We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala

Save
Share
bordering Yala National Park,15-20 minute drive to the park’s ticket office, Yala National Park 90714 Sri Lanka
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (310)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (24)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
Updated 06/14/20

About

#8 of 53 Specialty lodging in Yala National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Mahoora is a holistic experience from your arrival to the departure focused on living in the wild and wildlife viewing and not just an accommodation option only.All the Safaris are included in the price. Mahoora safaris include high quality Safari Jeep / all the entrance and permit fees, sumptuous picnic basket and an unlimited supply of chilled beverages and a Mahoora Naturalist to ensure the best animal sightings and interpretations. All of Mahoora elite tents are set-up just prior to your arrival, and are moved out after your departure, thereby minimizing impact on the environment. This "Pack in and Pack out" aspect combined with all other green initiatives; guarantee to make your stay with Mahoora the one of the most environmentally friendly accommodation in Sri Lanka.Mahoora is an all inclusive stay and Tea / coffee, Tropical Fresh Fruit Juices, Beer & Spirits, Wine, and Snacks all are included in to the price. Mahoora's Fine Dining Executive Chefs will prepare tantalizing meals to suit your personal tastes, whilst adding in a few culinary surprises. This is just one aspect of the unique Mahoora adventure which keeps clients returning to the wild, time and time again.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Public wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Outdoor fireplace
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming

Location

Full view
356Reviews7Q+A43Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 272
  • 55
  • 10
  • 10
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Naleefa Marso wrote a review Sep 9
1 contribution
Loved the tents, very cosy and clean. The dining areas were in a wonderful setting and looked especially lovely in the evenings. Our meals were very tasty. And all the staff were very friendly, helpful and polite.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Sajith W wrote a review Jul 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka66 contributions19 helpful votes
It was one of the best experiences we had during our stay at Mahoora tented camps. We were travelling with some friends and with their families and all of them enjoyed the stay at the camp site. The staff were super friendly and they were really professional as well. The food served during the meals were always mouthwatering for everyone and it had many choices to select. The night BBQ dinner was one of the great experiences we all had. The naturalists were very professional and always willing to go an extra mile to give you a lifetime experience in the wilderness. The tents were so spacious, modern, clean and they were having the attached bathrooms with hot water facilities. The night walks arranged by them gave a chance to see some nocturnal animals in the wild. The experience we had was " Marvellous & Unique " Definitely we will come back and stay more nights in the future
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
scgrantham wrote a review Mar 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom112 contributions46 helpful votes
What a fabulous place to stay. We were made so welcome. Tent was great every luxury you could want. Dinner was a bbq with us all sat around a lovely fire a lovely evening and good meal with wine. Later in the evening we were taken for a night walk where we were shown sleeping birds in tree, frogs insects etc. We were with a great crowd of people too. The whole of the staff from the Manager who sorry I cannot remember his name was great as was Avinka our naturalist to Stephen and Manjrela. BUT the best bit for us was on about the last 5minutes of the Safari, we saw what we came for YES a leopard, he was gorgeous and posed for ages for us to get photographs. Our driver and Avinka us two and another member of staff we all went mad once the leopard had disappeared into the bush. We highly recommend this camp. Avinka can we please have the picture of Michaels face please. Chris and Steve 👏👏🙋‍♀️
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: We had tent 17 which we liked but all were good as plenty of space between them all.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Anuruddha B, Manager at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
Responded Apr 26, 2020
Dear scgrantham, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a wonderful review, we really appreciate it. We are thrilled that you had a lovely stay with us. Avi, Nalin, Thushara, Wasantha and the rest of the team were very pleased to see the positive feedback. We hope you visit us again next time you are in Sri Lanka!
Read more
Goansoon wrote a review Mar 2020
Dundee, United Kingdom516 contributions96 helpful votes
This was the second of three Mahoora camps in our trip and it easily matched what we had found in the first camp. We had been given Elite tents which included free drinks, not that we had time for much drinking. The Elite tents are two joined together and are huge with hot and cold running water and a flushing toilet. The camp was very quiet, for our first two nights we were the only guests. A large party came in for the third night, and I have to tell you their singing at 10pm was not appreciated, as we had the usual 0530 start. We had a vehicle for the four of us with Abidu the chief naturalist as guide. The roads in Yala are absolutely terrible, and it is not a relaxing safari. The place goes crazy when a leopard is sighted with vehicles flying everywhere; it is not pleasant. No wonder the animals do not hang around. Many vehicles only have two people in them and the park really needs to fill vehicles to stop the frantic driving. We much preferred Wilpattu. We still enjoyed it, and saw most of what we hoped to see. The staff in the vehicle and at camp were really great, and the food was superb. It was interesting that we were only offered a cocktail on the last night when the camp manager was present, whereas in Wilpattu cocktails were offered every night.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Anuruddha B, Manager at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
Responded Apr 26, 2020
Dear Goansoon, We are overwhelmed by your fabulous words and as a company who are trying our very best to uphold our values and be sustainable in every aspect, this is really great. Extremely glad to see that you were able to consciously enjoy our product and its an absolute honour to be of service to you as well. Hope to see you on your future travels as well.
Read more
LGC wrote a review Feb 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom2,313 contributions278 helpful votes
+1
Stayed two nights in a deluxe tent with shower and w/c. Bed was comfy and the provided fan a godsend. We even had our own little visitor who happened somehow to get into the tent. Food was good and the staff amazing. Unfortunately we didn’t see any leopards on safari but did see lots of other animals.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Anuruddha B, Manager at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Dear Millymolly77, Thank you so much for sharing your comments on your stay with us. We are truly happy that you had a good time with us and thank you for the appreciation for our staff and service which we consider as our strong suit at the camps. Thank you again and do visit us on your future travel.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$547 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mahoora luxury tented safari camp yala hotel yala national park
LOCATION
Sri LankaYala National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
Which popular attractions are close to Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala?
Nearby attractions include Kataragama Temple (3.1 miles), Tissamaharama Raja Maha Vihara (1.1 miles), and Kiri Vehera (3.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.