We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
22 Modarawatta, Pelena, Matara 81700 Sri Lanka
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$95
eDreams$95
Agoda.com$95
FindHotel$95
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (466)
Dining (74)
Room & Suite (67)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Twenty-Two Weligambay
Updated 07/19/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Weligama
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.7
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
Twenty-Two Weligambay is located at Polathumodara in between the world famous Weligama and Mirissa Beaches in the Southern Coast of Sri Lanka. With exclusive beach access, Twenty-Two Weligambay offers guests the best of Sri Lankan sun, surf and sand with natural and cultural attractions nearby.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Concierge
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Taxi service
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
282Reviews7Q+A43Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 221
  • 38
  • 14
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Cecil R wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
+1
We had the privilege of staying in 22Weligambay Hotel recently and it was our first time in this hotel. The Food, friendly Staff and the Hotel is excellent. Further more to our surprise our room was upgraded to the very spacious ‘Ocean View Suite’ where we enjoyed every moment of our staying in this hotel and it was unfortunate that we could not stay longer due to our other commitments. We will definitely come back. Special THANK YOU to the Manager and his staff. We have stayed in many other hotels in other parts of Sri Lanka, but 22Weligambay is ‘The Best’. Thanks to the Management. We recommend this hotel to anyone who wish to visit down south / southern coast of Sri Lanka. Thumbs up to the Management.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Best Ocean View and Top Floor Suite.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Manoj Silva, General Manager at Twenty-Two Weligambay
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Cecil, Thank you very much for the great review and spent your valuable time for us! This will help for the new visitor's who plan to visit us. Would like to see you once again and will share this with my team. Ayubowan!
Read more
Amayaa wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
This is a lovely option away from the bustle in Central weligama, with lovely staff. Suddas surf school next door is also great for lessons. We were able to get a sea view room, thanks to the kind manager. Highly recommend trying to book this room - the view is amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Manoj Silva, General Manager at Twenty-Two Weligambay
Responded May 16, 2022
Dear Amaya, Thank you so much for the great words and specially share your experience here! We all like to see you once again. Ayubowan!
Read more
HLT wrote a review Apr 2022
8 contributions3 helpful votes
Cleanest room we had during our whole road-trip. We had a room with oven view which was incredible. The staff goes beyond and above to make your stay as comfortable as possible! The pool area is nice to relax from surfing class. The food we had in the restaurant was also good.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Manoj Silva, General Manager at Twenty-Two Weligambay
Responded Apr 17, 2022
Dear Value Guest, It was a great pleasure to hear this from you. In this very difficult situation we all love do our best for our all visitors. Will share this with my staff and would love to see you again. Auybowan!
Read more
Vera wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
It was my first time in Sri Lanka and my first time in this hotel - I will definitely come back. + Staff: very accommodating and helpful - they read guests' every wish. + Food: The chef definitely knows about first class gastronomy and caters to individual requests. + Pool: the pool is very nice and not too deep. + Location: excellent - by TukTuk or cab organized by the hotel you can be in Weligama in 5-10min. Since the hotel is not directly in the city, you can also escape well from the city chaos. In general, you can contact the staff (and especially the manager) with special individual wishes and requests and they do everything possible to make you feel comfortable. Thank you very much!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The rooms on the ocean side have an incredibly beautiful view (rooms further up are quieter).
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Manoj Silva, General Manager at Twenty-Two Weligambay
Responded Jan 7, 2022
Dear Donja, It's a great pleasure to read your feedback and hope you all will stay with us again? We all very happy to hear this. Thank you so much for the time and the lovely words!!!! Ayubowan!
Read more
Husainy K wrote a review Dec 2021
Mumbai, India34 contributions4 helpful votes
on recommendation of our driver went to Twenty two weligambay. And it was like a relief. Superb hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Environment and interiors awesome with beach facing rooms and direct access to the beach. Food was also superb with quite s variety. Would recommend everyone visiting Mirissa to stay at Twenty two weligambay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Manoj Silva, General Manager at Twenty-Two Weligambay
Responded Dec 9, 2021
Dear Husainy K, Thank you very much for the time and the review! This makes easy to choose hotels in our area for new visitors. Look forward to welcome you all again! Ayubowan!
Read more
Misterdilly wrote a review Nov 2021
Brisbane, Australia6 contributions
Me and my friend spent 3 days last week and loved every minute of it. It is the fourth time I have visited twentytwo this year. I can easily say this is the best value beachfront property in Weligama. The view is amazing, staff courteous and hospitable. We will be back again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Manoj Silva, General Manager at Twenty-Two Weligambay
Responded Nov 7, 2021
Dear Value Guest, Thank you very much for the words share here! We all love to see you again and again. Will share this with my team and all will love to see you again! Stay safe! Ayubowan!
Read more
Paul Klachko wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions
Still Stay in this hotel from 10/29/2021 for 2 weeks and i think all aspects of this place is not ready for accepting a guests. Cleaning room each 3-4 days but if you don't notify the personnel about that so your room will stay dirty. I was curious about stuped rule of providing Wifi vouchers just maximum for 2 devices and only for 7 days, after this period you should take new vouchers. And Wifi speed is very slow. All Hotel staff have very poor English except the general manager. If you want to call reception from your room then better to have a chance because it's on reception desk and there is always no one there. Bottom line. By staying in this hotel you always need to ask and search for somebody to help you in regular things that should work but they are not working. Understand there were 2 empty seasons in Sri Lanka but this place is not ready to accept guests. P.S. Due to this place being very close to a river the coast near the hotel is extremely dirty and ocean water is brown. Be very carefull on this hotel beach, so many sand fleas, photo is attached.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Manoj Silva, General Manager at Twenty-Two Weligambay
Responded Nov 8, 2021
Dear Value Guest, As we are battered by the long closures and no guests from time to time due to lock downs following Covid pandemic we express our concern about inadequacies in some areas of service but what you have written about the cleaning and cleanliness of the hotel is not correct. We have given our utmost priority to room cleanliness which could be confirmed by reading few reviews written down below. As per the wifi connection we have a policy of two connections per double room as all these are included in the very very discounted rate offered to you. And the speed from time to time of course could be due to technical problems of the provider which is out of our control and no one has ever complained about the speed so far. We guarantee our beach doesn’t have sand flies and what you have experienced may not be from our locality as we are aware you have visited some other areas where sand flies are abundant. The river mouth is close to the hotel with very good scenically beautiful beach which is basically not crowded and due to very active monsoonal rains continuing and with flooding of upriver areas the water of the ocean in front of the hotel is muddy which is of course beyond our control too. And which will disappear with few days of dry weather. Thank you for taking lot of time to write this review trying to tarnish our image the reason for your writing is still unknown to us. Ayubowan!
Read more
Chulanga K wrote a review Oct 2021
Colombo, Sri Lanka2 contributions1 helpful vote
Great hotel for a funfilled getaway. Staff is very friendly and very helpful the food is excellent cleanliness is off the charts every room gets a safe to keep your belongings are safe. All room have an A/C so that u can sleep comfortably I'd highly recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Just be kind to the staff
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Manoj Silva, General Manager at Twenty-Two Weligambay
Responded Nov 2, 2021
Dear Value Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experience here! We all as team would love to see you again. Ayubowan!
Read more
Sharlene P wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Very friendly staff. Clean rooms and good food... excellent service during trying times. Wish we had stayed longer. Only concern was that a bus couldn’t get to the property as the road was too narrow.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Manoj Silva, General Manager at Twenty-Two Weligambay
Responded Nov 2, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the words! If we new this we can arrange shuttle service from main road. Ayubowan!
Read more
Jan wrote a review Oct 2021
Colombo, Sri Lanka94 contributions7 helpful votes
It was so pleasant how Manoj and team helped me to throw my friend's surprise birthday party... from check in till we checked out, the entire staff was accommodating and I appreciate the support by Manoj and how we both maintained the secret :) :) The hotel got us a cake too, that was a very sweet gesture, thank you team. My friend was beyond exhilarated with the evening buffet. The food was mostly Sri Lankan cuisine and was amazing (phew, wasn't too spicy too!). The pool is quite small comparatively but it was a nice one to chill. We got the ocean view room, thank you Manoj, you made my friend's day, we both loved the room, including the basic amenities provided <3 We were in the beach during the evenings, and one of the clean down south beaches. I would definitely be back, as I loved everything from this hotel and the team :)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Manoj Silva, General Manager at Twenty-Two Weligambay
Responded Oct 17, 2021
Dear Value Guest, Thank you very much to hear this! I'll share your experience with my team. Will look forward to see you again. Ayubowan!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$65 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceMataraWeligama
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Twenty-Two Weligambay
What are some of the property amenities at Twenty-Two Weligambay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Twenty-Two Weligambay?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Twenty-Two Weligambay?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Twenty-Two Weligambay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Twenty-Two Weligambay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ceylon Beach Bar, FUJISAN RESTAURANT, and Relax beach restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Twenty-Two Weligambay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Twenty-Two Weligambay have airport transportation?
Yes, Twenty-Two Weligambay offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Twenty-Two Weligambay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Twenty-Two Weligambay?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kushta Raja Gala (2.2 miles).
Does Twenty-Two Weligambay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Twenty-Two Weligambay accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.