We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

White Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
White Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

623 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 528: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If I could give no circles, I would. We have been here for six hours and have already killed around a dozen roaches, one about 2 1/2-3" long. My one-year-old's feet are BLACK from the disgusting carpet. The mini-fridge is rusted - hope you are up to date on tetanus shots - the pressboard of the cabinetry is falling apart.... More 

Helpful?
Thank lonniesndgrace
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here in Honolulu a few times, and this was the worst hotel. We had a big group that had cancelled the dates on us, so had to move everything around last minute. So finding a good price hotel at the last minute was extremely hard. So when I saw the price and did my homework, didn't seem too... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dianna L
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights at the start of September 2016. Upon arrival I noticed the pool roped off. I asked about the pool and they stated it was closed for a days maintenance. I did not note much activity at the pool and noted that it was closed for the next two days and on the day of my departure.... More 

Helpful?
Thank pally1070
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been here 3 times now nice little low rise only 3 story note no lift but someone will carry your bags up for you but they will not carry YOU , or request a ground floor room , good location ,close to international market place , buses ,short walk to beach , i must have researched most hotels in Waikiki... More 

Helpful?
Thank barrie m
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel. It is minutes from the beautiful beach of Waikiki, Google maps makes you think it is a lot further. There is a large supermarket 2 mins away selling all you need for the self catering option and is a lot cheaper than the express supermarkets. There is loads of great restaurants around the hotel. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom W
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Unexpected stay caused me to find least expensive hotel. At about $100 is was ok. I booked and thought I'd paid via Expedia but still had to pay an additional $13 "resort fee" when I checked out. Room was clean. Desk service was fine. Surrounded by taller hotels, the White Sands is like a flash back to Waikiki is the... More 

Helpful?
Thank RKL3
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

A smaller style hotel with only 3 stories but tucked back off the street, so nice and quiet. The rooms are a little dated but clean and very comfortable, and great value for money. The pool area was great and being a smaller hotel it was never crowded. The free wifi was fast and easy to access. Great location,only a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jan M
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at White Sands Hotel. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our professional staff, great value, location, pool area and WiFi. I am also pleased to hear that you had “early check in” after your long flight. When you plan your next trip to... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

The staff were amazing and helpful and helped me find a room during the middle of RIMPAC. However, on arrival, we were scared to death. It was incredibly over priced for what we got. It isnt in the friendliest of locations, thin walls, very outdated. you need to carry your suitcases up stairs. our door opened up onto a parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chanelle K
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for taking the time to share about your recent stay at White Sands Hotel. I'm disappointed to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. I am glad to hear that you complimented on our lovely staff and I will acknowledge and recognize their effort in providing great customer services to our valued guests. About the... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

A little sketchy. Never had a place to park. Had to drive around for 20 minutes to park. There lot had maybe 10 spots and adjacent lot next to it had 12 spots. Room was average and no wifi. Must have been 20 people in the small lobby trying to get some wifi. If you go outside avoid the area... More 

Helpful?
Thank H-and-k-3
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to write your experiences. I want to thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that we did not achieve your expectations. We at White Sands Hotel apologize for any inconvenience that you may have had while you were staying with us. I hope that your next holiday in Hawaii will... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

Return visitor .Happy to stay here again.It is quiet .Cozy and clean .Limited parking so get a space because it is very convenient.Just a short walk to wonderful downtown HONOLULU. Very relaxing to end your night in the jacuzzi with a glass of wine.Right BRANDON ?It is quiet and calm at night. I always got a good nights sleep .There... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sterling L
mom1188l, General Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Mr. Sterling, Thank you for posting the review on Tripadvisor. We greatly value your feedback. It was a pleasure having you as our valued guests and return to our property year over year. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at white Sands Hotel and will be back on December 23rd. Our team mates will be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

388 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (276)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (88)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Studio with City Views (23)
Viewed
Studio with Pool Views (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#78 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#52 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,773 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#53 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: $137 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay