We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
12 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$199
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$199
View deal
FindHotel
$160
View deal
Official Hotel$199
Hotels.com$199
Travelocity$199
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2971)
Room & Suite (1006)
Pool & Beach (442)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from The Modern Honolulu
Updated 01/19/21

About

#52 of 94 hotels in Honolulu
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Perfectly situated, THE MODERN HONOLULU stands at the epicenter between the world renowned Hawaiian experience of Waikiki Beach, the blossoming Kaka’ako arts district, and Honolulu’s downtown cosmopolitan scene. We are the hub of contemporary culture and creativity in Honolulu. Our boutique luxury is as refined as it is relaxed. An empowered team delivers THE MODERN HONOLULU experience -- alluring, personalized and innovative – surrounded by an award-winning design concept that creates an urban chic beach aesthetic. Two stylish pools overlook the ocean for daytime fun. It’s no wonder Thrillist magazine called us “The best boutique hotel in Hawaii.”
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
24-hour security
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
4890Reviews164Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,222
  • 1,043
  • 342
  • 149
  • 134
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
aliihsanozten wrote a review Aug 9
New York City, New York16 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice and clean Hotel. hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful . Pools are very clean and good for swimming. Hotel location is very nice . Very close to beach and shopping center, restaurant Only problem there was no room service every day.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: I recommend this Hotel for everyone
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Modern Honolulu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha aliihsanozten, We appreciate your time to take the survey and thank you for the kind remarks. We are sorry for not providing housekeeping services during your stay. Hopefully, the service will be restored in the near future; the hotel is currently negotiating with the union. Once again, our apologies, and we thank you for your patience. Mahalo,
Read more
amjaynz wrote a review Aug 8
6 contributions
Love this hotel - its a little off the main strip but closer to Ala Moana for shopping. There is no beach access, but you don't need it with the epic pools that The Modern has. I will happily spend all day poolside as all their loungers have umbrellas + food service. Can't wait to come back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Modern Honolulu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 6 days ago
Aloha amjaynz, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind remarks and excellent rating. We look forward to serving you again. Mahalo!
Read more
jonathangreening wrote a review Aug 7
1 contribution
All I can say is my stay at the modern Honolulu far outweighed the dozens of other hotels I’ve stayed at in Waikiki. The service is immaculate and the rooms seem to be much cleaner and more accommodating than most in the area. My biggest complaint would be that I wasn’t able to stay for a few more days 🤷🏻‍♂️
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Modern Honolulu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha jonathangreening, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the excellent rating! We look forward to serving you again. Mahalo!
Read more
Joshua wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
My stay was absolute torture, and I couldn’t wait to leave. I felt threatened every time I walked out of my hotel room. Guests were interacting with hotel staff and made rude comments about me every time I walked by them.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Modern Honolulu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Joshua2048, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us, someone from the property will be contacting you. Mahalo!
Read more
VictorSantos2022 wrote a review Jul 2022
Fremont, California1 contribution
Hotel Staff were all friendly and hospitable. The atmosphere was fun and relaxing. Rooms were clean and pool and refreshments and food was excellent. Everyone in our family and friends were happy and if given the opportunity will come again hopefully in the near future.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Modern Honolulu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha VictorSantos2022, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again. Mahalo!
Read more
Amber wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The beds aren’t even full. It’s DOUBLE BEDS. No balconies, dirty as hell, no room service, and horrible staff. Don’t waste your money- oh yeah, they charge you an extra $200 for NOTHING! Hate it here, horrible location and made my stay in Waikiki regrettable. If you’re smart, go to Waikiki Beachcomber instead! They’re great, and actually clean!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kenric Lo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Amberlei009, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. We sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We do advertise that our rooms have 2 double beds and that all rooms with 2 double beds have no balcony. Thank you for your feedback as we will have the appropriate department verify all websites have the correct information. The $200 security deposit is only a hold on your reservation in case there were any damages to your room after you check out, but will be refunded back to you. Please allow 7-10 business days for the security deposit to be refunded. Mahalo!
Read more
Bryanna B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Previously in Corporate America (Nordstrom), I’d stay at the Modern often. As my partner and I were eager for our long awaited vacation, I’m extremely disappointed in thinking the hotel was still reputable. Sandwiched on the outside of our Airbnb, we were really looking forward to our two night’s stay. The first night, I paid nearly $475 for a “City View, King Size Bed,” to which room #936 did not have; it was clearly a queen. My partner and I looked at each other in amazement after going downstairs to ask the front desk about the incorrect description and was gaslit, reiterating it was a king. Our last night, we stayed in room #319, where we had four rancid pillows (I took a shower twice because I thought it was me), ants on the desk and as my partner asked for an extended checkout, she was hung up on — until I called back in disbelief. They’ve totally lost their pizzaz. Do not waste your money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book Airbnb
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kenric Lo, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Bryanna B, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. We sincerely apologize we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our property is looking to renovate in the near future and hope you will give us another opportunity after the renovation to welcome you back to our property. Mahalo!
Read more
Beth K wrote a review Jul 2022
Saipan, Mariana Islands65 contributions7 helpful votes
Clean nice hotel in a nice location. I stayed two nights and had no cleanup service after the first. I probably would have declined it had it been offered but it was never offered. Everything went smoothly and it was quiet enough. Everything worked well and I had a nice balcony with a half view. I think it's a fairly typical thing for Hawaii but there is an additional $41 resort cost that is mandatory and not included in your room see. So the room is really $41 more than you think. Nevertheless, I enjoyed staying there and it was convenient.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Modern Honolulu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha 156bethk, Thank you for the rating; we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Mahalo!
Read more
TravelinMan1776 wrote a review Jul 2022
La Quinta, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
This hotel looked good on line, but when you get to the hotel, it's not a great experience. It's a bit hard to figure out where the entrance is (it is on a side street and hidden behind foliage). There is no valet, so if you have a car, you will have to park under the hotel. Check in was okay, but we were directed to the Concierge Deck to hear a pitch to join their Time Share. We weren't interested, but you get bothered every time you walk by the sharks at that desk and lord help you if you want info on a trip, which they remind you can be free if you listen to the long Time Share pitch...not interested. The room - it looked kind of like the photo except the bed is like sleeping on a box spring, so hard I couldn't sleep on it. The covering was worn and frayed and there wasn't much to the bedding (really light covering). The bathroom is atrocious. They have added two wooden flip ups that give visibility to anyone in the bathroom that you can see see or hear EVERY moment. The slider door didn't even shut all the way, so there was zero privacy in the bathroom. You had a better shot at using their restroom near the place they hound you to buy the timeshare, but we paid for a room with a bath...just horrible. We spent a day by the pool. It is an upcharge to buy the day bed, which is fine, but you can't charge any of that to the room. You have to give another credit card to them, which they had zero information on as to why. Food was okay. There were two bottles of water in the room. On night 6 we called down to see if we could get a couple more. We were told to go use the refill station (with no bottle to refill). And she was snippy about it as well, like she's personally saving the planet and how dare I ask for water. How this hotel is still in business is beside me. Would not recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Modern Honolulu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha TravelinMan1776, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We look forward to the future with our new owner Hilton Grand Vacation and providing an experience most guests come to expect; many positive changes are on their way, including room renovations and mid-stay service. Our apologies and we thank you for your patience. Mahalo,
Read more
Journey720372 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
This was the worst resort I've ever stayed at. They did not clean the rooms once. We were told if we wanted a clean room we would have to change rooms. We could not get clean towels or wash clothes. And even had to ask for toilet paper. The cleaning crew were protesting because they want to work but the management was too cheap to let them.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Modern Honolulu, Guest Services / Front Office at The Modern Honolulu
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha Journey720372, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We look forward to the future with our new owner Hilton Grand Vacation and providing an experience most guests come to expect; many positive changes are on their way, including room renovations and mid-stay service. Our apologies and we thank you for your patience. Mahalo,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$234 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the modern honolulu hotel honolulu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
353
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Modern Honolulu
Which popular attractions are close to The Modern Honolulu?
Nearby attractions include Honolulu Cookie Company (0.2 miles), Friday Night Fireworks at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort (0.3 miles), and Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Modern Honolulu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Modern Honolulu?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Modern Honolulu?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Modern Honolulu?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Modern Honolulu?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tropical Tribe, Lappert's Ice Cream, and goofy cafe & dine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Modern Honolulu?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Modern Honolulu?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Modern Honolulu?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (2.4 miles), Iolani Palace (2.0 miles), and Shangri La (3.4 miles).
Does The Modern Honolulu have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is The Modern Honolulu accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.