We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka

#5 of 19 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 253: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed a very enjoyable week on our SI tour. Great facilities and friendly staff. Enjoyed the hot pool , gym and use of the mountain bikes. Close enough to town to walk or cycle down for a coffee or beer. We'll be back. Footnote: The staff were fantastic at sorting out a problem with our booking (our fault) that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank paulwM7189YO
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A wonderful place as a base to explore the Southern Alps. Lake Wanaka and Lake Hawea and the views of the snow cap mountains in late autumn are just so inspiring. The surrounding towns with all the friendly people are just so refreshing. Nice accommodation and friendly staff adds to the experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Liong C
Management response:

Dear Liong Thank you for feedback. It is great to hear about your wonderful time in Wanaka & stay with us. We love hearing that our staff were friendly. Hopefully you can come & stay with us again sometime & further explore this beautiful region. Kind regards Rachel Read More 

ubud
Level Contributor
153 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had an enjoyable fee days stay here. Located a five min drive from the centre of town, the resort had a small pool, tiny gym, laundry facilities and a cosy bar that does snacks. The room was really nice, comfortable and well appointed with small kitchenette area. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi isn't free but this is because the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jan497
Kaydee G, General Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you Jan for your review. Myself and the team are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to welcome back to Wyndham Wanaka in the future. Happy travels! Kaydee George Resort Manager Wyndham Wanaka More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Brought my two children to Wanaka for a snow holiday. Wyndham resort was superb. Gorgeous apartment. Clean, spacious and comfortable. Snow shuttle picked kids up from the resort. Friendly staff at reception. Nothing was too much trouble. Will be coming back here. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank 333michelle
Management response:

Dear Michelle Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay with us. We are so delighted to hear that your Apartment was clean, comfortable & spacious & that our staff were friendly & went out of their way for you. We hope that we will get to welcome you back one day soon. Kind regards Rachel Read More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Clean and modern facilities. Friendly staff. We loved the spa which included a jacuzzi, pool, steam room and sauna. The gym room equipment was limited but nonetheless useful. The resort is only a short distance from the village. Wifi was affordable and good quality overall. I loved that everything from wifi to movies could be accessed and ordered directly from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
Kaydee G, Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you Rebecca, It is wonderful to hear you had a most enjoyable stay with us. We aim to please! I agree the hot tub is an excellent way to unwind after a day on the slopes or exploring. Happy travels and thanks for staying with us at Wyndham Wanaka. Kaydee George Resort Manager kaydee.george@wyn.com More 

Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Not a bad place, room was clean tidy and modern, everything worked as it should. Bed was comfy and nice range of pillows provided. Only down sides was not a lot of parking, room had no kitchen sink and there was no ac. There was a greater but the controls weren't in english. There is no restaurant onsite either Would... More 

Helpful?
Thank bazingamedia
Kaydee G, Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka, responded to this review

Hello Bazingamedia, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and would come back to visit us again! I would recommend an apartment for your next visit as opposed to a studio room. Our apartments have wonderful kitchen facilities. I am sorry you had issues with the heating our helpful staff are always available to readily assist with any... More 

christchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

I only stayed 1 night, but will be back later in the week. Very friendly staff on reception and breakfast. The room was very spacious and lovely and warm, especially compared to the last 2 places I stayed in Wanaka. Quiet and very very clean. Comfortable bed, great week kitchenette . Hard to fault.

Helpful?
Thank Bridget042022
Kaydee G, Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka, responded to this review

Hello Bridget, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our resort. The team and I are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. We also love when our guests enjoy it so much they come back to stay with us again! We hope you have happy travels and we look forward to... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

We were a drive in booking, and lucky enough to have a 1 nite here... Gorgeous spacious rooms! Had the 2 bedroom apartment with kitchen! Great for families or 2 couples. Fresh decor, Everythg was clean and or new? Great heating, bedding. Very comfy! Wish we could of stayed longer but can see why was fully booked! Great service friendly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank belindal247
Kaydee G, Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you Belinda for taking the time to share your experience. We really appreciate positive feedback about our staff and the cleanliness of our resort as it is very rewarding to share with the team. We hope to see you again at Wyndham Wanaka in the not too distant future. Regards, Kaydee George Resort Manager Wyndham Wanaka kaydee.george@wyn.com More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We had the 4 bedroom presidential suite, what a beautiful apartment. Only issue was that someone before us had broken the TV and we wanted to watch the rugby. Next day the TV was replaced, so we watched the outside TV above the spa pool with a gas heater to keep us warm. Other than that the room was warm,... More 

Helpful?
Thank deborahtur
Kaydee G, Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you deborahtur for staying with us at Wyndham Wanaka and taking the time to review our property. We are delighted you found our 4 bedroom presidential apartment clean, spacious and inviting. It is a lovely room especially with it's own private hot tub on the deck! I do apologise for the TV issue however am pleased we were able... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom ground floor apartment. This was very spacious with a comfortable lounge and generous size dining area. Kitchen was basic, 2 hotplates and a convection microwave. But a full size fridge /freezer, there was also all the kitchen utensils and appliances that usually in a Wyndham apartment. Bathroom was a good size with full bath... More 

Helpful?
Thank vshorty26
Kaydee G, Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka, responded to this review

Hello vshorty26, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Wyndham Resort Wanaka in our spacious 2 Bedroom apartment and were able to have a good night's rest in a most comfortable bed. I do apologise however you found the room a little noisy and appreciate your feedback.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#3 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 19 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#6 of 19 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 19 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka is nestled on a quiet street just a short stroll from Lake Wanaka and the heart of the village. Recently refurbished rooms ensure you will be comfortable, offering a range of room types ideal for both relaxation and entertaining family and friends. The resort boasts superb facilities including a heated pool with water slide (seasonal), hot tub, sauna and barbecue area, as well as a café & bar. Lake Wanaka, located in the heart of the Southern Alps, is the ideal base for your holiday adventure. It offers something for everyone all year round including an abundance of activities and attractions, as well as breathtaking mountains, glaciers, rivers & lakes. The village offers a relaxed lifestyle - the perfect place to unwind or seek adventure. About an hour's drive from Queenstown, Wanaka is near a number of excellent ski areas such as Treble Cone and Cardrona. Extreme sports lovers have the opportunity to go canyoning, eco-rafting, kayaking, mountaineering, rock climbing and so much more. Warmer weather provides a myriad of activities including golf courses, hiking, walking, vineyards and water sports on Lake Wanaka. The area is a natural paradise close to awe-inspiring wonders including Mount Aspiring National Park, Rob Roy Glacier and the Clutha River. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka

Address: 109 Mount Aspiring Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Flag Hotel Mount Aspiring)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: $99 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Flag Hotel Wanaka
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#8 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay