We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2436
E-mail hotel
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!10% off room rate
Booking.com
$349
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$297
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
FindHotel
$280
View deal
Hotels.com$297
Travelocity$297
Hurb$359
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (362)
360
Panoramas (26)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 03/28/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Updated 03/28/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#24 of 93 hotels in Honolulu
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.7
Value
4.4
The Coconut Waikiki Hotel is a comfortable blend of warmth and simplistic design, offering a peaceful and playful vibe one block from shopping and only three block from Waikiki Beach. The hotel features a delightfully warm lobby and the following complimentary amenities: 24 hour coffee and tea in the lobby, WiFi access in-room and throughout hotel, local & toll-free calls, 40" or 42" LCD TV's, wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. A small, intimate pool area with wrap around deck and fitness center are available to all guests. We look forward to sharing our authentic island home with you.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Complimentary tea
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate
1514Reviews108Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 851
  • 475
  • 140
  • 33
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Chastity J wrote a review Jun 2022
Arlington, Texas1 contribution
Nice location, you are walking distances from the beach and shopping. It’s clean with friendly staff. The bathroom is so small. You have a resort fee but no breakfast. $40 a day for parking, which most hotels do. I’m disappointed in the resort fee and the amenities are only the pool and gym. I won’t be using neither. My room faces I guess an apartment complex with trashy balconies.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeffrey Nagata, General Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Responded yesterday
Aloha ChastityJ7, Mahalo for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I am delighted to hear that your found our location convenient, with easy access to the beach, restaurants and shopping. Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff and the efforts from our housekeeping team to provide a clean and comfortable room. As Waikiki is a urban beach destination, we are next to another building. We have wonderful mountain view rooms that overlook the Ala Wai and Koolau Mountains. Also, when you book directly through the hotel, we do waive the amenity fee too! I hope that you will consider us on your next Hawaii adventure. We would love to welcome you back!
Read more
Elsie J wrote a review Mar 2022
Rockledge, Florida29 contributions22 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We attended a wedding at Kailua Ranch and had to make a last minute reservation after our previously booked lodging were canceled by the owners. We were wary but the reviews seemed good. My expectations were pleasantly exceeded. From the welcoming check in to the excellent room cleaning/tiding service to the comfortable beds, our stay was delightful. Waking up to a breathtaking view was a clincher as my pictures portray. Walking distance from transportation, highly recommend trolleys to get a good understanding of the island, to a bustling shopping experience along with beach access. We literally walked everywhere, getting our steps in, enjoying the safety of the area, then retreating to our hideaway. Will definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view that is above the second floor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeffrey Nagata, General Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Responded Mar 28, 2022
Aloha Elise J! Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing such an amazing review of the hotel! I am delighted to hear that your interactions with the team were engaging, and your accommodations, view and housekeeping service enhanced you vacation experience. Location is key, and the hotel is blessed to have a perfect balance of convenience and quiet respite. Thank you for sharing your recommendation of the hotel with the travel world, and giving them insight into transportation to see the island. Now that you are part of Coconut Waikiki Hotel's ohana, we cannot wait to welcome you back to your island home!
Read more
Walker wrote a review Jun 2022
New Ulm, Minnesota74 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel was clean. Staff was very friendly. Good location, as it is within walking distance of restaurants, stores, and the beach. Beach towels available for "check out" on a daily basis. Water cooler in lobby is a plus. Very helpful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeffrey Nagata, General Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Doreen! Mahalo for your patronage and for sharing such a wonderful review with the travel world. I am delighted to hear that you connected with our awesome team and that our location allowed you easy access to all Waikiki has to offer. Our amenities, like the filtered water dispenser, beach towels, and complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby, are all designed to enhance your time in Hawaii and I am so thrilled to know we accomplished this with you! You will forever be part of Coconut Waikiki Hotel's ohana, and we look forward to welcoming you back home for years to come!
Read more
martycon wrote a review Jun 2022
Phoenix.28 contributions26 helpful votes
We found this hidden gem by accident. It was by far the cheapest hotel available ($156 per night), which includes free valet parking and a low resort fee. It’s small, quiet, and out of the way, but a very short walk to everything. I was impressed how clean and well maintained everything was. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the valet parking was very easy and fast. I will definitely return. I have stayed in a dozen hotels in Waikiki, from the Surfrider to the Sheraton, and they had little more to offer for three times the price.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeffrey Nagata, General Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha martycon! Mahalo for staying with us and sharing your feedback and insight with the travel world! Our location is quite unique, with easy access to all Waikiki has to offer, yet far enough to get away from the hustle of the main strip. As a small, independent hotel, our goal is to provide a quiet, relaxing respite from the day's Hawaii adventures. You are exactly what our hotel resonates with! You will forever be part of our growing family at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, and we cannot wait to welcome you to your island home for years to come!
Read more
chandlerj0 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
+1
This hotel is really more like a motel. The rooms are very small, the “premium bed sheets” and pillow cases were stained and pilling/scratchy. Every wall has chipped paint, scratches, stains, dust, and/or fingerprints. The drawers had dirt and little specks of debris. I just didn’t feel like I could have a comfortable night’s sleep at this hotel. If I could do over my trip, I would gladly pay the premium for a major hotel name for the bare minimum: a clean bed to sleep in. Additional deficiencies to note: the desk lamp had a broken switch and the TV remote was dirty and had spotty performance (likely low batteries). The only pros of this hotel are the customer service and mountain view.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeffrey Nagata, General Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha chandlerj0, Mahalo for staying with us and sharing your feedback about your recent stay. I am sorry that the cleanliness and condition of your room negatively impacted your stay. Our housekeeping team strives to provide a clean, comfortable and fresh place to lay your head. Clearly, we missed the mark with your room. Our team has reviewed your comments and will focus on the areas your mentioned to ensure our guests consistently have a great place to stay. However, I do appreciate your kind words about our team's service and and happy to hear that you enjoyed the views from your room and lanai. Please be assured that your feedback has been taken to heart. My sincere apologies for making this trip less that perfect. I hope that your time in Hawaii, despite our shortcomings, was full of wonderful vacation memories.
Read more
Gabrielle S wrote a review Jun 2022
Chandler, Arizona3 contributions4 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed at the Coconut Waikiki for our 34th anniversary. Jeff, the General Manager, and his staff made sure our anniversary was very, very special! I'm not sure if they understand how much we appreciate their efforts! The hotel is located, within blocks, of many restaurants, bars and shops. We could walk to many of the places we want to go to. When we needed our car, the Valets were very prompt and friendly. Well stay at the Coconuts on our next trip to O'ahu! Thank you everybody!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeffrey Nagata, General Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha Gabrielle S! It was such a pleasure getting to know your during your stay with us. I am so delighted that your were able to enjoy your anniversary with us! Thank you so much for your kind words about our team! They are the heart of Coconut Waikiki Hotel and enjoy engaging with our guests and sharing our aloha! You are now part of the ohana here. And, when Hawaii calls again, we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Hawaii!
Read more
Jordan D wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
The hotel is older but well looked after with clean, well equipped rooms. The staff are phenomenal. They where very resourceful and kind. It was our first time to Hawaii and they helped with advise on where to go and see for food and attractions. Will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeffrey Nagata, General Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Jordan D! Mahalo for staying with us and sharing such wonderful comments about your experience. I am so honored that you recognized the staff. I must agree, they are "phenomenal"! We very much enjoyed having you and are so happy that we were a part of your first trip to Hawaii! You are forever part of the ohana at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, and we cannot wait to welcome you back to your home in paradise!
Read more
BeagleVoyage wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
My family and I have stayed twice at this hotel. The first time it was fantastic - which was why we re-booked for our most recent May 2022 trip. Unfortunately, the quality and value have declined. Breakfast was no longer included as an amenity although the hotel has raised its amenity fee, and the internet in our room was spotty. The staff continues to be lovely and kind, but the hotel overall did not meet our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for Mountain View and a high floor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeffrey Nagata, General Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha BeagleVoyage, Mahalo for staying with us again and sharing your thoughts and feedback. I am sorry that your stay was not as wonderful as the first time. Breakfast is no longer included as an offering, but we did also lower our amenity fee. I apologize the wifi was spotty - typically we have great wifi service so we will certainly look into your concern. I am grateful for your recognition of the staff, who I must agree, are lovely! I hope that in the future, you will give us another opportunity to WOW you as we did on your first stay. We would be honored to welcome you home to Coconut Waikiki Hotel.
Read more
lynn wrote a review May 2022
Alameda, California1 contribution
The hotel staff were wonderful and the room is clean but outdated. I gave it a three because the air conditioner is loud and you can hear street noises at night (even with air plugs). If you are budget minded and a sound sleeper, then this hotel is doable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeffrey Nagata, General Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha Wander! Mahalo for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I am so happy to hear that the staff was engaging. They are truly one of a kind! I understand your issue with the AC and street noise. We are in the process of replacing our AC units with a split AC system to provide a more comfortable environment for our guests. If Hawaii is on your travel list again, I hope you give us another chance to create an outstanding vacation. Our ACs will be updated and we will certainly find you a room on the quieter side of the hotel. Thank you again and hope your adventure is paradise was amazing!
Read more
laila1984 wrote a review May 2022
Mount Vernon, Washington45 contributions42 helpful votes
The room is smaller and cramped than I’m used to but it’s decent, comfortable and clean. The front desk and room service staff are friendly and helpful. They responded quickly to our requests like extra towels for the evening, fixing tv cable unit, valet service. There’s a small microwave and fridge. My only complaint is the fridge smelled of spoiled food/meat. I suggest that, it should be heavily sanitized after every guest check-out. The lobby/front desk is sparsely decorated which I like very much. No clutter of ornaments. Just plain, neat, and organized. With clean floors and bare windows and basic furniture. All of which make the waiting/receiving area relaxing and comfortable. They invested instead in more important stuff like drinking water cooler:dispenser and a coffee machine. Free coffee, sugar, creamer etc. Guests have access to these 24 -7. All of the employees I had encountered were nice and polite and ready to assist. I was surprised when I stepped out of the lift on Sunday morning and they handed me a present ( I then realized it was Mother’s Day!) It was cake that was nicely wrapped and delicious. A simple gesture that’s so much appreciated! Location is great. Walking distance to restaurants, cafes, convenient stores, mall.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeffrey Nagata, General Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha Laila! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and experience at Coconut Waikiki Hotel. I am thrilled to hear about your positive experiences with our staff, kitchenette, clean and comfortable spaces and the amenities we provide and appreciate your honest feedback about the areas we can make improvements. You truly understand the essence of our hotel. Amazing people who love sharing with our guest, thoughtful amenities that make a difference, and a clean, comfortable place to unwind after a day of adventure. You are part of the ohana at Coconut Waikiki Hotel now, and we cannot wait to welcome you back to your home in paradise for years to come
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$190 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western honolulu, best western coconut waikiki, aqua coconut plaza
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Coconut Waikiki Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Waikiki Sunset Cruise with Live DJ (0.2 miles), Rock-A-Hula (0.3 miles), and Waikiki Beach Walk (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Coconut Waikiki Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Coconut Waikiki Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Coconut Waikiki Hotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Coconut Waikiki Hotel?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coconut Waikiki Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Poke Bar, Paia Fish Market, and Island Vintage Shave Ice.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Coconut Waikiki Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Coconut Waikiki Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Coconut Waikiki Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (2.4 miles), Iolani Palace (2.6 miles), and Shangri La (2.8 miles).
Does Coconut Waikiki Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Coconut Waikiki Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.