We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Ilima Hotel

Show Prices
#26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ilima Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

863 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 626: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I travelled with my cousin to hawaii and the first stop was waikiki. The ilima hotel is located within short walking distance to waikiki beach by walking through duke lane where the duke markets are located. The room itself was spacious with all working facilities and helpful staff. All that i really fault was that the curtains were a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amii_OuO
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you found our accommodations and staff satisfactory and that our location met your needs. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible in the true Aloha spirit and address all concerns immediately. We hope you will tell your friends about us... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived about 730am after all night flight from Melbourne with a 3 mth old baby. The staff were wonderful and as they had rooms that had been vacated, they arranged to have them cleaned first when cleaners arrived at 8am. We were all in our 2 rooms by 9am! The rooms were VERY spacious - we had 2 1... More 

Helpful?
Thank zsuzsi0507
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that the staff welcomed you in the true Aloha spirit and were able to accommodate you on your early arrival. We are also pleased that the rooms met your needs and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will tell your friends... More 

Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were on the 10th floor in a deluxe room (We are smokers) and could not have expected the staff to be so totally awesome. We had a terrible experience with our flight (5 hour delay) and arrived a lot later than expected, my husbands card was not showing to work, but the gentleman at the front desk told us... More 

Helpful?
Thank bcrispy66
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that both the accommodations and staff met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. We make every effort to provide service in the true Aloha spirit and are glad that we could make your stay comfortable. We hope you will tell your... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Noisy room, basic toiletries (only soap and shampoo), terrible pillows. The room and bathroom were moldy. I tried to have the room changed by the front desk, they did not help at all. A basic motel does better than this so called hotel. I was in a deluxe studio room but I would not call it deluxe. Very outdated dirty... More 

Helpful?
Thank 12345_tourist
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are very disappointed that you were not satisfied with the accommodations and staff. We make every effort to maintain our facilities at the highest level possible and offer service in the true Aloha spirit. Although we did not succeed during your stay you may rest... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a week in August 2016, in a "deluxe studio" room. The Ilima may only be rated as a 2.5-star hotel but the room amenities outshine those of many 4-star hotels while only costing half the price. You get a kitchen with a proper fridge, cooker, microwave oven, space to prepare food and a table to eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smoky_Kenton
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks so much for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the accommodations, amenities and staff and that our location suited your needs. We strive to provide service in the true Aloha spirit and are glad that we achieved this goal. We hope you will tell your... More 

Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room was clean and a nice size. Great view from the balcony! Local to beach, food and shopping. The immediate area isn't the greatest so I don't recommend leaving too late at night by yourself... But there's a pool and hot tub that looked fairly clean. It's free parking but make sure you talk to the staff and get something... More 

Helpful?
Thank roblizana
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff gave you service in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki. Phil Sammer, GM More 

North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was booked for us by TripMasters. We stayed overnight, in order to catch flight to Maui next day. It is located in busy part of Honolulu and walking distance to Waikiki Beach. Easy check-in, staff was friendly. Above rate paid to TripMaster, we paid an additional $15.00 "resort fee". We had been warned that most hotels now charge such... More 

Helpful?
Thank Larry R
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha. Thanks for taking time to write about your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that you were pleased with our accommodations and staff and hope that you will tell your friends about us. We look forward to welcoming you again to sunny Waikiki! Phil Sammer, GM More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friends and I came to Honolulu and stayed at a different hotel for the first 3 nights. As soon as we walked in everything was wrong. There were 4 of us with 2 single beds and 2 cots because our pull out queen bed was broken. Our keys kept getting deactivated and it just seemed like they didn't know... More 

Helpful?
Thank Connie S
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are delighted that our accommodations and amenities met your needs and that the staff welcomed you in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki. Phil... More 

Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were only spending one night before starting our cruise so we didn't need anything fancy or expensive. The hotel has some age on it to be sure which felt a little odd for such a large structure. Our room was surprisingly large compared to most modern hotels. The kitchenette was a nice convenience but had the feel of a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Douglas K
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We're glad that you were generally satisfied with your experience but regret that certain aspects of your stay were not up to your expectations. We make every effort to assure a comfortable and welcoming environment for all guests and will certainly address your areas of concern.... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is dated and tired, but the rooms and lobby are kept very clean. The rooms are very spacious and the beds reasonable. The staff are very friendly and always happy to help. The swimming pool is on the small size, but when you are as close as you are to Waikiki beach, who needs a swimming pool right!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this review

Aloah, Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and amenities and that our staff welcomed you in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki! Phil Sammer,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

608 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (351)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Deluxe Studio (40)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (45)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Superior Studio (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,300 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#37 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,687 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,259 reviews
Waikiki Prince
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $164 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay