We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Weligama Bay Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Weligama Bay Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
San diego
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This resort was perfect for me. A friend and I looked at various hostels and surf camps but ultimately opted for something more upscale. The staff was incredibly attentive, courteous and friendly. To be able to leave my air conditioned room, bee-line to the restaurant for an espresso and then grab a rental board and be in the water 20...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have visited this hotel for lunch on various occasions and have never yet been disappointed. There is a large cool indoor restaurant but also tables on a terrace outside, right on the beach, so you can listen to the waves whilst eating. The menu contains a mix of local Sri Lankan and Western Dishes. I have tried both -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Beautiful spacey rooms, nice view, good service. Clean and nice beach - no rocks or other hazards - perfect also for kids. The spa in the hotel was way too expensive. Overall impression: a great place to stay. You' ll feel it in your wallet too, though :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mmm5858
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is simply lovely - very quiet, very green, very nice. I'll start with the room - we were in the garden villa which accommodates 3 people - the room was great - very big, the washroom is large, and most importantly, very clean. The housekeeping clean better than any other hotel i've stayed in (even if you dont...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daria_Dol
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Daria, Thank you very much for your kind words about Weligama Bay Resort and our staff performance. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you liked our garden villa layout. Garden villa, with its terrace and very comfortable chairs, is very popular between couples and/or families with one or two smaller kids as it´s possible to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm one of those guilty Trip Advisor users who almost never writes reviews, but I feel like this place deserves one because it is nicer than I expected from the photos, reviews, and website. (That never happens!) My family of 4 (my husband, myself, and 2 boys ages 10 and 12) absolutely loved it. Our room, a family villa, was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wanderingKJ
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying in this hotel for 8 days and trying 3 diff rooms due to high season. All rooms were really nice, especially Junior Suite. Personnel is really friendly and helpful. But in case you have any concerns, they are easily solved by nice relationship manager!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 11, 2016

I was impressed by the pictures I saw online and booked a villa for three nights in November. After our arrival we were shown our villa , looked ok from outside but there were major issues. A cockroach in the room and ants in the bathroom No internet connection, when asked given a password which didn't work so we had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rickdees23
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Rickdees Thank you for your review and we are sorry you didn´t enjoy your stay. We would like to assure you that we take seriously any constructive critique because that´s a way to improve our service. However, we have to say that an internet connection was the only thing you were not happy with and shared this reservation with...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed December 7, 2016

We recently visited the hotel and stayed over night place is beautiful and very clam hotel. Hotel staff helps us to do the most exciting excursion that is whale watching in Mirissa on Sunday early morning. It was soo exciting and very worth full excursion. We are able to do it because of the hotel staff support. Thank you very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sasantharodrigo
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sasantharodrigo, We would like to thank you for your kind comment and we are happy that you enjoyed your one-night stay in Weligama Bay Resort as well as your whale watching trip. The guest's satisfaction is always our main concern and help to our guests with their trips is simply part of it. The best time for whale watching...

Reviewed November 29, 2016

We stayed in Weligama Bay Resort with the family of 4. We stayed for 10 nights. We booked a suite in the top floor of the main building with great view over the hotel garden and the sea. The room was spacious with one living room and one bedroom. It was clean and furnished with nice wooden furniture. One point...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radek E
Matara, Sri Lanka
Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile

We went there recently and really liked the place..It is located at a side of beautiful bay area. Staff were very helpful. Food and drinks were really good as well. Ideal place to have a nice cold beer at evenings..Wanna visit this nice place again..Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ssjcreations
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

220 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (201)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weligama hotels
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#2 of 12 in Weligama
180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Weligama
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#3 of 12 in Weligama
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#7 of 12 in Weligama
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
GOOD STORY (Neptune Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Address: Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Price Range: $107 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#3 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Weligama Bay Resort staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Paris, France
14 days ago
3 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Weligama Bay Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Rickdees23, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
“All good with sea views”
 of 5 bubbles M3556SWjasonp, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“Garden villas are large and very luxurious”
  • Garden villa - exterior
  • Restaurant, pool and sea wiew
  • Garden villa - interior
 of 5 bubbles filips355, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“be careful staff will ripped off you - push them to pay by the credit card”
 of 5 bubbles HARSHA_PERERA, Sep 5, 2016 | Read review
“The sea-side cottages--though expensive-- certainly provide better ambeince and view!”
 of 5 bubbles Sundararajan51, Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay