace Towels etc everyday if required. You can use the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Manish16111
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your comments. Unfortunately internet in Wanaka is not very good - I know that they continue to upgrade. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

I went there with my family and we booked 2 bedroom apartment. It's a very clean, and fully equipped with washing machine, dryer, kitchen, and there is a heater bedsheets which is good for winter. One thing is the fire alarm keep ringing when we use the dryer but the hotel attendant is good enough for letting us to you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shinny81
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Hello thank you for your feedback. It turned out to be a faulty alarm, so pleased that we could offer you an alternative during your stay. See you again! More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

The rooms and facilities were excellent and the staff were most hospitable but Wi-Fi connection was poor. It took many attempts to get connectivity and in the end we gave up altogether. Even the staff were unable to assist us.

Helpful?
Thank Kimplusthree
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately Wanaka is not a good town for wifi, but I believe they are working on bringing in fibre to us soon. Kind regards More 

raglan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights firstly we were very grateful as the manager allowed us to make changes to our booking even though we had used booking .com and there was a no change policy Secondly we where so glad we chose this place we had a ground floor apartment with its own garage which was great for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank raglantripper
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is appreciated. Kind regards More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Stayed one night passing through Wanaka - lovely welcoming staff and I was bowled over by the apartment. Beautiful view, lots of space, washing machine, dryer, spa bath, garage to park the car - all for little more than I'd paid for an average hotel room a few nights before. I fully intent returning - for at least a few... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
AlpineResortWakana, Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this review

Your review is appreciated and we would welcome your return. Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
2:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.8 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The resort offers a choice of 58 large, stylish, self-contained, serviced apartments, each providing you with a high level of personal comfort and convenience, perfect for all seasons. Superior facilities include a gourmet kitchen, 50 channels of Sky TV (43" screens in 3brm apartments), under-floor heating in the bathrooms and so much more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Wanaka

Address: 144 - 154 Anderson Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Alpine Resort Wanaka)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $104 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Distinction Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Resort Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Clarion Wanaka
Wanaka Clarion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay