La Princesa de la Isla

La Princesa de la Isla

Bungalow
Traveler (159)
Sunset
Room & Suite (34)
La piccola spiaggia dell'hotel.
Pool & Beach (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 6 hotels in Big Corn Island
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.7
Value
4.4
La Princesa de la Isla is located in one of the most picturesque point of the Big Corn island and it includes wooden bungalows and three rooms made with coral, stones and wood.All the accommodations have private bathroom, matrimonial bed (queen size)with its mosquito net, fan and porch with chairs (bungalows have a private porch).They are just ten steps to the shore and they are all ocean view and they overlook on a garden with palms and hammocks.The restaurant serves authentic italian cuisine with a list of italianwines and in the bar you can enjoy real italian coffee and cappuccino. People who are not guests of the hotel can enjoy our restaurant and barreserving a lunch or a dinner just in front of the sea.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Great View
179Reviews8Q+A24Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 117
  • 40
  • 13
  • 3
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jose P wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Second visit to Princesa de la Isla and had a great experience. You must call ahead with your reservation and order and are attended by the owners, Alessandro and Costanza who offer great service, conversation and home made Italian food. Highly recommended when visiting Corn Island for a beachfront meal.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben T wrote a review Dec 2011
NYC1 contribution6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I traveled to Big Corn Island in Nov/Dec 2011 and stayed for five nights at La Princesa de la Isla. The room we stayed in was spacious, the beds had mosquito nets and everything was clean and tidy.

The owners are a lovely Italian family who cook some of the best food I have eaten anywhere in the world. Alessandro and Costanza prepared some amazing lobster, shrimp and fish dishes and prepare pasta which is just perfectly "al dente". They are extremely friendly and we enjoyed spending time chatting and sampling Nicaraguan rum. As other reviewers have stated, they also make fantastic coffee (and a mean caipirinha)!

If you're heading to the Corn Islands, I would thoroughly recommend staying at La Princesa de la Isla.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bokassa wrote a review May 2007
toronto ontario6 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I ended my trip through Central America in Corn Island. I found about the island in the usual travel books I read before going on a trip. The island is one small city in the middle of the Caribbean sea with few places to stay. I decided to go to La Princesa de La Isla a place that has a simple website telling you it is a little place run by an Italian family. They made my stay really enjoyable. My room was 10meters from a golden beach, the room itself nice and clean with its own washroom, a rarity in some of these places..... The family cooks real Italian food, no North American touch to it, for themselves and the guests, every morning they asked me what I want for dinner, pasta alla carbonara? or alla arrabiata? pollo? pesce? After couple of days seeing I was eating always by myself they insisted to have me eating with them all the time, Italians cannot stand seeing people eating alone.
A son in law of the owner was there from Italy and he is a great fisherman, we went out fishing few times and got a nice barracuda and a pargo. My stay at a La Princesa and the whole experience with Corn Island was really great part of my vacation. It is a place for those who want to see how really people live and cope in Nicaragua rather then being secluded hiding in one of the all inclusive resort.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2007
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck in / front desk
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ajhurd wrote a review Apr 2015
Vancouver, Canada18 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The owners were nice enough but there is absolutely no pride of ownership. I do not know who posts the other photos but this place is a dump at ripoff rates. See my photos they speak for themselves. The grounds are full of litter everywhere and not maintained or manicured as shown in the other photos. The accommodation was extremely poor. No attempt to make it comfortable. The washroom shower was disgusting ( see photo ). The electrical outlets are a fire waiting to happen. The door would barely open because it dragged on the floor. I had to laugh because when we arrived the owner greeted us and the door to the cabin was already wide open. I guess so when we first went in we did not have to shove the door with our shoulder to open it. Do not go here !!! unless you want to pay too much for a dump. Oh yes there is a pack of dogs that constantly roam the property and bark. At night they bark constantly. Then just when you get to sleep an hour or so later the roosters start to crow. If you want a nice restful vacation this is not the place !!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Go somewhere else !
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
burgluroonie wrote a review Aug 2012
5 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I agree that the Italian family owners are out of this world hospitable, and that the accommodations are clean and basic. I have to be honest, however. Princesa is basically surrounded by a "slum. " If you go here you have to be the kind of traveler who is not bothered by living it up while immediately surrounded by desparately poor people. If you can't handle this dichotomy, don't go here. Also, if you are the kind of traveler who wants to actually "do" something while traveling, I do not reccommend Big Corn. We arrived and were so very warmly welcomed by the owners. We asked what we could do during our short stay, and were told, "nothing." There is nothing to do here other than hang out on the beach in some intense sun and heat. If this does not describe the kind of vacation you are looking for, then skip Big Corn. The snorkeling and diving is better on Little Corn, there are more varied dining options, you can hike around the island and within it, and it is safer. Though bigger than Little Corn, there is actually less to do on Big Corn. We asked about going hiking on Big Corn and were told it was not a good idea and there are basically no trails. We could not walk to town at night to eat because the owners told us it was not safe. When we did walk around the Island, my daughter practically got run over by a car who was deliberately trying to scare her. And we almost got attacked by a dog walking on the beach from Princesa. Also, while the artisitc flair of Princesa is fantastic, the general grounds are fairly shabby. There are debri piles all about. The incredible Italian food was so salty we could not eat our $18 dollar meal. Lunch is $18 and dinner is $22. (more than double what you pay elsewhere). The only reason we ate there was because otherwise you have to take a cab to and from your meal elsewhere. I hate to submit this review because the family is so wonderful, friendly, accommodating, and open their entire home to you. But I wish I knew this before arriving. And we were not the only dissapointed guests. We shared notes with another family staying there who felt the reviews on TripAdvisor had misled them.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sassyirishlassie wrote a review Jun 2013
Cleveland, Ohio7 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at this hotel from the airport in 'Hotel Vans' (which were actually beat up cars with trunks that didn't close properly and inside panels of doors missing) and pulled up to what looked like an abandoned pavilion. We were met by an aggressive angry man who called us 'cheap' and 'demanding'. Despite the fact that we chose this place based on the restaurant we were told that the chef was back in Rome because his mom died (and then later because his mom was sick...hmm?) I spoke to the guy and said we didn't want to stay there because the beach was full of rocks, the wifi wasn't working (which he said to me 'that's not my problem!'), and there was no one to cook. His answer was 'go take a taxi to get food or I can cook you spaghetti.' He was unacceptably inhospitable, angry, accusatory and rude. I am glad we decided not to stay there. (On a side note, there are sickly feral dogs running all over the property and trash everywhere).
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hic-manebimus-optime, Proprietario at La Princesa de la Isla
Responded Sep 7, 2013
Dear Sir, We had the chance to read your message and we thank you for giving us an idea. You used the secondary entrance and the passage in the service area on the back of the hotel (that you defined an abandoned pavilion) because the main entrance is not available due to works on the road. It seems that our explanations about it were not enough clear to understand the actual situation so, to remedy, we hung at the gate a sign on which we wrote: SERVICE ENTRANCE. We apologize with our guests for using this entrance: the main entrance is temporarily not available due to the works for the new coastal road. Thanks for understanding. The pictures of the sign and of the main entrance of the hotel during the works are now shown on TripAdvisor. Anyway, everybody can see the pictures of our place and to distinguish which is the back (and service) part of the land of our property compared the front. About the wi-fi, I am sorry but we are on an island in Nicaragua where unfortunately the connection to internet sometimes doesn’t work. Concerning the other arguments of the review we prefer not make any comment, we would like only to clarify that before your arrival you were been informed that our chef would not be present: we apologize very much that the personal reasons of his absence may have caused doubts or irony. Best regards. For information, the works for the new coastal road will finish in few days.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mona Y wrote a review Mar 2018
6 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I planned to stay a few days at Princessa en route to little corn in December. Giving that it was high season, I contacted the host and made a hotel reservation prior to finalizing my travels. Having the hotel reservation, I then proceeded to booking flights. Once all was booked I was excited and looking forward to my trip. However I received an email from Princessa saying they had a problem with my credit card. I resent the info and asked them to confirm that all was ok. Instead, they told me that they no longer had availability. They gave up the room to another client. I argued that I had received a confirmation from them and sent them my credit card info before the other client came along.They basically dismissed this and didn’t offer any solution. Very disappointing and lacking in customer service to simply not be able to manage reservations service in a reliable fashion.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John D wrote a review Dec 2016
2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I scheduled my visit to La Princesa de la Isla during mid/late November, the end of the “low” tourist season. While my expectations were already high (set by a cousin who has returned to La Princesa several times), the total experience was more enjoyable than I had hoped.

BIG CORN ISLAND
I anticipated a trade-off of uncertain weather in exchange for fewer tourists during November, and the result was absolutely a very happy balance between the two. Few tourists, a happy mix of weather conditions, and I noticed zero annoying bugs.

I’ll let you research whether Big Corn Island is a fit for you…suffice it to say that if you’re looking for an “authentic” small community experience on a quintessentially gorgeous Caribbean island, then come immerse yourself for several days on Big Corn Island. For me the island was a refreshing experience as an “un-curated” tiny Caribbean island community of people who live a relatively “relaxed” lifestyle on Big Corn Island. Yes, my interview sample size was small, so I may be over-generalizing. But ultimately, to me the experience of Big Corn Island was so much more positively rich and interesting than I’ve found in the more “sanitized” resort communities that I’ve visited in the past.

RESORT HOSTS
Costanza and Alessandro, the owner-operator hosts, are a prominent and uniquely positive part of the experience of staying at La Princesa. Check-in feels like being warmly welcomed as a house-guest. At least one of the hosts is always available to assist in any way, or to have a lively conversation, and yet they are adept at sensing/giving you the degree of space and privacy that you desire. Ultimately, because of the hosts, I felt like a welcome visitor to a friendly and intimate community.

RESORT LOCATION
While everyone uses the ubiquitous taxis (cost is less than $1/rider to any destination), La Princesa de la Isla is a comfortable and lovely waterside walk to “town” in one direction, and to pristine white sandy beaches (which are relatively more crowded/”resorty”) in the other. The grounds are nestled among tropical trees at a rocky water’s edge with the constant din of small waves breaking. For perspective, one can reach the nearby shore - a prime snorkeling spot, by the way - with the easy toss of a coconut (or pop of a prosecco cork) from the thatch-covered outdoor dining, or from one of many waterside chill-out seating spots. This rustically historic-feeling “village” is an intimately private tiny community within the larger tiny island community.

It probably helps for visitors to be dog lovers, as the owners allow a small group of cute and wary yet friendly dogs to patrol the property (while genetically from local island stock they are evidently healthy and loved “outdoor dogs”). For me, watching their play and antics were positively additive to the total experience. On the practical side, the dogs performed the role of sentry duty. They quickly learn that visiting guests are insiders, and they do sound the alarm when strangers arrive.

RESORT FACILITIES
To my tastes La Princesa was a romantically rustic, natural, informal, exquisitely beautiful and charming paradise. I’d definitely like to return.

To my delight, and to that of the other guests I met at La Princesa, this is not a highly polished 5-star facility. The wifi can be sketchy (helpful to reduce compulsive connectivity while on holiday), and the power went out a few times during stormy conditions (I considered that part of the adventure on a tiny island in the Caribbean). “Relax” (aka “tranquilo”) is a theme there, and consciously rolling with such minor inconveniences was a helpful exercise for me to know how I was complying with this healthy spirit.

On the other hand, the waterside resort feels integrated with natural surroundings, the materials and construction feel very hand-hewn, with coral used in building materials, thatched roofs, luxuriously spongy grass and sand walkways, and even a conch shell showerhead in the grotto-feeling bathroom.

My room had everything I could wish for and more. I fell asleep in a comfortable bed (with mosquito netting that was unnecessary while I was there) listening to the sound of the ocean, and awakened to the same. I had comfortable seating areas inside and on my front porch for reading my novel, sometimes sipping Flor de Cana rum with ginger ale and lime.

Friendly and professional maid service was provided daily, and I was able to have some of my travel clothing hand-washed/dried on a clothesline that was buffeted by winds blowing straight from the Caribbean.

RESORT FOOD
I’d describe the restaurant at La Princesa as “Home-style, hand-crafted Italian with a Caribbean flair”. While several locals referred to this as the “best” restaurant on Big Corn Island, it wouldn’t be fair for me to apply such a sweeping label, since I didn’t try all of the restaurants. I will say with confidence that I wouldn’t be surprised if it were the best overall dining experience on the island. I’ve never had a total dining experience that has exceeded that which was provided by Alessandro and Costanza. Suffice it to say that, while I was eager to explore local fare, I ended up having all of my breakfasts, and three out of four dinners at La Princesa. The food, along with the company of the hosts, and the romantic/rustic waterside environment, were just too outstanding to pass up more than once per day. Meanwhile, most of my food exploration tended to be lunch (such as the extraordinary plantain tacos at the “Dos Tiburones Dive Shop”, and lobster ceviche in the upstairs of “Restaurante Relax”…I highly recommend both).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: I didn't see the inside of any of the freestanding cabanas. I was happily surprised at the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FraserCarrie wrote a review Sep 2014
Vancouver, Canada124 contributions92 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had plans to stay here based on the reviews. I went to see this place, which is through a yucky marsh; and the lack of hot water, dingy rooms, inhospitable owner, and shower in some sort of concrete ghetto made me turn away.

I asked the owner if there was ot water and she said yes as long as the power did not go out. She has no generator and when pouring the water, I can assure you it never got warm nevermind hot.

I had to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kelnet wrote a review Feb 2013
Huntington Station, New York33 contributions16 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at La Princesa de la Isla for four nights. It's located on the southern tip of Brig Bay, Waula Point. It's owned by a lovely italian family who make you feel very welcome. They make delicious Italian dinners (breakfast too), so even if you don't stay here definitely book a dinner with them. The accommodations are very rustic but comfortable. If you don't like rustic you should stay at Casa Canada.  La Princesa is a beautiful location and a short walk to Picnic and Arenas beaches.  We enjoyed our stay - it was very relaxing. But be warned that it is surrounded by "slums" as another reviewer pointed out. You can't walk around at night and you will need to take a taxi. One north coast local taxi driver told us that he will never pick up any locals in that area because it is not safe to do so.

Here is my overall review of Big Corn:

If you are looking for a very relaxing stay, with a lazy pace of activity and plenty of sunshine, the sound of ocean waves breaking on the shore, and plenty of book reading, this is the place for you.  The island is beautiful and and it feels like there are no tourists, which is nice.  Picnic Beach and Arenas Beach are very picturesque and excellent for swimming, sun bathing, and grabbing an ice cold cerveza with fresh ceviche. The north coast is very pretty with palm tree lined beaches and good spots for snorkeling.  There seemed to be more tourists there and the locals are friendlier.

It is worth noting that the people of this island are extremely poor and the tourism infrastructure isn't here yet. There are very few restaurants on the island with the exception of the hotels. There is nothing to do nightlife wise. There is Nico's where the locals hang out, but the locals are not friendly so you may not want to go there necessarily. Depends on your comfort level. There is nothing in Brig Bay town except the panga to Little Corn (a must do). We stayed on Big Corn for four nights total, which was enough time. In hindsight we would have rather stayed on Little Corn: better vibe, more tourists, more of an atmosphere overall.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Ignazio2
1 contribution
Hi there, In front of us is nice with an underwater short point that goes in the deepest sea in about 40 m from the shore. To snorkel here is nice. In the island there are two diving centers that organize snorkeling tours. Then there is a piece of reef where you can go swimming eventually with a guide.
Answer from Ignazio2
1 contribution
Hi Bernadette, We are sorry but we don't have available room over the Christmas holiday. Thank you to written us. Best regards
Answer from TrulsHeilo
Oslo, Norway5 contributions8 helpful votes
Hi, how can I reach you with an request by e-mail? Best regards, Truls Heilo
lacambuse31 asked a question Sep 2017
Toulouse, France34 contributions1 helpful vote
A combien de minutes à pied se trouve cet établissement des autres commerces, restaurants ....?
Answer from Patricia D
Madrid, Spain15 contributions2 helpful votes
Big con island es una pequeña isla que no tiene un típico centro urbano con tiendas y restaurantes para turistas. Es lo mágico del destino. En playa blanca que está a 10minutos a pie se puede comer en varios restaurantes a diferentes precios. También hay taxis muy baratos que te llevan por toda la isla por solo 20 córdobas por persona.
Julian P wrote a tip Apr 2017
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bungalows are the best"
Read full review
yaneyar wrote a tip Jan 2017
Miami, Florida3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All Rooms face the ocean. Bungalow #1 the best breeze, Bungalow #2"
Read full review
Andrea C wrote a tip Jan 2017
Miami, Florida3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have ocean view. Bongallow #1 has phenomenal air flow. Bongallow #2 has great bathroom."
Read full review
Silvia wrote a tip Jan 2017
Rome, Italy67 contributions70 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Single Lodges"
Read full review
John D wrote a tip Dec 2016
2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I didn't see the inside of any of the freestanding cabanas. I was happily surprised at the feeling of privacy in my room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Big Corn Island area.
PRICE RANGE
$43 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NicaraguaSouthern Atlantic Autonomous RegionCorn IslandsBig Corn Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LA PRINCESA DE LA ISLA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about La Princesa de la Isla
Which popular attractions are close to La Princesa de la Isla?
Nearby attractions include The Soul Of The World (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Princesa de la Isla?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at La Princesa de la Isla?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Princesa de la Isla?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Princesa de la Isla?
Conveniently located restaurants include Darinia's Kitchen, Pizzeria Italia, and Sea Side Grill.
Does La Princesa de la Isla have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Big Corn Island HotelsBig Corn Island Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Big Corn IslandHotels near La Princesa de la Isla
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars