We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar

Save
Share
Naro-Moru Nanyuki Highway, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400 Kenya
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (83)
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (3)

About

#1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Nanyuki Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Soames Hotel and Jacks Bar is a beautiful newly constructed hotel and restaurant, located 7km from Nanyuki town on the Nanyuki Naro-Moru highway. An out of town hotel, set within a 100 acre private property overlooking Mount Kenya. Its classic contemporary style with a clean cut modern look, simply and tastefully furnished, is a great place for a meal out or an overnight stay. In the heart of the main hotel lounge area is Jack's Bar, serving freshly brewed Ethiopia coffee, cocktails and drinks with a good selection of wines, and a tempting snack menu. The cuisine is excellent, serving favorite dishes from all over the world, using the best and most fresh ingredients available, and home-made as much as possible. The hotel has 12 double en-suit rooms, with a double or twin bed configuration, flat screen TV, modern bathroom facilities and a dressing room / work space. All rooms have tea and coffee facilities.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Darts
Airport transportation
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili
142Reviews0Q+A24Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 89
  • 44
  • 2
  • 1
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Traveler wrote a review Mar 2021
Kyiv (Kiev), Ukraine493 contributions116 helpful votes
Overpriced for what you get. Hotel is in a middle of grass field There is nothing there but man made pond. There is no landscape, no flowers. Lobby is nice. Room.is large but there is no screens on windows so you can't open them.for.fresh air. There is no fan, no AC. TV has 7 channels. The worst is stuff. There is no receptionist. Bartender / manager is not pleasant . And all stuff are like that. Upon entering we were just standing there helpless while they were passing us without even asking if we need anything . Get your act together people. Learn some hospitality and how to treat your guests
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Phillipa Bengough, Owner at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Responded Mar 8, 2021
Many thanks for taking the time to review Soames Hotel. We always appreciate the feedback we get, and will take on your comments positively and constructively. We are an 'out-of-town' hotel and have never pretend to be anything other than this. If you were looking for a more wilderness place to stay there are many lovely options. We keep our grounds simple to conserve the amount of water necessary to keep them going. When we started this project 8 years ago there was literally nothing here so we are happy to at least have some medium size trees growing. All our rooms have 5 big windows and double doors. They all open up fully and we do not need screens as we have so few insects. The bed has a mosquito net for night time use. As for 'value for money' we rate along the same lines (or lower) than most similar properties in the region. I am sorry for the poor service you received - we mostly get excellent comments about our team - almost all have been here since the start. I believe it was not intended, and we are grateful you pointed this out so that we can look at ways to ensure guests on arrival get a little more attention. Hope you enjoyed your time in Nanyuki.
Read more
Alexander K wrote a review Jan 2021
4 contributions
So’ames, what a wonderful little oasis with great views. We had been invited along by friends who couldn’t stop raving about it and they weren’t exaggerating. The food was absolutely delicious, the wine fantastic and the staff incredible, very warm, welcoming and efficient. We will definitely be returning and can certainly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Mutiga wrote a review Jan 2021
Nairobi Region, Kenya3 contributions1 helpful vote
4th visit and we continue to love Soames. Quiet, neat, serene and excellent food. The staff too are friendly and accommodating. Well organized with good views of the mountain and a convenient location off the main road and to the wider region. Did I mention the food?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Grace K wrote a review Nov 2020
Juja, Kenya25 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stay with friends in the cottages for two nights. The staff were welcoming and helpful.The entire grounds, buildings and rooms were well kept, clean, cosy with a simple farmhouse concept. Meals are prepared fresh and decent portions of not too hungry😋. We appeciated beautiful sights of Mt. Kenya from the cottage rooms and outdoor dining area. Overall prices are slightly on the higher side.The double room was Ksh 11,000 for BB that accommodates. The Menu at the time due to COVID was alacarte and not buffet on average meals range ksh 1000-2000.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Beatrice W Migongo wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
It was my second time there. Honestly so disgusted 🤢 by the racism. The fact that you come to tend to only the white clients, serve them food without taking our order and still come back to check on them without acknowledging other customers! Racism by your own fellow Kenyans is disgusting 🤢 . It shouldn't matter that someone is staying at the hotel or is white. Then using the excuse that your busy. And it's so sad because your food/chef is actually great
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$115 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaRift Valley ProvinceLaikipia CountyNanyuki MunicipalityNanyuki Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Which popular attractions are close to Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
Nearby attractions include Equator Marker (3.8 miles) and Lewa Downs Primary School (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trout Tree, Cape Chestnut Laikipia Sip & Dine Nanyuki, and Carol's Cafe.
Does Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
Is Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.