We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 303: English reviews
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We traveled with a u12 baseball team. The staff at the hotel were very friendly. We had 4 rooms and Jeff Aquino accommodated our requests of placing us all on the same floor or as close as possible. The washers were broken for most of our stay but there are a number of laundromats close by.

Helpful?
Thank GuamM0M
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was here for work so I didn't have any say about where to stay, if I had, it would not have been here. Property is in desperate need of renovation, small tv in room and no in room coffee. It did have a kitchenette which for some people might be a plus but I had no use for it.

Helpful?
Thank Desertrat702
Chue Y, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Desertrat702, We apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are in the planning stages for renovations, however at this time we do try to offer the best value for our given price. Our kitchenettes and spacious rooms set us apart from other Waikiki hotels, we are sorry that these features were not of value to you.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am not that fussy but this was one the worst places I've ever been to. The bathroom we didn't want to use how discusting it was. Lucky we only stayed there 2 nights. I'm not even sure if the sheets were clean. Too run down with a very noisy aircon. Stay away.

Helpful?
Thank Stephaniya
Chue Y, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Dear Stephaniya, We apologize for any issues during your stay at our hotel. We do have maid service that visits each room every day. We do our best to address any issues, and again apologize that we couldn't better accommodate your needs. Chue More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is practically a block of flats, poorly equipped, with aircon that is noisier than a tractor, with continuous street noise. The shower has limited water flow rate; watching TV is regularly interrupted by the TV switching to an unrequested pay er view movie channel. The staff is helpful but the hotel need to be demolished.

Helpful?
Thank Alex M
Chue Y, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Dear Alex M, We are sorry for the issues experienced during your stay with us. However, we appreciate your kind words about our staff! Chue More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is like something out of a movie. Some of our party members had to stay here for one night. Questionable personalities walking around, dirty and dated facility. Unfortunately, cannot recommend this property to anyone unless there is nothing else there. Some clean up, paint, and regular maintenance could really help the owners of this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank SP W
Chue Y, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha SP W, We are sorry to hear that your time at our hotel was not enjoyable. We make sure to keep the property as clean as possible and do our best to accommodate any guest needs. We are also happy to say that we are looking forward to renovations in the near future! Thank you for your feedback. Chue More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Trip Advisor you owe me a refund! You advertised this as a partner hotel with a discount. What a dump!!!! Every wall and door was marked up. Paint peeling everywhere. Curtains falling off. Rusted lamps and vents. Cupboard knobs fell off when opening them. Filth on everything that had been touched. Mold on base boards. Sliding closet doors broken off... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank CaribBeachLady
Chue Y, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Dear CaribBeachLady, We apologize that you did not have an enjoyable experience at our property. We are looking forward to renovations in our near future! We will look into the issue with your room cleanliness. Chue More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Dirty, outdated and for all this, expensive. I was afraid to sit down or Touch anything it looked so gross. We were charged $260 plus the resort fee for this hotel for one night. We left as soon as we saw the rooms and got ourselves a room at Sheraton Waikiki for less than what Ambassador charged. Look at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank KatalinTravel
Chue Y, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Katalin Travel, We are sorry that you encountered issues during your stay at our hotel. We are in the planning stages or renovations and are starting with replacing our beds. Rest assure our housekeeping staff does an exceptional job and our Housekeeping Supervisors ensure that the rooms are attended to properly. Mahalo! Chue More 

West Hoxton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

It looks like an old hotel but there are a lot of plus factors. Location-wise it's right smack in Waikiki, close to Waikiki Beach, shops and restaurants. There is a Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf kiosk next to the hotel so the much needed caffeine fix and light breakfast in the morning is just an elevator ride away. There is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lily S
Chue Y, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Lily S, Thank you for your kind words for our staff! We are proud that our staff was able to go above and beyond for you. You are correct our hotel is ideally located in Waikiki; close to many shops and restaurants. We look forward to having you stay with us again, come back soon! Mahalo! Chue More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

While the location of the Ambassador hotel is convenient, 10 mins walk to the beach, Luxury Row for branded shopping etc, the front desk service and amenities were sub standard. Staying in the hotel over five days, the reception staff were dismissive, unfriendly, and offered incorrect advice on the hotel facilities. A daily package of US$20 for wi-fi and use... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toni W
Chue Y, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Toni W, We are in planning phase for undergoing renovations. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. There are many other great perks that come along with the $20 amenity fee. Along with the items you mentioned we have bicycle rentals complimentary for 2 hours, a Business Center, Fitness Center, and Game room at your disposal.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#62 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#65 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#52 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#68 of 83 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Waikiki
Maile Sky Court
Maile Sky Court
#78 of 83 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value. We are conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, on the island of Oahu, offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, beautiful beaches, Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more.Residence-style comforts including Full Kitchens, Free Cable Internet, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's and more. Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. Just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley line and bus routes. Shuttle Service by Roberts Hawai’i available. Close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2040 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2101
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $137 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Honolulu
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay