We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$161
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/26/22
Expedia.com
Only 2 left at
$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/26/22
FindHotel
$156
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/26/22
Travelocity$160
Hotels.com$160
Priceline$161
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (43)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (8)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Bel Ombre
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Situated in the South of Mauritius, next to the coastal village of Bel Ombre, Kaz’alala is surrounded by a picturesque and historic landscape spreading across 2,500 hectares of flora and fauna within Heritage Bel Ombre. Our hosted B&B is just steps away from an elegant 19th-century Chateau (Heritage Le Chateau) and an award-winning golf course. It is located minutes from the sand and waves of a pristine beach. The houses are originally named Cabane du Cardinal , Lakaz la Mer , Cabane du Soleil and Lakaz la Vie. Our local host - Veronique - will take care of you during your stay. Kaz'alala aims at sustainable tourism by striving to promote the area's authentic experience as well as provide deep insights into how the local population lives. We collaborate with Maison Familiale Rurale to help vulnerable and ostracised young people build their professional skills and competences, followed by on-the-job training for further upskilling.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
French
64Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 38
  • 18
  • 4
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Heather M wrote a review Sep 5
Port Louis3 contributions
Kaz’alala - Don't expect a five-star hotel experience when going there, this is not a hotel. You will however get a first class, five-star B&B experience with a uniquely different experience, a hosted B&B. This is the place to go when you need a break, when you want to truly get away and don’t want to go to a hotel. Kaz’alala is the perfect spot, smaller and intimate. They have managed to get it right, with authentic Mauritian cuisine (truly scrumptious, don’t change the menu!) for guests who do not need the luxury and prefer a loving and personal feel / touch for accommodation and eating experience. It is truly a peaceful authentic place to relax and disconnect. We loved the fact that we can sit on the veranda, make a coffee in the communal kitchen, or have a sundowner and watch nature at play. Yohana, our host, thank you to you and your amazing Team for making our return trip feel like coming “home”. Your warm smile and hospitality, always going the extra mile, nothing is too much for you. Again, the amazing Mauritian cuisine by the chefs, those smells permeating from the kitchen, just amazing, thank you, you are ALL doing an amazing job. Please don’t change the all-encompassing experience and winning recipe that you have at Kaz’alala…. We will most certainly come back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alexandra C wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
It's been a few weeks since our holidays. Back home in Switzerland we still often think of our wonderful holidays at Kaz’alala. Thank you Natalie and the hole team for making our holiday so memorable. The rooms were always very clean and the staff always very helpful and polite. The breakfast buffet had everything we needed. The menu was a bit reduced, but the chef made a big effort to prepare something delicious for us. Kaz’alala is the perfect accommodation for kiters and for all those guests who do not need the luxury and prefer a loving and personal accommodation. It’s only about a 10-minute walk from the beach and the beach club. The path leads along a beautiful golf course. It was the perfect accommodation for us and we can highly recommend Kaz’alala. We will definitely return …
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
shaine wrote a review May 2022
Venezuela1 contribution
Been there for 2days with family Bad and good experience at the same time Got dirty room..no hot water,leakage room,the host Nathalie replied rudely when i told her about the problems. She don't damn care. The waiters really help us through and food was delicious
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Visit and check everything before reservation
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Isla de Casanove wrote a review Feb 2022
Port Louis23 contributions14 helpful votes
Peaceful authentic place to relax and disconnect. Excellent service and food. Simple but comfortable chalets. Access to nearby facilities. Located in the beautiful village of Bel Ombre with access to facilities in the area. Excellent for Somos, couples, families and friends.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Martin O wrote a review Jan 2022
Düsseldorf-Flingern20 contributions21 helpful votes
We had been here two times. The second time was not as goodas the first time. Reason: Our bill was over charged. We got to know after we left and went throu our records. They charged the double price and as we found out got in contact with the service personal. He did not understand our concern. After having a conversation with the management they neither did care nor appologize. No refund as we already were gone! So for everyone it is clearly fraud and to be careful when you check out.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Plenty of Mossies around the tiny pool. Rooms have proper distance to each other so do’t bother
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kirsty wrote a review Dec 2021
Mauritius8 contributions1 helpful vote
We've been there to celebrate our end of year 2020. We got the privilege to stay at Kaz'alala with our colleagues and family members. The welcoming was done amazingly by Nathalie who got the most beautiful smile in the world. The rooms are absolutely awesome. We were also able to go and visit the Villas and had lunch at Heritage Le Telfair & Awali. The 2 nights spent were just memorable. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vakansie wrote a review Nov 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa20 contributions22 helpful votes
Checked into the green house on 31st October 2021 till 5th November 2021. As a South African group we did not enjoy sharing our "house" with other holiday makers. Kitchen was ill-equipped, not enough crockery and cutlery. No wine glasses! 😳 House was not very clean and had a musty smell through it. Brought a broken bed I was sleeping on to managers attention and the situation was not well handled. Showers did not drain properly. Kitchen staff very friendly, very helpful and food we did eat delicious. It does have a swimming pool on the property which was nice. It is far to walk to the beach and in the heat quite unpleasant. Green house is right next to a house that is used to lock up the hunting dogs.... Oh my word these poor dogs in cages barked and howled all the time. Very unpleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Xiane.A wrote a review Sep 2021
Tamarin26 contributions5 helpful votes
Don't expect a five star hotel experience when going there. This is the place to go when you need a break, when you want to go far from the noisy towns, when you need a welcome of truly authentic people who want you to feel like you are guests in their own house. Thanks to the whole team for making our stay memorable. The rooms are clean (yes maybe some adjustments need to be done in the bathroom), the food great (try their "bouillon crabe"!!!) and many activities available in the surroundings.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nathalie Blin, Other at Kaz'alala Hosted B&B
Responded Oct 6, 2021
Dear Xiane_A, Warm greetings from Kaz'alala Hosted B&B! First of all, thank you for taking the time sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us. It is a real pleasure reading from you - you have well described our property, we do our upmost to provide a different and authentic way of living to all our residents. As such, there is no better rewards for the team and I to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and also well appreciated our 'bouillon crabe' made by our Chef. Please rest assured that we have also well taken note of the adjustments to be made in the bathroom and will aim to devise a new upbringing. Thank you once again for your kind words and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the near future for yet another memorable experience. Stay safe! Nathalie Your Host - Kaz'alala
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra F wrote a review Sep 2021
St. Gallen, Switzerland155 contributions59 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights in a double room. the room was small but clean. The shared kitchen and living room was clean and inviting. We had dinner at their restaurant. It was very delicious and the people soooo lovely and friendly. The whole place made us feeling home and welcome. We will be back and can only highly recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nathalie Blin, Other at Kaz'alala Hosted B&B
Responded Oct 7, 2021
Dear sandraf412, Warm greetings from Kaz'alala Hosted B&B! First of all thank you for taking the time sharing your comments with us as well as to the community of travellers following your recent stay at our property. It was a real pleasure for the team and I to have hosted you for those 3 nights and we are most pleased to read that you had throughoutly enjoyed your time with us and that the whole place makes you feel at home and welcome :) We endeavour to propose a different and authentic way of living to all of our residents and there is no better rewards for us to read that you checked out with such a feeling. Please rest assured that your kind words have been shared with the whole team who takes their role in the hospitality at heart. Once again, thank you for recommending Kaz'alala Hosted B&B and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the near future. Remaining at your disposal. Thanks and Stay Safe! Nathalie Your Host - Kaz'alala
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tagaully F wrote a review Sep 2021
Mauritius8 contributions5 helpful votes
We could not stay there had to leave at once and find a hotel luckily we got one to spend the night no cancellation Fee was applied they charged fulled n didnt want to return us part of our payment dont go there !! You will be completely disappointed
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nathalie Blin, Other at Kaz'alala Hosted B&B
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Dear Mrs & Mr Tagaully, Greetings from Kaz'alala Hosted B&B! First of all thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and the community of travellers. Please rest assured that we have well taken note of your comments and an internal investigation has been carried out and remedial actions will be taken in order to prevent any reoccurrences. May we take this opportunity to extend our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused to your goodself. However, we were surprised to read your review as you only pointed out not being comfortable with the atmosphere (too much vegetation). You were also explained why cancellation charges could not be applied after check-in and reasons for departure was you not being comfortable with the place and you were agreeable to same. Once again, the whole team and I do apologies for any inconveniences that may have been caused and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the near future. We will certainly ensure that our level of service would be up to your expectations. Wishing you a safe receipt. Thanks & Stay Safe! Nathalie Blin Your Host
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$126 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MauritiusSavanne DistrictBel Ombre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kaz'alala Hosted B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Kaz'alala Hosted B&B?
Nearby attractions include Bel Ombre Nature Reserve (0.2 miles) and World of Seashells (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kaz'alala Hosted B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Kaz'alala Hosted B&B?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kaz'alala Hosted B&B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kaz'alala Hosted B&B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kaz'alala Hosted B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Château De Bel Ombre, The Plantation Club, and Gin'ja.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kaz'alala Hosted B&B?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Kaz'alala Hosted B&B have airport transportation?
Yes, Kaz'alala Hosted B&B offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Kaz'alala Hosted B&B?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.