We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Grand Octagon Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Octagon Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 31: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Grand Octagon for a night as we stopped over at Laoag on the way to Pagudpod from Manila. The staff patiently waited for us and attended to our needs even though we checked in during the wee hours of the morning. The room itself was clean but the bathroom needs some good maintenance. I was hoping I... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jomar O
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jomar O, Thank you for your review. We value our guests hence we aim to wait and welcome you even the wee hours. It is just unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy a dip before leaving and we hope there will be another time for you to enjoy. We certainly take and value your feedback and we... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile

I visited Ilocos during the end of May in order to attend a friend's wedding. There were four of us and a friend booked our lodging here in Grand Octagon Resort. I'll try to break down our experience as detailed as possible. 1. Room - the room we booked was not available hence we were given a much better room.... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank luzi m
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Luzi M, Thank you very much for your review and we certainly appreciate it. Please allow me to apologise for the unacceptable service specially the long wait for your extra towels. The air-conditioning issue, exhaust fan and the pool should have not happened and we aim to correct these right away. We appreciate that our staff and "mannong driver"... More 

Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We reserved for two rooms for ten persons, the dorm type one, and additional beds which they told us would be in the room when we get there. We reserved for 8 adults, one is a senior citizen, and 2 children. One of us was not able to join us, so we asked the management if we would be able... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank chichay g
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Chichay G, Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your views. I can clearly see your frustration. However, I would like to highlight several issues you have raised. Firstly, the time of the year that you have booked was the peak season, hence our resort policy requires a full deposit and it is the managers discretion... More 

Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights so allow me to break it down to you as detailed as I can LOCATION It is a mere less than 15 minutes away from the airport and around 10 minutes to the Centro area. So location wise, it isn't that bad since you can easily have access to tricycles and... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank jojowtan
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jojowtan, Thank you very much for investing your time in giving us a detailed constructive feedback to our resort. We are very grateful for a fair non-judgemental comment. Your review will certainly be of help to other travellers and punters to the resort. The issues that you have highlighted will certainly be monitored and checked. The mosquito issue remains... More 

Au
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We were meet at the airport by 2 young guys pleasant lads the hotel car was almost on its last legs arriving at the site was very dark not welcoming. I asked if we could get some food and a beer the fridge was not turned on for our arrival the beer they brought was hot so they offered ice... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ross S
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear 283ross, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our resort. Its unfortunate that you had bad experience last December 28, 2014 and did not meet your expectations. I also feel that you were not happy that you have paid the full amount of your stay which was meant for 4 nights via our on-line travel agent which was... More 

Travelers are raving about these Laoag hotels

Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
621 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,640 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

Grand OctagonIs a great fami, y run hotel. It isn't the closest to Laoag which is a negative ... but the staff are so helpful and genuine that they deserve better. Yes the hotel could be modernised and some minor decoration. It has a host of potential, a lovely pool, great gardens etc. The garden and driveway could be updated... More 

Helpful?
12 Thank SurreyGirl27
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear SurreyGirl27, Thank you very much for your time in sharing your experience. We are very grateful with the things that you have highlighted, like our strong points in being so helpful and our genuine traits in hospitality which we take pride of. We will certainly utilise the potentials and improve on the amenities that you have pointed out, much... More 

Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Just ordinary hotel nothing special, its okay if your your travelling alone, breakfast is average good to last for your morning activity (fried rice, longaniza, egg) nothing special. Facility needs some improvement specially in toilet fixtures.

Helpful?
1 Thank Estrangjero
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear Estrangjero, Thank you very much for sharing your holiday experience with us and taking the time in giving us a fair review. We are very glad of your summary ratings, however we are really working hard to strive better. Again, Thank you and we hope to welcome you with a better experience. Kind regards. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

This is a very unprofessional hotel. We booked 2 rooms and paid it in advance through our cousin in Laoag. We drove from Manila to Laoag for almost 15 hours, where we arrived 12midnight but only to be confronted that the hotel have given our 2 reserved rooms to other guests. Of course we are very disappointed, and since we... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank PLDT
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Dear PLDT, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. I appreciate and hear your frustration however, I feel its not fair to be called "unprofessional hotel". We are a thriving family business and we strive to accommodate demands, requests and needs of customers. Having a limited number of rooms to sell, and the unprecedented opportunity for us to have... More 

Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Overall, good value for the price. Rooms are nothing fancy and the shower only let out hot steaming water. However, the room, pool and public areas were clean. Greatly appreciated that they accepted pets. The food was ok. However, service needs work. As stated above, only extremely hot water came out of the shower. We informed them regarding this and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DarkPhoenix901
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

Thank you iasp for sharing your experience with us. I am constantly in contact with the manager and I am aware of what has transpired throughout your stay. I appreciate several concerns that you have pointed out. a). Accommodation & Reservation, It was recorded on our booking system that it was ONLY TWO occupants for the room that was reserved... More 

Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We checked in here along with my officemates as we have a convention in Laoag last August 2013. The room is ok, it's equipped with the things that you just need for a night stay. The water in the faucet has a funky smell, I recommend that you buy a liter of water outside for your dental hygiene. I do... More 

Helpful?
Thank MyGillian
Ma Jem G, Owner at Grand Octagon Resort, responded to this review

MyGillian, thank you for your time and getting back to us since your last stay which was August 2013. We are pleased to hear about your experience that it was "OK" and enjoyed the sprawling garden of the resort. The water from the tap/faucet, we are not aware of this. However, we are going to immediately check and monitor our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

241 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Deluxe Family Room (39)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Twin Double Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laoag
3.1 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#1 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
2.4 mi away
Laoag Renzo Hotel
Laoag Renzo Hotel
#3 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
13.8 mi away
Playa Tropical Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Northview Hotel
Northview Hotel
#10 of 12 in Laoag
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
44.0 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#1 of 7 in Vigan
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
Hotel Tiffany Laoag
#7 of 12 in Laoag
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Grand Octagon Resort as an invigorating place to retreat from the chaotic city. Walk around the lush tropical gardens, camp on the well-manicured lawns, cement beautiful relationships at the cottage by the pool, appreciate the beauty of greenfields at the sentry like cottages built on century old trees and reflect on how greatly blessed you are. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Octagon Resort

Address: Along Airport Avenue | Barangay 50, Buttong, Laoag, Luzon 2900, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Ilocos Norte Province > Laoag
Price Range: $39 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Octagon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Octagon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Octagon Hotel Laoag
Grand Octagon Resort Laoag, Ilocos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay