We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Weligama Bay Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Weligama Bay Resort
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Weligama Bay Resort in April of 2016 for work, but it most certainly felt like pleasure. The staff was attentive, the small hotel was lovely and had a great tropical feel. Good WiFi throughout the property. I recommend a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank fjsuarez
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice clean rooms and polite staff. The villas are the best option. The spa is good with capable staff. Food is basic. As this was off season the hotel was empty apart from us and our friends so difficult to judge what it will be like during busy periods. The view and privacy is ruined by the ghastly looking ten... More 

Helpful?
Thank pandula w
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Pandula W Thank you for your review. We are happy you liked our rooms, were satisfied with our staff attitude to you and enjoyed massage in our Bawana Spa where we provide our guest with both male and female therapists and wide offer of massages. The Marriott hotel construction next door is almost finished; they do some garden, lobby... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

First of all the good points : the beach is great and the staff is very nice !!! BUT .... the hotel seriously need some maintenance and care on several points. We are a family of 4 and so we always book 2 rooms. The 2 rooms that they gave us initially had a quite strong smell of mold .... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rickyfox47
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Riccardo, Thank you for your review. It´s clear you liked the beach, which is just in front of our hotel as well as our staff approach. All reviews are important for us because they may allow us to improve our performance. However, your review might be influenced by a situation which happened when you arrived. You booked 2 single... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

A quiet and relaxing beach resort with 24-rooms overlooking the picturesque Weligama Bay. The staff are most pleasant and amazingly self-managed taking care of the every day needs. I have stayed here a few times and find the junior suites the most comfortable and spacious with a full seaview. I prefer room A03 over room A02 for the configuration. Families... More 

Helpful?
Thank Howard M
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Howard Thank you for your review as well as for your stays in Weligama Bay Resort. Our aim is to be a boutique hotel with a family touch and with both professional and pleasant staff approach towards our guests. And yes Junior suites are very comfortable rooms and we may offer to our guests more options such as Superior... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

Pros - there is access to the weligama beach from the hotel - rooms are quite nice Cons - the food (morning buffet) is horrible - totally not worth the money spent - hotel is old and there is construction going on right next to the hotel We were so disappointed with the hotel we left after one day instead... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lakshani
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lakshani Thank you for your comment. It´s good to read that you have liked our room as well as the direct access from the garden to the beach. Our rooms are equipped with furniture from Bali which is completed with local hand made products. We maintain the hotel during whole year and every low season we concentrate on specific... More 

Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

We were there a the start of the offseason so everywhere was quite empty/slow, which we thought was great. Room was just as pictured on the site, clean and comfortable. The staff were very nice and helpful. The Breakfast buffet exceeded my expectations as other hotels that I've been to in Sri Lanka don't compare to this place. Great pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank DubaiHappytraveler
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear DubaiHappytraveler Thank you for your positive review of our hotel as well as our staff service. We always try to do the best and more. And it´s great to read that we are succeeding. Yes start of offseason is peaceful time but still with very good weather and conditions for surfers who are frequent guests in Weligama Bay Resort... More 

givatim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

we stayed there for 3 nights,the room was OK but it's not a 4 star hotel.u can't dark the room,the drainage in the shower don't work properly,the room was full of ant,no wifi signal at the room and the breakfast can be better. the staff was good and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank sagishakargi
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

Overall, the experience is quite pleasant. We stayed in a garden villa, which is a perfect size for a family with young children and offers quick pool access. The rooms are clean, functional and spacious. The pool has a nice area for young children, which worked really well for us. Not much shade. The beach is great, but the surf... More 

Helpful?
Thank sbvt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016

If you are looking for a beautiful place to stay where the staff treat you great stay here. Right by the beach and the food was local and good. Also easy access to town and traveling. Nice central location with security at the front. I left my room unlocked most of the time with no issue.

Helpful?
Thank Scott L
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016

Weligama Bay Resort is a beautiful and peaceful place to stay with great food, people, and things to do, especially if you love to surf or want to learn how. This hotel is located in the perfect spot for surfing and relaxing on the beach in Weligama. It is also situated so that you can pick up a taxi ride... More 

Helpful?
Thank ANGELA J
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (171)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
0.0 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.0 mi away
W15
W15
#2 of 12 in Weligama
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
4.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eden Resort & Spa
Eden Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Beruwala
4.5 of 5 stars 1,266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saman Villas
Saman Villas
#1 of 29 in Bentota
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungle Beach Resort
Jungle Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kuchchaveli
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Address: Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Price Range: $101 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#3 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay