We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Robin Hill Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Robin Hill Suites
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Start your review of Robin Hill Suites
 Click to rate
London
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time in Weligama at Robin Hill Suites. Nuwan who own and runs the former colonial governor's residence has done a fabulous job of retaining character while adding mod-cons the 21st century traveller craves. We used it as a base to explore mirissa (whale watching) and the beaches close to Unawatuna. Keep up the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kandarp80
nuwan39, Manager at Robin Hill Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at Robinhill. I appreciate your valuable comments and look forward to seeing you and your family again.

London
Reviewed December 31, 2016 via mobile

Restored beautifully... This place boasts a central courtyard which serves as the main artery for its many rooms. The outdoor pool is heavenly (they even have a small workout area). The owner, Nuwan is well spoken and is always eager to help with suggestions. No a/c and Wi-Fi is a little patchy but it's perfect for a tranquil getaway! P.s....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2TravellingLondoners
nuwan39, Manager at Robin Hill Suites, responded to this review

Glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Robinhill. Hope to see you next year too. Thank you

Scotland and New Zealand
Reviewed December 10, 2015

My second visit to this calm and welcoming establishment. I raved so much about Robin Hill, the rooms, the food and the people running it when I got back to Scotland that 3 friends begged me to take them on my next visit. So here we were, 2 years later and 2 weeks into our Sri Lankan visit, exhausted from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alhcookboy
Weligama, Manager at Robin Hill Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your second visit and we were very happy to welcome you again as one of our most fascinating guests. Your thoughts of Robinhill and staff are highly appreciated and we all are looking forward to your next visit. Thank you again

Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights after 3 weeks of travelling around Sri Lanka and it was a great way to spend our last few days on the island. We stayed in a very clean and spacious room, which had an adjoining room which was nice to be able to use as a dressing room. The hot water shower which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry P
nuwan39, Manager at Robin Hill Suites, responded to this review

Thank you

Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I am currently staying at Robin Hill. The place is absolutely exquisite. A beautiful "walauwa" or traditional Sri Lankan mansion perfectly restored to its original grandeur, with antique furnitures and paintings. It took the owners over 5 years to fully refurbished the place and make it what it is today. Every details has been carefully thought of with great taste....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyer033
nuwan39, Manager at Robin Hill Suites, responded to this review

Thank you

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Beware guys. We did our booking for Robin Hills via Booking.com for 1-2 Jan; however weren't allowed to stay there. I've never come across someone so rude in the hospitality business. The owner said he'd cancelled our booking, but wasn't able to produce any email proof of the same. He goes to the extreme of making us speak to a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mokamojo
Weligama, Owner at Robin Hill Suites, responded to this review

First Thank you for taking interest in Robinhill. I'm sorry for not being able to offer you Robinhill hospitality. As you knew, unfortunately there was no booking for you at Robinhill though you had booked it via booking.com but later cancelled due to unavailability. Not only I tried to offer you free transport to your booked hotel but also I...

Brescia, Italy
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have been staying at the Robin Hill for two nights. It is an old traditional house run by Nuwan, a fantastic host who will take care of you as if you were kings. There are three rooms only and the feeling is really to be at home. The atmosphere is fantastic, specially in the evening when sitting in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enricasen
Weligama, Manager at Robin Hill Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your appreciation. It makes all of us at Robinhill extremely proud and happy to know that our efforts to make you stay a memorable and enjoyable one was fruitful and that you left us with a desire to come back. There can be no greater compliment for us and we certainly look forward to seeing you at...

Pisogne, Italy
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

In this 140 years old house build by Dutch people, we found our stay as best as it could be during our journey to Sri Lanka. The place is well renewed without loosing its original atmosphere, still candles to light up the rooms in case of electricity brake down and still the perfect cooker Prema to prepare our breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariodelisi
nuwan39, Manager at Robin Hill Suites, responded to this review

Thank you. See you at Robinhill again.

Varkala, Kerala, India
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My stay at Robin Hill was out of necessity a short one. But I could easily have stayed and stayed. Nuwan, the affable owner, has done such a great job of restoring the old colonial home - tastefully and with such consummate skill - it was like entering a genteel bygone era. He and his ever-smiling staff were always on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VillaJacaranda
Scotland and New Zealand
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel strongly enough. Nuwan runs a truly wonderful establishment and although i left after 5 days on an exciting trip around the rest of the island I was really sad to leave. The rooms are built around a central courtyard with scented frangipani trees giving a relaxed and shady place to sit and unwind after a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alhcookboy
Weligama, Manager at Robin Hill Suites, responded to this review

Thank you Eric. We were delighted to welcome you at Robinhill. More over, we are encouraged a lot now with your comments of our hospitality. It is a genuine measurement to have such comments from a guest house owner / chef . We will always welcome you at Robinhill and provide you the best possible hospitality.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weligama hotels
0.0 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#6 of 12 in Weligama
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 12 in Weligama
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 12 in Weligama
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aussie Swiss Beach Resort
Aussie Swiss Beach Resort
#3 of 88 in Weligama
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
#5 of 12 in Weligama
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Robin Hill, a splendid, century-old colonial house (wallauwa) in the coastal village of Weligama, an ideal place to relax and unwind, and a base for exploring Sri Lanka's many island attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Robin Hill Suites

Address: 39 Kandewattha, Weligama, Matara, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Price Range: $73 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Robin Hill Suites staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Robin Hill Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms have the same style antique furnisings and en-suite bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles alhcookboy, Dec 10, 2015 | Read review
“Robin Hill is obviously not a 5 star hotel but a very upscale lodge so don't expect all the service and facilities of a larger hotel. Robin Hill is ideally located in downtown Weligama 100 meter from the main beach and the iconic Taprobane Island. You can easily walk to town center or railway station in less than 15 minutes. Many restaurants and bars are also within walking distance. Rooms have no A/C but very adequate natural ventilation. There are no TVs in the rooms... Don't miss it”
 of 5 bubbles frequentflyer033, Mar 8, 2014 | Read review
“All rooms seemed similar but with individuality will no doubt vary slightly.”
 of 5 bubbles alhcookboy, Nov 30, 2013 | Read review
“There is an upstairs suite that seemed very airy and the best choice. This wasn't available when we stayed on accoungt of minor repairs, but I recommend requesting this room if possible, as the downstairs suite can get a bit stuffy in the evenings.”
 of 5 bubbles IainBuchanan, Apr 4, 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question