We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Wanaka Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wanaka Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 351: English reviews
Wellington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a Friday night. The staff were fine - not particularly friendly and not a lot of eye contact. The location is good but the accommodation-related carpark was seriously over-parked. The room was serviceable but slightly tired. I got the room right by the laundry so had the sound of driers until about midnight. On the other... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 265mod
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 265mod, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear you have found our Compact Rooms reasonably priced. I am sorry the Dryers kept you awake, we have changed the Laundry opening hours to 7am-10pm. We look forward to welcoming you to Wanaka again. Regards Jo More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One day business trip, clean and convenient and perfectly situated in town for shops and restaurant, great breakfast! USB charger available in the room can in useful. Very clean with modern bathroom. Thumbs up!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your Thumbs Up and are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next business trip to Wanaka. Regards Jo More 

Buderim
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was quite comfortable with everything needed. Cosy during some very cold nights. There is a kitchen available for hotel guests so would be suitable for self catering. Very convenient for all the shops and restaurants and pubs in the centre of Wanaka. Has a Mexican restaurant and coffee shop attached with pub next door. Walls are a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank HamishUrquhart
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HamishUrquhart, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay, Thanks for the great feedback about the warm comfortable rooms and on site facilities. Happy Travels, Regards Jo More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always stay here if we need to stop over in Wanaka. Rooms are dated but clean and tidy and it has a good feel about the place. Friendly staff, and good food and coffee in the café next door makes for a good start to the day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John R
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John R, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your continued support of the Hotel, Thanks for the great review. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel again soon. Regards Jo More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms were nice, clean and cosy. There were a couple of restaurants on site which seemed popular (although we didn't try). Good location, short walk to restaurants and shops. Shared kitchen great to cook breakfast in. Laundry facilities available.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andreacX262DU
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andreacX262DU, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Wonderful feedback about the facilities of the Hotel, and our location. We look forward to welcoming you again. Regards Jo More 

Kurow, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Hotel is situated very close to all the shops/bars and cafes. Room looked as if it had been renovated recently and it was a nice surprise. I stayed here years ago and it was a tired building. The price is really reasonable for a place like Wanaka

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karentJ2149NG
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear karentJ2149NG, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to welcome you back to the Hotel and show you our improvements, it is wonderful to hear they were a pleasant surprise for you. We look forward to seeing you again. Happy Travels, Regards Jo More 

Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved our stay and will definitely return. The rooms look great since the refurbishment great amenities recommend breakfast at the cafe excellent coffee. Friendly staff ! Close to town ! So no need to use car, hired a bike don't forget to where layers you'll need it in winter

Helpful?
Thank 60sgirls
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 60sgirls, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to have such great feedback about the refurbished rooms and the cafe, we really appreciate your 5 star review and look forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka and the Hotel soon. Regards Jo More 

Perth
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was simple and clean. Close to the heart of town and lake. Nearby breakfast options for early starters (especially during winter for skiing/snowboarding season) Great for a short-term stay. Friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 993belh
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 993belh, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and a thrilled to hear you have found us Simple, Affordable and in a Great Location. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wanaka soon. Regards Jo More 

South Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived midnight and getting and to the room was no problem at all. Great view from my room easy access in and out. Comfy beds and great pillows. Friendly staff will definitely be back thanks Wanaka Hotel👍

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 752jessica
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 752jessica, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your fantastic review and are pleased to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again, Regards Jo More 

Wairoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Never, never again! Whatever you do, do not accept booking for Rooms 151-157. These are down a long, steep set of stairs so that if you have heavy luggage, either way you are taking your life in your hands. No lift access. The rooms appear to have paper-thin wall construction, so that as you walk down the corridor you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lake_Road_B_and_B
Jo B, General Manager at Wanaka Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lake_Road_B_and_B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, it would have been great to hear from you while you were here so we could address your concerns in person. Regards Jo, Wanaka Hotel More 

Travelers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#3 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 19 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 19 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great Value Hotel right in the center of Wanaka, only one-minute walk to the Lake and Town Center. Full Restaurant and Bar Facilities on-site. Plenty of free, off street parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wanaka Hotel

Address: 71 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $77 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wanaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Wanaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay