We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (5387)
360
Panoramas (4)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 16 resorts in Honolulu
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.1
Value
3.5
GreenLeaders Silver level
Find historic, oceanfront luxury at Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, a Waikiki Beach. Our Honolulu, Hawaii resort is located in the heart of Waikiki near shopping, dining and entertainment. Visit Moana Lani Spa; host a wedding on our rooftop terrace or plan a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. We offer a beautiful and amenity-filled oceanfront setting right on Waikiki Beach.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Patio
Walking tours
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Hand massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
6,811Reviews160Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,421
  • 1,825
  • 803
  • 387
  • 375
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Pesa wrote a review Apr 9
Zurich, Switzerland31 contributions62 helpful votes
We had the pleasure to enjoy the dinner and breakfast in your restaurant and we would like to mention that Jody made our experience with you incredibly beautiful. The warm welcome we got from her and the respect was something I will never forget. She is just amazing and I wish I would have the chance to see her again. The good itself was very nice and service was very good but again Jody was the one that made our experience with you AMAZING. She is wonderful
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha chloemoun, Mahalo for posting a review of your stay with us at Moana, Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach. We are thrilled to know that Jody made your dining experience at our restaurant truly memorable. Your kind words about her warm welcome and exceptional service mean the world to us. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to her, as she truly embodies the spirit of exceptional service that we strive for. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Luci L wrote a review Apr 8
7 contributions6 helpful votes
My husband and I were so looking forward to returning to Hawaii after 40 years. We chose the Moana Surfrider hotel on Waikiki Beach. We had booked our stay for 5 nights. What a disappointment! The hotel was not as advertised. It was dated and worn. The furniture in the lobby was grungy looking as were the carpets. The room was sub standard. There were hardly any amenities. Just a bar of soap and some body lotion. No shower cap. The worst part though was the fact that to get an umbrella and 2 chairs, we would have had to pay $100.00 USD per day. This is outrageous! We have been to many resorts all over the world and nowhere did they charge for chairs and umbrellas. On top of that it was impossible to even get a couple of chairs as they did not have enough for everybody. We ended up buying an umbrella at a store across the street and sitting on our towels at the beach. This was so disappointing. The prices at the hotel were also ridiculous. Breakfast was close to $50.00 USD , not $10.00 as they advertise on their website. The waiters at the bar were very surly. The pool is very small and not enough chairs to sit on. People wandered around the hotel in their swimwear and left puddles of water in the elevators. Altogether an unpleasant experience especially for the prices they charge!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha 433lucil, Mahalo for reviewing your stay with us about your return visit to our resort. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the condition of the hotel and the lack of amenities in the guestroom. Your feedback has been shared with our team, and we will work diligently to address these areas for improvement. We are also sorry for any confusion or frustration regarding the issue with the umbrella and chair rental. Furthermore, we regret any discrepancy in pricing for breakfast. Kindly note that our breakfast charges are posted on our website so guests can have this information before booking with us. We understand your disappointment and frustration, and we truly apologize for the unpleasant experience you had. We hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust and welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
locosons wrote a review Apr 8
4 contributions3 helpful votes
It's based entirely on the luck of the room that you get. We reserved an oceanfront room, and what we got was a low floor view of palm trees completely blocking the view. We never should have had to pay the same price as the other oceanfront rooms. We also got to stare at clothing that had blown off of balconies and landed on the roof below us, seemingly never to be retrieved. You should know going in that this is an old hotel, so even with their updates there are limitations. There are very few outlets in the room, and for some reason they don't have the lamps with outlets or usb charging. We could hear every conversation from the room next to us. The service was hit-or-miss, which included both great, friendly people and employees with a poor attitude. There was only one elevator for our section, and no usable stairs. We had to wait every day because the elevator was full.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The pool chairs were reserved with towels by 7:00am. Renting beach chairs and umbrellas was...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Hotels, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha locosons, Mahalo for posting a review of your stay with us. We regret that the guestroom you received did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the limitations you encountered with the outlets and USB charging in your guestroom. Your feedback is valuable, and we will look into adding more convenient options for our guests in the future. We are sorry to read about the noise concerns you had from the nearby guests and the challenges with the elevator situation. Please know that your comments have been noted, and we will work to improve in these areas to provide a more comfortable stay for our guests. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to prove we are up to the task of delivering excellent service and accommodations. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Heaven wrote a review Apr 4
Las Vegas, Nevada11 contributions7 helpful votes
I just don’t understand how anyone could be unhappy with this place . This facility is beautiful, professional, classy and really cares about the people who stay here . I have been here multiple times now and I must admit , I also love seeing the loyal staff here as well .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Emma S wrote a review Mar 2024
Tokyo, Japan1 contribution1 helpful vote
Before I start sharing my experience at Moana Surfrider, I want to remind you that my first language is not English, so please forgive me if I use some weird expressions. Anyway, staying at Moana Surfrider was very impressive, and the staff’s hostility was especially incredible! There were two reasons I stayed at this hotel on this trip. First, I wanted to feel the nostalgic atmosphere. When I was three years old, I came here on a trip with my family, and the delightful memories of that trip have remained in my mind for a long time, and I wanted to visit again. Actually, I wanted to come here with them, but unfortunately, they were too busy for some reason, so I went and stayed there alone. Second, I wanted to stay there to celebrate my graduation from university. It was like a gift to myself, so I took the plunge and stayed there. When I arrived, the hotel staff seemed curious about why I decided to stay alone, so I explained the reasons as mentioned above. Actually, I was kind of nervous about staying alone because I thought this hotel was for couples and families, but he welcomed me so well after hearing that. For example, after coming back from shopping around, there was a gift box on the table filled with cookies and chocolates and a letter. I was glad to get the sweets, but I was especially touched by the letter which was written about I talked at the front desk. I only stayed here for one day, and I am not a Hilton member, but I was very surprised by this kind of excellent hospitality! Also, the location was amazing! You can go to the beach directly from the hotel and there are lots of stores around the hotel. Breakfast was great too! They served a Hawaiian waffle, which was the best waffle I have ever had! You can enjoy eating breakfast while watching the beautiful beach and ocean. There are many other good things about staying here, but I highly recommend it when you come to Hawaii. I have traveled to about more than 15 countries and stayed in many hotels, but I have never had such a good stay! I want to say thank you to the entire staff who made my trip great and memorable. I would definitely come back to stay there again. Maloha! とりあえずとてもいい経験ができたので、また遊びに行きます
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha EmmaS6692, Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, and congratulations on your graduation. We love providing thoughtful, extra touches, and it is great to know how much this added to your visit. We are excited to share your kind remarks with our associates. They are committed to enhancing each guests' time here with exceptional Hawaiian hospitality, and we appreciate your recognition of their service. It is also nice that you enjoyed our great location and delicious breakfast. We are grateful for your recommendation and we look forward to being your home the next time you are in our area. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
casey wrote a review Mar 2024
Santa Rosa, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
Make sure you ask to not have a street side room. Was at this hotel for 9 nights at over $500.00 per night. Stayed in the original building which my father-in-law requested. We were put in a street side room. It was so noisy all night long. We didn’t complain because that’s what we don’t like to do. At this price they should warn you about this. This is no joke. It is as loud as it gets. Single pane windows and right over the street. You have been told. Good luck. Great location if you don’t mind being shoulder to shoulder with thousands of people at every moment.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Street side room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha Resort38953809580, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We apologize for anything other than a completely satisfying stay. We understand that street noise can be disruptive, and we are sorry for the inconvenience and frustration this caused during your visit. Your feedback is valuable to us as we continue to make improvements for the comfort of our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with the revitalizing experience you deserve. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
EY wrote a review Mar 2024
7 contributions2 helpful votes
This is my five time to stay in this hotel in three years I just find the front desk service always this is my first time to write a review. I have so many bad experience. Unfortunately they have the best location with the beach and you could see the arrogant on the senior managers because they know they have it so if you complain, don’t even think that they’re gonna do anything about it, this time we arrive they did not tell us that we cannot use the balcony until we show up you paid for the view and you can get on the balcony to see the ocean because they have it locked, due to one of the balconies railing fall down Last time I was there we found pills on the floor in my room. I have toddlers I asked him if he could do a massive cleaning room when we went to the pool because I was so afraid he said yes I came back two days later I found more pills on the floor Tell me they did not clean very well. If I judge them on the food and beverage only beverage staff have always been great. If I judge the hotel separately on the food and beverage I will always get them higher stars you pay the same money at the halekulani but the service is extremely extremely superior and everything from the clean up of the room, the front desk to the pool handler no comparison
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha Emad Y, Mahalo for your loyalty to our resort and for returning to stay with us once again. We deeply regret the unsatisfactory service you received from us and that you were not able to enjoy our balcony during this visit. We certainly understand how frustrating this would have been to you. Furthermore, we apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered on your previous visit. We have addressed this with our associates, and we have taken the appropriate action to ensure this does not happen again. Your feedback is taken seriously, and we will use it to ensure we focus on delivering meaningful hospitality to our guests. We appreciate your patience and hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SuparnaPune wrote a review Mar 2024
Chicago, Illinois833 contributions76 helpful votes
+1
We had booked a room in the new tower but didn't have ocean view. When we were checking in, the new tower sea view rooms were all booked but we were offered a sea view room in the older tower which we accepted. And it was definitely worth it. It had a tiny balcony but it was beachfront. We could enjoy just watching the sea and sun from the balcony and enjoy the sea breeze. The room was indeed old and was on the smaller side. The bathroom especially was super tiny. But the room was clean and the view made up for everything else. The restaurant in the shade of banyan tree was special and had a few vegetarian options that we enjoyed along with some tasty cocktails. We also just hung out nearby pool and my kid splashed some in the pool. The beach here is also interesting. The ocean floor dips at one point near entry and then it's pretty flat for a good distance in. The waves were strong but the water was at perfect temperature. Overall, a very enjoyable swimming experience. The location of the hotel is central to everything so we could easily walk to local restaurants. The hustle bustle of the city is not felt at the seaside rooms even though the hotel is right in the heart of it. Do try coffee from the coffee shop attached to the hotel building. It's yum.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
William H wrote a review Mar 2024
5 contributions4 helpful votes
This hotel is very nice -but be prepared to Q for 15-20mins for a table for breakfast. Not what one expects when one is paying $1,200/night! Staff at breakfast unpleasant Otherwise hotel is nice -maybe a little tired. Also was disappointing not to e able to get access to the balconies on our bedroom-a problem that occurred nearly three months ago apparently still not resolved!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid breakfast!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha William H, Mahalo for sharing your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your overall stay. However, we apologize for missing the mark with some of our services, especially at the breakfast area. Our focus is on enhancing our guest services with thoughtful and seamless hospitality, and we will address your specific feedback regarding our breakfast service to make sure we improve our services moving forward. It is also disappointing to know that you were not happy with the lack of balcony usage during your stay. Mahalo again for all your comments as we are continually striving to strengthen our guest experience on all levels. We would love to welcome you back to show you our commitment to enriching experiences. Mahalo, Hotel Executive Office Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ProudCanadianTravell wrote a review Mar 2024
Vancouver, Canada163 contributions39 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel with a good central location. It was however loud on some nights with the noise from the street so thats not great with a young family. The yoga classes were amazing as was the direct access to the beach. The pool was quite small.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha ProudCanadianTravell, Mahalo for reviewing your stay with us at Moana, Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach. We are glad to know you loved our well-kept property and that our prime location was ideal for you. We are also happy you enjoyed the yoga classes during your stay. However, we regret your disappointment with the size of our pool area. Furthermore, we are sorry for the noise concerns you had while you were here. Feedback like yours gives us valued insight to improve our guest experience; therefore, we appreciate your comments. We are grateful for your patience, and we hope you will consider staying with us the next time your travels bring you to Honolulu. Mahalo, Guest Experience Team Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa moanasurfriderexperience@westin.com 808-922-3111
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Honolulu area.
PRICE RANGE
$415 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moana surfrider, a westin hotel honolulu, moana surfrider, a westin resort and spa, westin moana surfrider, moana surfrider westin resort, westin honolulu, honolulu westin
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
791
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOANA SURFRIDER, A WESTIN RESORT & SPA, WAIKIKI BEACH - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Oahu, Hawaii)

Frequently Asked Questions about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Nearby attractions include International Market Place (0.1 miles), Saint Augustine by-the-Sea (0.3 miles), and Rock-A-Hula (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tempura Kiki, STRIPSTEAK Waikiki, and Maguro Spot.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach have airport transportation?
Yes, Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.