We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 369: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Staff are great - absolutely no issue with them! Ripper view from the 18th floor despite being so far back from ocean. This was a nice surprise! Facilities need to be updated, we had two room and fridges were old and rusty, cupboards didn't close properly etc. It looks like they are renovating the hotel one room at a time,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SnowBunnyBek
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I booked this through Priceline, which advertises it as a three-star. I didn't know the name of the hotel before paying, which is basically their business model. Big mistake on my part. I'm not picky. I've stayed in plenty of two-star hotels, and they've been fine. Motel 6, Super 8, etc. They're not the nicest, but The Ambassador ranks below...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rayoboone
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha rayoboone, and thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We would like to extend our apologies that you felt inconvenienced during your stay. We are currently working to renovate many of the rooms within the hotel. I would also like to apologize for the parking situation. Unfortunately, we do tend to sell out when the hotel...

Hiroshima
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This is the 2nd time I've stayed at this hotel, the first being nine years ago. I booked the hotel primarily for its location and the price as I was in Honolulu to attend a conference. I was not disappointed. The Ambassador is not a 5 Star resort that opens straight onto the beach front and offering a million things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blue13
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha blue13, thank you very much for your kind & positive review of your stay! We are pleased to hear that you chose to come back for a second visit. We appreciate hearing that you found our hotel to have great value for our competitive rates, this is what we strive for. We also greatly enjoy hearing positive feedback on...

NZ Northland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived in Honolulu early morning and were able to get an early check in and a car park for our 15 seater van. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Free water bottles and access to water machine. Rooms a bit dated but clean and great location, close to main shopping on Kalakaua Ave. lots of eating places a short...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hinukoa
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha hinukoa, thanks so much for this great review! We loved having you all, and appreciate hearing from you. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with our staff, your rooms, and the location! We hope to see you again in the future! Mahalo.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great friendly staff. That's all I have for a positive. And I feel sorry for the brave face they have to put on. It really is a run-down place, and we spent one night and left. See attached photos. Management: spend some money. Your staff are the only thing keeping you afloat. The hotel should be condemned in its current...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thehensters
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha thehensters, thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your wonderful comments regarding our staff and will follow up directly on the feedback of your room/facilities. Mahalo again!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's not what expected, although the employees were very nice the room was pretty average. The kitchen cupboards smelt and the taps were just bad. Also had to go to the lobby anytime we wanted filtered water, that's why they gave us plastic bottles to fill up. There were also extra charges to for use of amenities such as the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Krystal M
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Krystal M, thank you so much for your review. We appreciate hearing your kind feedback regarding our staff! We apologize sincerely for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay and will follow up on all of your comments. While the filtered water is only available in the lobby, the tap water in the room is perfectly safe. Unfortunately, amenity...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are just about to leave this hotel after a 16 night stay. It was our first time to Hawaii and I fully researched all the hotels around Waikiki before booking the Ambassador. Yes, as previous reviews have stated, it is an older hotel and some of the paint is peeling and the air conditioners are definitely noisy (but they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fussyeater66
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Ms. Beaumont! We were extremely happy to have your family stay with us, and I will make sure that Chue sees your appreciative comments! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to accommodate despite some minor inconveniences. We will continue to follow up on those issues experienced and are glad...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stay here 2 nights for work, couldn't sleep that well because the aircon is so loud. Looks closer to the beach than it actually is. The 'Facilities Taxes' are ridiculous. When you pay for the room you should get everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dhend85
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha dhend85, thank you for your review. We will follow up on all of your feedback and appreciate you staying with us. Mahalo!

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Do not go here. The staff are friendly and nice but it is in a gross neighborhood and the hotel is absolutely disgusting. Had to change rooms because the first one was so bad. We got there at almost midnight after a long day of travelling and changing rooms was not something we wanted to do. Smelled terrible, all the furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Emily M, and thank you for your review. First of all, we appreciate hearing that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We would like to deeply apologize for any inconveniences experienced during your stay. We do our best to provide the best value for our rates, which are very competitive within Waikiki. In addition, the amenity...

Kapaau, Hawaii
Reviewed December 11, 2016

I stay at the Ambassador every time I go to O'ahu (anywhere from 4 - 10 times a year). It is reasonably priced, clean, convenient, and the staff is top notch. The only problem I have with the hotel is that parking is limited and if there is no parking available, it is a hassle to park on the street...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tea157
Amanda L, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha tea157, thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us, and we can't wait to see you next time! Mahalo.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

221 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (207)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (117)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Waikiki
Maile Sky Court
Maile Sky Court
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
1,288 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
#83 of 84 in Honolulu
368 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
638 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Ambassador Hotel - A Waikiki Hotel, where our ideal Waikiki location meets exceptional value. We are conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, on the island of Oahu, offering something for everyone looking for the perfect Hawaiian Vacation; Oahu Activities, beautiful beaches, Surfing, Hawaii Golf, Shopping in Waikiki, Waikiki Restaurants and much more.Residence-style comforts including Full Kitchens, Free Cable Internet, Cable Televisions, Flat Screen TV's and more. Lounge by our sparkling Swimming Pool or take a short stroll over to gorgeous Waikiki Beach. Just 9 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Conveniently located on the Waikiki Trolley line and bus routes. Shuttle Service by Roberts Hawai’i available. Close to Ala Moana Shopping Mall, Waikiki Beach & other Oahu Activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2040 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2101
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range: $133 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Honolulu
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel Waikiki staff and other travelers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel Waikiki staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Economical for our group of 11 people, great location.”
 of 5 bubbles hinukoa, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Their Suite's with a private bedroom is an excellent choice for a reasonable price!!”
 of 5 bubbles , Dec 10, 2016 | Read review
“Do not come to this hotel expecting a 5 star looking resort. Come to this hotel expecting a simple home away from home. Save yourself some money for a show or drink by cooking in the full kitchen. Get fit in the workout room located on the 2nd floor. A Self Service coin operated Laundry room is available for a nominal fee and the Ice Machine is also on the same floor. There are bicycles available for guests on a first come, first served basis. I rate this hotel a 4 star for all that made my stay a very affordable and comfortable one. ”
 of 5 bubbles HawaiianDee, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
“Lower level rooms are going to be noisier due to the street noise - it's Waikiki.”
 of 5 bubbles TristanJ741, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“There are no good rooms. Someone posted that remodeled a wing when in truth it was 4 rooms and of course they aren't available.”
 of 5 bubbles tuna57, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay