We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

Save
Share
2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$439
LuxuryCollection$439
Hotels.com$439
Travelocity$439
travelup.com$494
ZenHotels.com$554
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4386)
Room & Suite (1178)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Updated 09/14/22

About

#37 of 93 hotels in Honolulu
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
3.7
Travelers' Choice

Built in 1927, The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki is an iconic resort hotel in Honolulu, Hawaii that ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii.

Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the luxury hotel offers cultural activities, concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services at our Malulani Pool and Helumoa Playground.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
4971Reviews150Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,841
  • 1,141
  • 519
  • 264
  • 208
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
lloydebiermann wrote a review Yesterday
Detroit, Michigan2 contributions2 helpful votes
The Royal Hawaiin has a perfect blend of charm, hospitality, and everything that is Waikiki. My wife and I stayed 4 nights and were incredibly happy there. Beautiful rooms, a wonderful beach, and every single staff member was very gracious and helpful. I highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded yesterday
Aloha lloydebiermann, Mahalo for staying with us and also for the excellent review. It is always a pleasure to know that we exceeded our guests' expectations, and we appreciate you mentioning how much you and your wife enjoyed our five-star destination just steps away from the beach, accommodations, and friendly service. We are grateful for your recommendation and hope to see you both again soon. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MommyoftwoLY wrote a review Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada11 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This is our family’s favourite hotel resort of all time. A truly beautiful hotel with such character and lush grounds. The hotel staff were exceptional, especially Elaine from Surf Lanai. She was such a great example of excellence in customer service and always proactive in our needs. The onsite bakery was so yummy for light breakfasts or snacks. The resort activities includes were also a lot of fun, from lei making to kukui bracelet making (which was a nice respite from the sun when needed). The toiletries were also high quality from Malie, just gorgeous! RH guests also get access to Sheratons pools which includes a water slide that was a nice addition to beach time. The beach was nicely shallow which allowed for lots of safe water play and sun bathing. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded Aug 31, 2022
Aloha MommyoftwoLY, Mahalo for staying with us and also for the excellent review. It is always a pleasure to know that we exceeded our guests' expectations, and we appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed our facilities, activities, and courteous service. It is excellent to know that our associates made your stay more comfortable. Making our guests feel at home is what we love to do, and we will enjoy passing along your kind compliments to Elaine. Mahalo again for your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you soon. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kattriprevus wrote a review Oct 4
Northbrook, Illinois368 contributions172 helpful votes
We spent one night at the Royal Hawaiian at the end of our vacation as we were catching a direct flight back home the next day. We stayed in a garden view guest room, with a view of the hotel garden/grounds. The room was historic, well furnished, and had a nice tiled, but small bathroom with no ventilation. The hotel lobby, grounds, restaurants/bar, shopping, and oceanfront location on Waikiki beach are the draws here. The pool is small and suitable for lounging adults, as we took advantage of hanging out there with coffee before check out. Guests are to use the pool next door at the Sheraton, which was closed for the day during our stay. The high resort fee offers guests a banana nut muffin bag from their coffee/pastry shop that has good coffee and pastries. However beach chairs and premium poolside chairs need to be rented separately. The resort had some operating difficulties with computerized guest room key availability so we received personal escorts to/from our room until it was fixed-the staff were friendly and accommodating, especially Michael at the front desk. I’m glad we got to experience this historic hotel for a night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Roger F wrote a review Oct 4
Saratoga Springs, New York33 contributions8 helpful votes
Beautiful lobby and exterior to the building. Central located in Waikiki. We had prime room in the old building right across from the Bather's elevator. This elevator was nice since it took us straight to the beach. The interior of the room was pretty but the power and A/C in the room were antiquated. Only one A/C vent in the room and no ventilation in the bathroom. The first morning, around 5am, my wife was blow drying her hair which blow a fuse and left us completely in the dark. Call the front desk and power was back on in 15 minutes. Overall very nice but could use some upgrades.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha RogerF880, Mahalo for choosing The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, and for posting your feedback. We are glad you liked our location and enjoyed our beautiful lobby. However, we regret not meeting your expectations with your accommodations. We are grateful for the feedback, and we will share these notes with the appropriate individuals for future modernization plans for our hotel. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again the next time you visit Oahu. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travel_bug_NYC_10 wrote a review Oct 3
New York City, New York7 contributions12 helpful votes
2 stars for only the view and location. This hurts to write as this hotel used to be THE place to stay in Waikiki. Unfortunately not much has been done to upkeep since the 80’s. Rooms were dirty, and very old. Great view and comfy bed, but just dirty. That would be ok if they weren’t charging $600+ a night but for what they are charging you are getting a 3 star quality at best. You book this hotel because you want to be on the beach - but beware you will need to pay $60 for a chair. I understand this charge for outsiders but for guests? It’s ludicrous. Not to mention the service. If you’re an elite member (I’m ambassador!) forget any special treatment. The “free” breakfast is a cup of fruit, a yoplait yogurt and a mini croissant. Anything else be prepared to pay up the nose. And if you try to talk to anyone you get a smile with a “I’m sorry.” No attempt to find solutions, no attempt to fix errors - they just don’t care. I realize Hawaii is not what it used to be but for the prices you’ll pay for a Hawaiian vacation - you’re better off going somewhere else. If you still go to Hawaii - trust me on this one - don’t stay at the royal hawaiian.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha Mina A, First and foremost, mahalo for your loyalty to our hotels. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. While you liked our comfortable bed, we regret the cleanliness issue you experienced in your accommodations. We were also sorry to read that you did not thoroughly enjoy our breakfast. We have reviewed your comments with our team to see where we can do better. We certainly understand your inconvenience and are grateful for your patience. While we know that this stay did not meet all of your expectations, we are hopeful for another opportunity to welcome you back for the flawless experience you deserve. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roadship wrote a review Oct 2
Santa Maria Colotepec, Mexico2 contributions1 helpful vote
I have traveled to the Royal Hawaiian many times in my life, and when the travel restrictions to Hawaii finally lifted, we thought it was time to go back. The Royal holds many wonderful memories for me, and I am sad the luxury I used to enjoy has been cost cut away. I hope Marriott is happy with their green eye-shade management has wrought. We were happy to see many of our favorite staff members were still here, but even they hoped some of the luxury would return. Here are the specifics. The morning buffet on the beach was gone. When we asked about it, we were told nobody does buffets any more. The only problem with telling us this lie was the week before we had been feasting at the Four Seasons breakfast buffet in KoOlina. Then we were told the lounge was closed. No more pink champagne for happy hour. On past visits we had made friends from around the globe at the beautiful lounge just above the pool. Citizens from Japan, Australia and Europe mingled with American guests in what used to be one of the best lounge experiences in the world. Not all our memories were dashed. We had a wonderful dinner at Azure. Nestor our waiter was delightful as he served some of the best food we had on this trip. Also, I am happy to report the Mai Tai bar was as delightful as ever with live music starting at 11:00am. Great properties in iconic locations deserve exceptional management. The Royal Hawaiian needs a new management team.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha Roadship, Thank you for your review and for your loyalty to our resort. While you liked some aspects of your visit, we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are known for our exceptional service and attention to detail; therefore, we truly regret that this was not your experience. We have reviewed your comments with our team, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
barbara b wrote a review Oct 2
Aarburg, Switzerland32 contributions12 helpful votes
I have been a guest twice in the past and I returned expecting to have the “ luxury experience” I had in the past. What a disappointment. No room service ( not re-established after COVID), concierge shared with Sheraton ( I could not have any privatized excursions organized, no booking of tee times, no booking of limo transportation). Please, let’s live up to the promise- a luxury collection.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 4 days ago
Aloha barbara b, Mahalo for choosing us and for your loyalty to our resort. We are truly sorry that we did not deliver the exceptional stay you deserve. We continually strive to give each guest an enriching and memorable visit; therefore, we are disappointed we did not meet these expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the concerns mentioned in your review, and we are grateful for your patience. We would welcome the opportunity to regain your trust and hope you will give us another chance in the future. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wicto wrote a review Oct 1
Tucson, Arizona141 contributions226 helpful votes
If these walls had ears…. Such a timeless classic of a hotel whose guests featured icons from Duke Kahanamoku in pre-world war two times, to the Hip Cat guests of the 50’s, to Don Ho, featured in shows like the original Hawaii Five-0 and Magnum PI. The hotel grounds feature a large back lawn used for morning yoga (it’s free!) and a historical lobby of classic design. The pool is small by today’s standards but there is an arrangement with the Sheraton next door for Royal Hawaiian guests to use their larger pool. They have two options for beach lounge/umbrella rentals at a reasonable cost….about $63 for two chairs for the day. The savvy guest will show up at 6:30 AM at the beach desk to secure a front row rental on the beach. The Luau area has an exceptional grass lawn and makes for a cool setting to enjoy the show. The hotel staff was awesome; they were all professional and friendly and make every effort for guests to enjoy your stay. Historic hotel aficionado will want to stay in the historical wing; do your best to secure an ocean view. The timeless luxury does come at a price; some of the reviews reflect that. Unless you enjoy an old school experience and an accommodation that prices out the more bourgeois traveler, you may be a tad disappointed. The Mai Tai bar is a lively beach front bar with refreshing but expensive drinks - $25 for a signature Mai Tai. An eyebrow raiser was the add-on items to our bill. Although not total reflection of the hotel, with the ~$50 resort fee that is now commonplace at all lux hotels, were the taxes added on by the nice people of the Honolulu city government – about $70 per day. All in, we had a very memorable and a great vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Ocean view room is a must!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Baylane61 wrote a review Sep 2022
Huntington Beach, California251 contributions75 helpful votes
This is an upscale and pricey hotel on the Main Street of Waikiki. We stayed there for 6 nights and enjoyed our stays. However we were disappointed that the hotel has a very small pool compared to the sister hotel next door Sheraton Waikiki. The ambience was not as good as the Sheraton Waikiki neither. One of the best things was that we were able to use the pools in Sheraton Waikiki so we stayed over there most of our daytime (we did not get access to the infinite pool though). With price that we paid, I’d rather stay at the Sheraton Waikiki instead.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Baylane61, Mahalo for choosing The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, and for your review. We hope you enjoyed your overall stay. Mahalo, for your specific feedback regarding the size of our pool, we regret not meeting all of your expectations. We are glad to see that you could use the pools in Sheraton Waikiki made a much better impression. Additionally, we appreciate your sentiments about pricing and that we take careful consideration to be competitively priced for our area. Mahalo, once more, for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vanessa G wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Walk past the chaos of waikiki, and you're back in the old days of waikiki. The banyan trees with the pink lights, the warm sweet smelling air, the birds chirping and as you walk through the gorgeous high ceilings with the old fashioned hand carved wood, you melt. The beds, after a long night of partying, you melt. I had a room facing the courtyard and it was better than the ocean view! I want to go back tomorrow. we decided to our anniversary every year here, and we live in Hilo, so yeah. It's our second home now. We love your service and staff, the warm fat delicious croissants and hot coffee and the strong Mai-Tai's. Thank you for bringing us into your beautiful ohana!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Guide242735, Mahalo for staying with us and also for the excellent review. We are glad you enjoyed our pleasing atmosphere and the hospitality we offer. We are also happy our accommodations, beds, and food offerings were up to your satisfaction. We appreciate you for sharing that you will be returning in the future. It will be our pleasure to host you again at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki. Mahalo, Nicole Okuna The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$525 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the royal hawaiian, a luxury collection hotel honolulu, royal hawaiian honolulu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
528
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Nearby attractions include Waikiki Sunset Cruise with Live DJ (0.2 miles), Breakout Waikiki Escape Rooms (0.2 miles), and Fort DeRussy Beach Park (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Conveniently located restaurants include STRIPSTEAK Waikiki, Honolulu Cookie Company, and Poke Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki have airport transportation?
Yes, The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (2.7 miles), Iolani Palace (2.8 miles), and Shangri La (2.6 miles).