We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ilima Hotel

Show Prices
#27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ilima Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

869 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 630: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On the positive side, I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The location was good with a great mountain view. The hotel itself needs some work. Not only is it out of date, but work that had been done was very sloppy (word work painted without masking so that some of the paint was also on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dahlia101
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima. Although you found our staff friendly and helpful we are disappointed that your room was not up to standards. We make every effort to provide the best value for money in Waikiki and regret that we did not succeed in this case. We are addressing your concerns... More 

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good mountain view and not noisy (our room was sited to the channel). quite aware staff but nothing expert. 10 minutes walking from the beach, clean , good wi/fi , in overall you can say you don't feel stupid for your choice.

Helpful?
Thank Argyro_Koukoula
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations but regret that our staff was not as expert as you wished. We strive to provide service in the true Aloha spirit and will certainly take your comments in consideration. We hope that we will have the chance... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got the one bedroom suite. It was clean and comfortable & the price was right for it's location. The lanai view was nice as from the left you could see a waterway and some tall hills. The only downside was the windows weren't very secure & a tropical storm was blowing wildly thus making the glass shake, vibrate, & whistle... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank saltlifechaps
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and only regret that we cannot control the weather! We hope you will tell your friends about us and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay in sunny Waikiki. Phil Sammer, GM More 

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been here just this August for a 5 day stop over. We were greeted with a warm smiles and helpful staff. Our room is big with many amenities, like functional kitchen :) Ilima Hotel is walking distance going to Waikiki beach, very nice! I would recommend this hotel and I suggest book the rooms far ahead of your travel... More 

Helpful?
Thank GazelleTaT
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to write about your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that our accommodations and staff met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will tell your friends about us and we look forward to welcoming you again on a future trip to sunny Waikiki. Phil Sammer, GM More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I travelled with my cousin to hawaii and the first stop was waikiki. The ilima hotel is located within short walking distance to waikiki beach by walking through duke lane where the duke markets are located. The room itself was spacious with all working facilities and helpful staff. All that i really fault was that the curtains were a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amii_OuO
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you found our accommodations and staff satisfactory and that our location met your needs. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible in the true Aloha spirit and address all concerns immediately. We hope you will tell your friends about us... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We arrived about 730am after all night flight from Melbourne with a 3 mth old baby. The staff were wonderful and as they had rooms that had been vacated, they arranged to have them cleaned first when cleaners arrived at 8am. We were all in our 2 rooms by 9am! The rooms were VERY spacious - we had 2 1... More 

Helpful?
Thank zsuzsi0507
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that the staff welcomed you in the true Aloha spirit and were able to accommodate you on your early arrival. We are also pleased that the rooms met your needs and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will tell your friends... More 

Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

We were on the 10th floor in a deluxe room (We are smokers) and could not have expected the staff to be so totally awesome. We had a terrible experience with our flight (5 hour delay) and arrived a lot later than expected, my husbands card was not showing to work, but the gentleman at the front desk told us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bcrispy66
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that both the accommodations and staff met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. We make every effort to provide service in the true Aloha spirit and are glad that we could make your stay comfortable. We hope you will tell your... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

Noisy room, basic toiletries (only soap and shampoo), terrible pillows. The room and bathroom were moldy. I tried to have the room changed by the front desk, they did not help at all. A basic motel does better than this so called hotel. I was in a deluxe studio room but I would not call it deluxe. Very outdated dirty... More 

Helpful?
Thank 12345_tourist
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are very disappointed that you were not satisfied with the accommodations and staff. We make every effort to maintain our facilities at the highest level possible and offer service in the true Aloha spirit. Although we did not succeed during your stay you may rest... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

I stayed here for a week in August 2016, in a "deluxe studio" room. The Ilima may only be rated as a 2.5-star hotel but the room amenities outshine those of many 4-star hotels while only costing half the price. You get a kitchen with a proper fridge, cooker, microwave oven, space to prepare food and a table to eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smoky_Kenton
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks so much for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the accommodations, amenities and staff and that our location suited your needs. We strive to provide service in the true Aloha spirit and are glad that we achieved this goal. We hope you will tell your... More 

Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Room was clean and a nice size. Great view from the balcony! Local to beach, food and shopping. The immediate area isn't the greatest so I don't recommend leaving too late at night by yourself... But there's a pool and hot tub that looked fairly clean. It's free parking but make sure you talk to the staff and get something... More 

Helpful?
Thank roblizana
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff gave you service in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki. Phil Sammer, GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

608 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (351)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Deluxe Studio (40)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (45)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Superior Studio (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,315 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,718 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $161 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay