We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Edgewater

Show Prices
#4 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Edgewater
Edgewater
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

747 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Edgewater
See the most recent reviews
Showing 664: English reviews
Wanaka, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed May 8, 2016

The view is brath taking, It is next to the beautifull lake and close to that magic wanaka tree, and 15 minutes walk from the center. It has grat parks, and is beautifull in autum, summer, in all seasons. Very relaxing place, and grat staff

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Micaela D
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora Many thanks for sharing your experiences. Yes, 'thatwanakatree' is certainly very popular. Regards Trish

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 2, 2016

Very modern and well appointed apartments, clean and spacious. Great little extras such as the ground coffee and coffee plungers in each of the rooms, and the milo. Having the electric blanket switched on in my bed was a delightful extra. Great breakfast in the morning, great views from the rooms too. The only thing that I didn't love was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay_French_FRNZ
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora We appreciate your feedback and pleased you enjoyed our little extras. Hopefully you'll be able to visit again, with less work pressure, to continue enjoying Edgewater and Wanaka. Regards Trish

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed May 1, 2016

The Edgewater has something for everyone. It's conveniently located, just a 15 min. walk along the lake to the center of town. The room was very comfortable with a view of the lake. There's tennis, putting green, bikes, etc. Great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marge D
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Marge D Great news that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for taking time to write this review. Kind regards Trish

Portobello, New Zealand
Reviewed April 28, 2016

Our first visit to this cafe/ bar, part of the Edgewater resort. Lovely home made scones of various choices staff very helpful and attentive. The scones were made to order and we were told it would take 20-25 minutes- no problem for us, good food takes time, I always think and it was lovely. Lovely peaceful surroundings. However after the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulMaryReet
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia Ora We always value getting feedback, both the good and bad. I am sorry of your experience during one of our busy lunch service times. I've shared your review with our Restaurant Manager. It sounds like you may be local? If so, by all means Toby (our restaurant manager) would be happy to discuss your experience in detail. Regards...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed April 25, 2016

The Edgewater is situated directly on Lake Wanaka within easy walking distance to town. The breakfast was very good. Walking trails are on the property and one leads directly to the Rippon Winery. The staff both in the restaurant and hotel are extremely accommodating. We ate nightly at the restaurant as well for dinner. One evening we had an amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lablover80
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Kia ora We appreciate your detailed feedback. So pleased you discovered nearby (strolling distance) Rippon vineyard. Plus the flight to Milford Sound is truly spectacular. We hope to see you again. Regards Trish

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed April 25, 2016

This was a beautiful hotel. Beautiful views. Good location. Rooms were beautiful, spacious, clean, tidy. Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms are located nicely around the hotel so that it is quiet and peaceful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peta M
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Peta M We appreciate your comments and pleased you enjoyed the quietness and peacefulness. Kind regards Trish

Wanaka
Reviewed April 24, 2016

Edgewater is more than a beautiful setting on the shores of awesome Lake Wanaka. A super friendly hotel with impeccable service,well appointed clean rooms, ensuring a great nights sleep. A great place to regain your sanity from the pressure of work, away from the bustle and noise but within easy walking distance of the township, bike trail or action. So...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui A
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Jacqui A We appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review. So pleased you enjoy our tranquil ambience. See you again. Regards Trish

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 24, 2016

This hotel is set on the shores of beautiful Lake Wanaka and the rooms are spacious and well appointed. The views from the room towards the lake were quite breathtaking. Sadly, our stay was tainted by the extremely poor experience in the restaurant! Travelling with a coach tour, Kirra Tours in February, we stayed one night at this beautiful hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paddydepie
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Paddydepie We are super disappointed to learn of this situation you experienced. It was a busy time at the hotel but that is no excuse. I can only add that some of the principals in our restaurant and kitchen have since departed and with our new team in place we expect much smoother service and experiences for future guests....

Laguna Beach, California
Reviewed April 22, 2016

Wonderful location. Great walking trails around the lake. Bikes available. Wish I could have stayed a month. Super base camp for a week of exploring Otaga to Te Anua. Rob Roy Glacier hike was awesome. Happy to return to this resort again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jewels-Ven
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Jewels-Ven Sounds like you had the opportunity to try some of our many great activities around Wanaka. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Trish

Feltham, Middx,United Kingdom
Reviewed April 22, 2016

This hotel is in a lovely setting in beautiful grounds right by the side of Lake Wanaka. However it is a little bit out of the main town so a car needed if you wish to dine out in the town. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was very good and the staff were very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
EdgewaterNZ, Public Relations Manager at Edgewater, responded to this review

Dear Carol M Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences with us. So pleased you enjoyed our setting. Regards Trish

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

575 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (341)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (180)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Hotel Studio Room (38)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
491 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
418 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
176 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edgewater lies right at the water’s edge of Lake Wanaka. It is the perfect destination for you to experience all that Central Otago’s seasons have to offer. Our long, hot summers fade slowly into beautiful autumn colours, before the clear mountain air promises snow and crisp winter days. As the snowfalls melt, spring returns with its lush, bright greens. At Edgewater we have genuine local knowledge that complements our inviting accommodation and enticing seasonal menu. We can unlock the very best Wanaka experiences, tailored for you. Edgewater is a four star Qualmark graded property situated on the edge of Lake Wanaka. Come and touch the seasons at Edgewater. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edgewater

Address: Sargood Drive | Lake Wanaka, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $119 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Edgewater 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Wanaka
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Edgewater staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Edgewater staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“all rooms have views”
Justjack07, 5 days ago | Read review
“A lakeside view is desirable but most rooms have good views.”
MarionMcKellow, 5 weeks ago | Read review
“Have an upstairs room if you don't mind having no lift.”
RowePCCA, Mar 12, 2017 | Read review
“As a woman travelling alone a first floor studio is always preferable”
BZY88, Feb 26, 2017 | Read review
“Get an upper floor room/suite. You will get better rooms and somewhere nice to sit out.”
severus, Feb 26, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question