We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Pelican Lodge

Nakuru - Nairobi Rd, Lake Elementaita 00502 , Kenya
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Pelican Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Pelican Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

Our stay at the hotel was terrible. The buffet lacked variety and the food was not enough for the guests. The only desert available were fruits and once in a while cake. The waiters were few, over worked and inexperienced. House keeping was done at the end of the day if you were lucky to have your room cleaned. On... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
Thepelicanlodge, Public Relations Manager at The Pelican Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time out to review The Pelican lodge; guest reviews are important to us as well as they assist in service delivery improvement. We apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay & assure ALL that this is not our norm. Intricate measures are currently underway to improve on the hiccups experience. Kindly accept our apologies... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

I shall begin from the time I booked for my family. As a travel agent, I checked the reviews and the website, before convincing my family that we should stay here, as the rooms and service seemed commendable. I even wrote an email to Eunice and told her that the last couple of reviews are not great and that I... More 

Helpful?
Thank S0nki
Thepelicanlodge, Public Relations Manager at The Pelican Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for your detailed experience. As agreed on the ground between the whole team & our management we shall be in communication to have you back as our agent once all the hiccups have been efficiently handled. Our marketing team will communicate. We thank you for your time & patience management worked to resolve the shortcomings on the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015 via mobile

What you see on the website is not what you expect. I feel wasted to have booked pelican for my holiday..the staff look oppressed not sure what to say the owner is super arrogant..total disorganisation... No kids menu even when you ask no response.. Had to go outside the facility to get food for my kids...May I not find myself... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaqueline m
Thepelicanlodge, Public Relations Manager at The Pelican Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time out to review The Pelican lodge; guest reviews are important to us as well as they assist in service delivery improvement. We apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay & assure ALL that this is not our norm. Intricate measures are currently underway to improve on the hiccups experience. Kindly note However that... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

Gladly took our deposit three months prior saying that the rooms would be ready in time. When we got there, the floors were incomplete, no outdoor paths, paint buckets still in the rooms....and worse still, unapologetic director.

Helpful?
3 Thank S M
Thepelicanlodge, Public Relations Manager at The Pelican Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings, We apologize that some matters on the ground were not up to par & take full responsibility for that. Current efforts are underway to fix these loop holes & we assure all our clients that the service offering are back to normal i.e. good services. again we re-iterate our apologies on any inconveniences caused to you as a traveler. More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

We tried to check in on 12/23. We had booked 15 rooms for a couple of days for Christmas. We had been in contact with the hotel staff since July and paid for the rooms prior to check in. The check in process took about 2 hours. There was some kind of disconnect between the staff and management. We had... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Njeri K
Thepelicanlodge, Public Relations Manager at The Pelican Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings, Allow us to begin by thanking you and your team for choosing to reserve with us, we do not take the selection lightly. We also acknowledge that there were unplanned issues / hiccups that occurred during the check in process & subsequently for this we again apologize. Communication between the team & our management followed suite after your check... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

Our stay was absolutely horrible. A disaster in all respects. The check in was atrocious and the grounds are under construction which meant cement dust and noise for the whole stay. I would advise a stay elsewhere. Preferably Serena next door.

Helpful?
6 Thank brian k
Thepelicanlodge, Public Relations Manager at The Pelican Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for your review. Kindly accept our apologies that your experience was not at par / hiccups were experience. Do note that we are already working on improving all the areas of a clients holiday experience and we are tirelessly working to ensure better service delivery. Thanks again. More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Four of us stayed at the Pelican Lodge for one day in September and another two days in October. I thought the location was really wonderful, with the sun settings and the lights reflecting on Lake Elementita for a while, illuminating the area beautifully. The rooms were very large and lofty and cool, as the roof was built with what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Monique B
Thepelicanlodge, Public Relations Manager at The Pelican Lodge, responded to this review

Management would like to thank you for your review on the lodge & will keep improving so as to ensure that future experiences are even better. Kind Regards, The Pelican Lodge Family. More 

Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

The reception was amazing, the lodge has one of the best views of Lake Elementaita. The staff we all very friendly they even washed the car on the morning of our departure for free!!. The food was great as well. Taking the nature trail walk is also exciting. Would recommend this location for all bird lovers out there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Toniwans1
Thepelicanlodge, Public Relations Manager at The Pelican Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will continuously work to ensure that we not only maintain but improve on the experience. Regards. More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

The location and accommodation are great - the rest was a huge disappointment!! A definite "lowlight" of the weekend was the poor food quality, other than the vegetables. The meat that was served was of a poor quality, on top of which it was badly prepared. The hot breakfast was a disaster, not to mentioned the pre-used "vacuum packed" preserves... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GertHofhuis
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Spent an overnight at Pelican last weekend with my beloved. Highlight was our room with a gorgeous, comfortable four-poster (great night's sleep) and soothing balcony for a sundowner with nice view up Lake Elementita with lights of other establishments reflecting peacefully on the still water. Large, cold, lime green bathroom with concrete partitions would be more inviting with some nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (99)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Elementaita
0.0 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
#3 of 7 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
#1 of 7 in Lake Elementaita
5.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sleeping Warrior Lodge
The Sleeping Warrior Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This is an Exclusive, Luxurious and Outstanding lodge with ten cottages six doubles and four twins, three of them with outdoor showers. Located at the shows of Lake Elementaita, each cottage has a large balcony and a spectacular view of the lake. Overlooking Soysambu Conservancy. The sunset view from the lodge is a site to behold. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pelican Lodge

Address: Nakuru - Nairobi Rd, Lake Elementaita 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Elementaita
Price Range: $114 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Pelican Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay