We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Start your review of Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel
 Click to rate
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago

Breakfast was good. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Loved the pool! Very well kept property. Other than the A/C in the room not being strong enough we have no complaints about the hotel. Had an awesome time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Praveena G
Reviewed March 10, 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel and restaurant, with fine and sincere staff! Kind, sympathetic and generous people work here. Very nice home atmosphere and cuisine, we are glad that we visit Weligama Ocean Breez and got acquainted with the owners! We will definitely come again! I recommend to everyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sadanand A
Reviewed March 1, 2017

We stayed here only 1 night. The main reason that we only stayed 1 night was that Weligama may be a great area if you are a surfer. But we are not. The water on the beach is quite brown which apparently is caused by the very fine sand. You dont really want to swim in that water. Besides the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klaus H
Marlborough, UK
Reviewed February 26, 2017

Our first experience - 8 days - of warm Sri Lankan hospitality. Manned by very relaxed, helpful & friendly staff. Always on hand to come up with what you needed - whether an extra towel for the pool, a cold Lion beer or transport for a day trip out. The 3am pre-arranged pick up from Colombo Airport worked like a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cricketvilla
Reviewed February 21, 2017

Really enjoyed our stay at Ocean Breeze , accommodation was good, rooms were clean and staff were very helpful and went out their way to please their guests. Pack the mosquito spray , rooms have nets to cover the beds so that's a plus. Location is great, cross the road and you on the beach. Not a very busy beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenneth m
Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

Excellent location - right opposite the beach. Super friendly staff - really helped us with our itinerary and helped negotiate some good discounts on activities! Great breakfast included and even sorted us breakfast for our tour that left at 4am! Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 21, 2017 via mobile

The room was of a good size and clean. It was close to the beach. However the staff seemed disinterested in the guests. The lack of supervision of the reception desk meant that security of hotel could be compromised easily. It was expensive for the standard of hotel and the overall service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GHUK29
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at ocean breeze for 4 days! The staff is SO friendly and sweet!!! Very helpful as Well. The accommodation is worth every penny! Food is good! Its right next to The Beach! But best of all.. You'll see gekkos In The garden all The time;-) We highly recommend this place!!! Thomas & Laura - Denmark

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
Reviewed November 2, 2016

I arrived to Welligama to surf with my son and Ocean Breeze is the best location to stay. It's located near to the beach and it was perfect to our needs. The rooms was clean, the stuff was great. Grate value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yoni L
Reviewed October 20, 2016 via mobile

pros: next to the beach, but not suitable for swimming. has a swimming pool. 800m from the bus station. cons: no hot water at all when there is no sun. smelly and humid rooms. sandy floor in the room. staff tried to scam us: we ordered a standard room, when we arrived they showed us a used and dirty room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amstel85
WOBreeze, Manager at Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we value all comments and feedback. You booked a basic room (not standard) which is our cheapest room. We offered you a FREE upgrade for a standard room or a 15 USD supplement for an upgrade in a deluxe room. Our hotel does not "scam" guests and we always make our best to satisfy everybody's needs. You never...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.8 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 12 in Weligama
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 12 in Weligama
213 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Weligama
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#6 of 12 in Weligama
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Weligama
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New hotel with outdoor swimming-pool. Spacious, clean, AC rooms equiped with a very comfortable bed. Hotel located just opposite the superb Weligama Beach which offers activities that suit all tastes : swimming, diving, surfing, whale-watching, etc ... more   less 

Additional Information about Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel

Address: 487 New Bypass Road, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Price Range: $39 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Weligama Ocean Breeze Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Go for the Deluxe rooms. Much more comfy.”
PraveenaG_13, 1 week ago | Read review
“First floor rooms overlooking the beach are the nicest.”
AndyAlison, Mar 7, 2016 | Read review
“you'll find the place so nice that you don't want to spent hours in your room. so don't worry what room to take :)”
B732PCalexl, Feb 17, 2016 | Read review
“view to the ocean,AC”
Hadasms, Dec 7, 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the first floor not facing the beach are quieter (road between hotel and beach can be a bit noisy during day)”
Pandla01, Aug 22, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question