We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostal Don Guillermo

Save
Share
Enitel 25 vrs. al Este, Matagalpa Nicaragua
Lowest prices for your stay
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
$50
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/01/21
Hotels.com
$50
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/01/21
Travelocity$50
CheapTickets$50
eDreams
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (18)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (4)

About

#7 of 23 Specialty lodging in Matagalpa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Don Guillermo is located two blocks from the beautiful Cathedral in downtown Matagalpa in a quiet street. Beautiful and spacious, private rooms with natural airflow, private bathrooms, hot water, wireless internet, cable TV, breakfast included and two lobbies and internal patio for your leisure. Single rooms from 30 USD 30, double from 40USD and triple from 70 USD. Additional guest 15 USD. Now offering special prices during weekends, travelers in groups, and booking for more than three nights. For your comfort, now offering rooms with air conditioning for additional USD 10 per night, please request it when booking to ensure availability.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

Full view
57Somewhat walkable
Grade: 57 out of 100
21Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
31Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 16
  • 12
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Daltonboy1986 wrote a review Jun 2017
Murfreesboro, Tennessee215 contributions57 helpful votes
My church always travels to Matagalpa to working with a missionary organization but this is the first time we stayed at Don Guillermo and it was a great stay. Even though they say it is a hostel - it is really a motel. The rooms are very clean though my shower did not work with only one stream of water coming out of the shower head. Our room was on the street and the street noise could be loud but we slept with a sound machine and we were fine. They served breakfast which was good: eggs and rice. We would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from HostalDonGuillermo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Don Guillermo
Responded Nov 9, 2017
We are grateful to assist you again, we regret the incident with the shower. Every day we improve with your opinions
Read more
Gshanley wrote a review Feb 2017
Ocean City, New Jersey94 contributions45 helpful votes
As soon as we got out of our taxi at Don Guillermo's we were welcomed by Nahara, and made to feel right at home. We had room 5 on the 2nd floor and it was perfect. Very close to cathedral, square, street with ATMs, and lots of restaurants and comedors. Did not need air conditioning, good breeze. Breakfast was delicious. Great find!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: 2nd floor Room 5 was great
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from HostalDonGuillermo, Director de Recepción at Hostal Don Guillermo
Responded Feb 21, 2017
Muchas gracias por su opinión, estamos para atenderle como usted se lo merece. Saludos!!!
Read more
BristolCharles wrote a review Dec 2015
Presteigne, United Kingdom245 contributions74 helpful votes
Not much to look at from the outside but step inside and you are in a very well-run little operation. Immaculate bedrooms and bathrooms which have been very well decorated and are in tip-top condition. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom a good size. Lovely staff dish up a good breakfast and are very helpful. Only one block from the main square on a quiet street. Superb.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: All pretty much the same
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
SFKel wrote a review Dec 2015
San Francisco, California51 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed a week on the second floor with a view of the hillside. Room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. (Would have liked a few more clothes hangers) Choice of 5 different breakfasts in the morning -- all freshly made by a friendly cook. Hot tasty coffee too. Overall the hotel was quaint, lovingly decorated, and immaculately cared for. Advertised that staff spoke many languages, but apparently English was not one of them. (That's my problem -- I have to improve my Spanish. But if your Spanish is very limited, could be difficult.) Outdoor space was limited, but the hotel is only two blocks from the main park. All in all would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
bill e wrote a review Nov 2015
Tucson, Arizona6 contributions4 helpful votes
I have been treated like royalty--quality you'd expect from a 5 star hotel in the US. Best breakfast I've had during my 3 weeks in Nicaragua (I was offered a chance to choose breakfast the night before--big bowl of fresh fruit, 2 properly cooked pancakes, and the excellent Nicaraguan coffee.) Room clean, quiet; good quality wifi.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$49 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NicaraguaMatagalpa DepartmentMatagalpa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hostal Don Guillermo
Which popular attractions are close to Hostal Don Guillermo?
Nearby attractions include Catedral (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hostal Don Guillermo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Hostal Don Guillermo?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hostal Don Guillermo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hostal Don Guillermo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Batidos Pitaya Matagalpa, La Vita e Bella, and Seleccion Nicaraguense.
Is Hostal Don Guillermo located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Matagalpa.