We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2001 Vancouver Dr, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96822-2451
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View deal
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (89)
Room & Suite (47)
Pool & Beach (23)


#1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Honolulu

The Manoa Valley Inn is Hawaii's longest operating Victorian Bed and Breakfast, pairing a historic experience with modern comfort! Built in 1912, we're a Honolulu landmark located in an exclusive area of Honolulu providing a luxurious and quiet experience away from hectic Waikiki for visitors and local residents alike.

Conveniently located within minutes of Waikiki and the downtown Honolulu business district in the peaceful and relaxing Manoa Valley. With seven special, spacious rooms waiting for you, we're within walking distance to U.H. Manoa, bus lines, restaurants and theater.

When you're with us, you're family. Free Parking, full A/C, Cable TV, WiFi and a full breakfast each morning. No resort fees, EVER. E Komo Mai, we're looking forward to having you as guests!

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Saltwater pool
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
225Reviews6Q+A49Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 82
  • 67
  • 26
  • 27
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Wayne_Cowan wrote a review Jan 2022
Grand Cayman84 contributions29 helpful votes
We have been staying at the Manoa Valley Inn on our last several visits to Hawaii. Always at the beginning of our vacation to recover from long flights in a tranquil atmosphere away from the big hotels of Waikiki. Having not visited Hawaii for a couple of years we were looking forward to our first stop. Unfortunately, it’s quite apparent that the Inn has not fared well from Covid. There is a fine line between being madly eclectic ( & eccentric !) and just shabby & run-down. Sadly, the latter description is now most apt. The beautiful quiet & lush gardens are now totally overgrown, uncared for & virtually impossible to walk through. All views of Waikiki now gone. The outdoor breakfast area ( previously so quaint, welcoming & peaceful) is now a cluttered mess with various odd objects on the ‘veranda’. Frankly, a more unappetizing place to eat I’ve yet to find. Previously the buffet was full of fresh fruits, drinks, coffee etc. - sadly no longer. The place has a feeling of decay. Our room was really odd & shabby. A bathroom that we both hit our heads several times upon entering & a bath tub that was quite fearful ( at an angle supported by some wooden planks). My wife refused to use it. Seems also that the Inn is using the lovely areas we used to sit in with a glass of wine to watch the sun go down ( the 2nd floor rotunda area) as some sort of office & other areas as a massage business. Most odd & frankly, weird. This place now needs serious renovation- much tender , loving care ( & money ) is required. If that happens - we’ll be back - otherwise, sadly, we won’t be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Oliver P wrote a review Dec 2021
Coventry, United Kingdom64 contributions79 helpful votes
Family that live in and run it are amazing, couldn't want for more. Breakfast is not a standard American style but it's a perfect balanced start to the day. Rooms and property are edwardian with matching period furniture so it feels very homely. Definitely coming again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking can be tight I'd you bring a large suv. There are dogs who are very friendly but they are...
See more room tips
Debbie S wrote a review Oct 2020
Anderson, Missouri1 contribution3 helpful votes
I booked this hotel before Covid hit, cancelled well within their policy to get your money back. I've called,emailed and texted the owners. I got a response on the text that said - your check is in the mail. A month later, no check. I text again, and they again say check is in mail. To this day , I haven't received a check. I canceled in March.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3 Helpful votes
FarAway583337 wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions8 helpful votes
Honolulu is dominated by the Waikiki high-rise hotels. If that doesn't appeal to you, the Manoa Valley Inn offers a pleasant and affordable alternative. It's an historic property that's an island of green in an otherwise unremarkable area two blocks from the University of Hawaii. Breakfast was excellent, and was served on a lovely terrace that's nearly overgrown with orchards and other plants. There's a garden area and pool in the back as well, though they're not well cared for. As B&B's go, Manova Valley has some shortcomings. Parking is very tight, so don't arrive in a Hummer and hog a space and a half. The room we had was nice enough and big enough for two, and it had a good bed. But the furnishings were well-worn and the shower/bath was substandard. The on-site management owns friendly dogs and they (the dogs) show up from time to time, which I personally didn't care for. The Inn is walking distance to the University but not much else, so finding good restaurants nearby where you can also park is a real challenge (and a common problem throughout Honolulu). I'm glad we chose this over the Waikiki skyscrapers, but Manoa Valley could use some attention to make it a first-rate B&B experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2 Helpful votes
Akag3 wrote a review Nov 2019
Western Australia, Australia26 contributions64 helpful votes
I gave this bnb a full 5 because it achieves what it sets out to do. A sanctuary away from the brutal( not my words, a locals) high rises of Waikiki. The Inn is not a brand new glossy hotel of which you are in 1 room of hundreds but it does have a comfy bed,a/c and a wonderful substantial breakfast. it is a family home that is welcoming and a delight to return home to at the end of the day. I had a room at the top, my bathroom had a slanted roof so if you are tall maybe mention this to get an appropriate space for you. Given the time of year I visited I didn't even need the a/c as I was able to open the windows in my room for the breeze off the mountains. The staff are very friendly, polite and accommodating. Hopefully I will return one day!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
2 Helpful votes
Response from ManoaValleyInnHI, Manager at Manoa Valley Inn
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Aloha Akag3, thank you very much for staying with us at Manoa Valley Inn, it was a pleasure having you as guests! Thank you so much for your very kind and thoroughly informative review, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Dole Room! We're looking forward to seeing you again and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Honolulu! Happy New Year and mahalo nui loa from all of us!
Read more
Judy K wrote a review Oct 2019
Sarasota, Florida12 contributions25 helpful votes
The staff did not speak English very well. There were dogs in the public spaces. There was a definite smell of dog urine in the porch area. The area did not look like pictures. We left but were given a refund. My only reason for giving it a poor not terrible rating
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
2 Helpful votes
Response from ManoaValleyInnHI, Manager at Manoa Valley Inn
Responded Oct 17, 2019
Aloha Judy, thank you very much for your review! We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, thank you for letting us know about the issues in your experience, we'll make sure that they are corrected immediately, but please contact us anytime if you'd like to elaborate on any of the problems, we'd love to hear from you! Mahalo nui loa from all of us at Manoa Valley Inn!
Read more
Footprints267609 wrote a review Sep 2019
7 contributions4 helpful votes
So glad I found this gem! The rooms are spacious and lovely (a few too many knick knacks, but no big deal). The property is beautifully maintained which makes it feel like you’re walking into a botanical garden, right in the middle of the city. The staff was friendly and helpful - they even packed me coffee and food to go on the morning I had to leave before 7:00. The food itself is delicious and plentiful: eggs and pancakes made to order, meat, potatoes, cooked vegetables, rice, bread, fresh fruit and juice, and coffee. A perfect alternative to the crowded, touristy beach scene.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
2 Helpful votes
Response from ManoaValleyInnHI, Owner at Manoa Valley Inn
Responded Sep 24, 2019
Aloha and thank you very much for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you as our guest! We're very glad you enjoyed everything Manoa Valley Inn has to offer, and hope you'll be back again soon! Thank you very much for your kind review, we sincerely appreciate it!
Read more
170maureenh wrote a review Sep 2019
5 contributions12 helpful votes
The Manoa Valley is a a great place to stay in Honolulu. It is very near the University of Hawaii, not far from Waikiki and close to restaurants. The gardens and pool are beautiful and a nice peaceful place in the midst of a busy city. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Our room was comfortable and air conditioned, which helped in the hot summer weather. We would definitely stay here again if we visit Honolulu in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
2 Helpful votes
Response from ManoaValleyInnHI, Owner at Manoa Valley Inn
Responded Sep 24, 2019
Aloha and thank you so much for being our guest, we're very happy that you were able to enjoy staying with us and exploring the surrounding areas! We hope you had a great time in Honolulu and sincerely appreciate your kind review! We're all looking forward to seeing you again, mahalo nui loa!
Read more
Maria S wrote a review Jul 2019
16 contributions32 helpful votes
I am genuinely confused with the good reviews this place has. The pictures are very deceiving, they must be using filters for these pics because this place is run down and dirty, smells terrible, no A/C, No privacy, the window treatments were very thin and I could see the neighbor in his garage while I used the bathroom. I dint think the sheets are cleaned and if they are they dont get cleaned properly I was very very ichy and there were deffinatly bugs of all kinds here. Could not sleep here even for one night but had to pay for ALL THREE NIGHTS NO REFUNDS. The parking is a joke. It's very musty and hard to breathe in this place.The owners live in this house and I could hear them all day/night talking outside inside where ever. Just dont go. Please.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Response from ManoaValleyInnHI, General Manager at Manoa Valley Inn
Responded Jul 8, 2019
Aloha Maria, thank you for getting in touch with us! We always want to hear from our customers and about their experiences and am very sorry to hear you that you didn't enjoy your stay! We're very sorry you had a bad experience, but I'm very surprised about the issues you mentioned! The room that you booked is one of our most popular, and we were entirely unaware that you didn't enjoy staying there. Our staff and I are always happy to assist you with anything that you need. Each room, including yours has full A/C, wifi and cable television, and I'm very proud of how hard our staff works to ensure our guests' comfort. Your review, while very unlike the vast majority of our guests' is important to us, and I'm sorry that you didn't reach out to us before, we want to make sure all of our guests enjoy their stay with us, and of course if you had any issues we would have been very happy to help you relocate and receive a full refund of your stay. Mahalo nui loa, we still hope you had a pleasant time in Honolulu and would love to help make sure we can help in any way we can.
Read more
Hulaterri wrote a review Jul 2019
Waikoloa, Hawaii11 contributions23 helpful votes
Beautiful historic building with wonderful innkeepers. The breakfast was sumptuous and the setting beautiful.The parking became more challenging as more guests arrived. Very nice to have AC in a historical inn!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from ManoaValleyInnHI, Manager at Manoa Valley Inn
Responded Jul 4, 2019
Aloha Terri, thank you so much for being our guest at Manoa Valley Inn! It's so wonderful that you enjoyed your stay, we love hearing that our guests enjoyed everything that we try to offer here and we thank you for your kind and informative review. If you ever would like to leave us some more suggestions, please don't hesitate to give us a call! Mahalo nui loa, we're looking forward to seeing you again!
Read more
$236 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
manoa valley hotel honolulu
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonolulu
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Manoa Valley Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Manoa Valley Inn?
Nearby attractions include University of Hawaii at Manoa Campus (0.2 miles), Japanese Cultural Center of Hawaii (0.5 miles), and Frostcity (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Manoa Valley Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Manoa Valley Inn?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Manoa Valley Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Manoa Valley Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Karai Crab, Waiola Shave Ice, and Chef Mavro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Manoa Valley Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Manoa Valley Inn have airport transportation?
Yes, Manoa Valley Inn offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Manoa Valley Inn offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Manoa Valley Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Manoa Valley Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (1.1 miles), Iolani Palace (2.4 miles), and Shangri La (3.5 miles).