We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stay Hotel Waikiki

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Stay Hotel Waikiki
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 648: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

1. Front desk staff weren't friendly or helpful. One staff member could not read the local bus timetable or even point us in the direction of the closest supermarket. 2. The rooms are nothing like the photos at all. 3. There were no windows, only shutters which meant that the room was constantly noisy and it was impossible to sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveMaask
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel room is not like the pic. Needs updating and minor repairs. Staff was nice. Rm 808 has very loud. Sounds penetrated the wall. Not sure what is was and we were not near an elevator. The room was clean even though it lack in appearances. The shower head needed cleaning from hard water. Our flight got in late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Sandra H, Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for choosing our hotel for your short stay on island. I appreciate you letting us know where we can make important improvements to our unit, and I will be sure to share your feedback with our maintenance team in order to make this happen. We are...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

To those of you who have submitted bad reviews, I regret not reading them sooner. I experienced all 5 of the major complaints from previous reviewers. First, you will not be acquiring that room you think you paid for when you book the hotel, the reality does not imitate the pictures on the website. When I asked the staff, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Butsi
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Butsi, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay. As a seasoned traveler, it is refreshing to know that you did your research in advance of your visit to our property and therefore knew from our reviews and my responses to them that you were aware that we are in a period of significant transition. While we have...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room decent size bed comfortable had a balcony with a small ocean view... but the toilet broke and was originally told I would have to come all the way down from the top floor to use the reception bathroom whenever I felt the need!! Wasn't offered another room until I suggested they move me!! Sliding door come off the track...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wendy M
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Wendy M, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry that your experience with us was on the opposite spectrum of what we are known for providing in terms of stellar customer service. I will share your review with our team and utilize your observations as an opportunity to further train our members on...

Melbourne
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel provides all you need as a base from which to discover Waikiki. The rooms are clean, nothing fancy and great if all you are really after is to head out and explore the area as it is in an absolutely fantastic location. Bathroom was also clean - very standard but decent enough. Overall it was an okay stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anika_35
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha anika_35, Thank you for sharing your review! We are glad you found our property to be in a convenient location and the facilities clean as well. Please think of us again for your next visit to the Hawaiian Islands. With warmest aloha, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki

Mililani, Hawaii
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved our stay at the Hotel. When I initially booked with priceline they gave me a different address to check in however the hotel registration is on 2424 Koa Ave. I thought for the price we paid it exceeded my expectation. Clean, neat, great location, good amenities and prompt service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuFrigillana
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha JuFrigillana, Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are delighted to know that you found our property to exceed all of your expectations. I hope to see you again in Waikiki soon! With warmest aloha, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki

Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really wanted to like this hotel, as I enjoy staying in boutique hotels. Unfortunately, it proved disappointing. One of the walls of my room consisted entirely of glass shutters that could not be fully closed. Consequently, you could hear every bit of noise on the street throughout the night. Bear in mind this hotel is located on a busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HWMNBN
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha HWMNBN, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. You will be happy to know that we have plans to modernize our jalousie windows that, when replaced, will greatly curtail the outside city noise you experienced during your visit with us. In the coming weeks, we're also upgrading our wifi set-up, which will provide a faster, more...

Herington, Kansas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't be fooled by the pictures. The lobby and rooms look nothing like what is posted on their internet site - false advertising as far as I'm concerned. My sister, who was staying a a hotel a couple of blocks away made the comment that her parking garage looked better than our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracymarsha
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Tracymarsha, Thank you for taking the time to briefly review your stay. As you've noted, we are in a period of an exciting transition in which we've completed our first phase of our room refreshment project that features a newer, fresher design. We are in the planning stages of modernizing the look of our lobby as well and are...

Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just want to give a shout out to Lauren and G who were at the desk when we checked out. We had a terrible experience with the shuttle we booked with Go Hawaii shuttle service and they chased them up for us continuously. The shuttle never showed and they promptly called a taxi who drove us at a flat rate....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeamAloha
Carolyn P, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha TeamAloha, Thank you for sharing your review with us! I will pass along your sentiments to both Lauren and G. We hope our stellar customer service will bring you back for another stay with us. A hui hou (see you again)! With warmest aloha, Carolyn Pinho General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stay Hotel Waikiki is located right at the central Waikiki beach just 1 minute walk or a few steps away from the beach. The location, the staff, comfort, cleanliness of the room and sheets are the best! From the balcony of any room you can see the Pacific Ocean on the west and the mountain on the east from your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GalindivS
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

254 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (233)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
274 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Prince
Waikiki Prince
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
738 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,276 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
1,952 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#37 of 84 in Honolulu
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Waikiki Beach, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a block of the ocean and the International Market Place. Also nearby are shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. We offer a 24-hour business center with free use of our business center computers. In addition, Stay Hotel Waikiki provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms include balconies with views. All guestrooms feature flat-panel televisions with cable channels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stay Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2424 Koa Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6200
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $135 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Stay Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Stay Hotel Waikiki staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Stay Hotel Waikiki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms appear to face other buildings and roof tops. I don't believe there is a good view from any room.”
 of 5 bubbles tracymarsha, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Better to get a room on the floors above 4.”
  • Tub not caucked correctly. Tile painted by white paint.
  • air conditioner above bed. Window faces street. Noise hotel behind.
  • When you walk in this is the bed. Only 1 side table. Power switch not working. Window facing str
  • light and usable power switch on light. Does not turn on from wall switch.
  • Sink was never cleaned the 1 week visit. Still had paint on the sides.
  • picture showing wall with closet
 of 5 bubbles randyr638, Oct 23, 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the 6th floor or above, and the largest room available. Worth upgrading.”
 of 5 bubbles dmvalleza, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“The higher the room floor, the softer the outside street noise is.”
 of 5 bubbles Doctabunk, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“Insist on a newly renovated room or find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles colb121, Oct 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay